Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Blueberry-Pecan French Toast With Blueberry Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Blueberry-Pecan French Toast With Blueberry Syrup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2009

      I made this for my coffee group and made it as written - except used 2% milk and salted butter. Based on what the other reviewers said, I did not make the syrup and it totally did not need it. It looked a little runny when I initially took it out of the oven but "set" within a couple of minutes. If I had cooked it until it looked "set" it would have been dry. It is a lot like bread pudding. I was happy to have a recipe I could partially put together the night before. This was amazingly wonderful - full of flavor! My friends all remarked about how delicious it was. Leftovers reheat well in the microwave.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Have made this several times now and EVERYONE loves it! So nice to find something so easy and so good (and pretty healthy!). Like other reviewers, I made slight changes. I used 1-1/4 to 1-1/2 cups of egg substitute, 2 cups of skim milk, pumpkin pie spice (because I didn't have plain nutmeg on hand), 1/4 cup brown sugar/splenda mix for Step 2 (equals 1/2 cup regular brown sugar) and 2T (equal to 1/4 cup regular) in Step 6. I used 2.5T of butter in Step 6. My daughter has nut allergies so we skip the pecans. Also don't use any syrup at all and the kids can't eat it fast enough. It's already sweet enough with the brown sugar. Can't recommend this highly enough. Good to reduce the liquid slightly so it's slightly less like a souffle or bread pudding. Super delicious!! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      what a great recipe... even my husband, who is SO picky, went back for seconds, i didnt make the syrup though, was really yummy with just real maple... will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This turned out nicely. It was more of a souffle texture than french toast. I didn't expect that but it was very good. I made it last night and cooked it this morning for our visiting family. They all liked it. I followed the recipe exactly except I used 2% milk and omitted the pecans. It was really sweet enough on it's own without the syrup. So, some of us ate it plain. :-) Thanks for posting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      From Gourmet magazine, June 1999. Great breakfast dish for holidays or special guests. This is my favorite breakfast dish and I love that you can prepare the night before. The blueberry syrup is excellent. Update: I use one (24") baguette and cut all the other ingredients in half with the exception of the brown sugar which I reduce to 1/4 cup for Step 2 and 1/8 cup for Step 6. Regarding steps 6 & 7: First I drizzle bread with butter-sugar mixture and bake for 20 minutes. Then I sprinkle with pecans and blueberries and bake for 15 minutes. This prevents the pecans from becoming "overdone". Baking time may vary depending on your oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Made this for brunch today and it was outstanding! Prep was easy the night before. It baked up puffy and beautiful. Blueberries never burst like I thought they would, which didn't affect things either way. Overall, it was a fantastic dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      This is an awesome recipe! Have made it several times for Company brunch and each time it has not failed to earn rave compliments! I have sometimes omitted the syrup step, using maple or store-bought blueberry syrup and it's still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Delicious! Husband who does NOT like bread pudding even enjoyed it. Definitely does NOT need the full cup of brown sugar (especially if using the syrup)! We cut it down considerably, replaced part it with splenda as well. We did make the syrup. Might not be necessary, but I LOVE maple and blueberries. Planning to make more of the syrup for my next batch of blueberry pancakes as well! Used 1/2 of a large loaf of french bread, and filled the remainder of the pan with regular cinnamon raisin bread, double stacked to equal the height of the french bread pieces. I baked this covered for the first 20 minutes to help keep it from drying out and to keep the pecans and blueberries from overbrowning. Thank you! We will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      The syrup is awesome!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Blueberry-Pecan French Toast With Blueberry Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 542.9
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    27%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 109.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 555.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 35.2 g
    140%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites