Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Beans Don't Get Any Better Than This Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Beans Don't Get Any Better Than This

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2007

    • on May 01, 2006

      I used Bush's Bold and Spicy baked beans instead of the pork and beans, only 1 can of tomato soup, and reduced the brown sugar by more than half. These were a nice side to a casual hamburger and hot dog cookout with friends, but I don't think that we would have cared for them as written. The pork and beans usually have a softer (mushier) texture and are much sweeter. That isn't to our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      I halved the recipe, using butterbeans, and wiped the bacon grease from the pan so that it was just barely coating. I also chopped and added about a quarter of a leftover green pepper, chopped, with the beef and onion. The preparation time is shown as 30 minutes, but I didn't find it to be more than 12-15 minutes. Oh, yes, and it's very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      OMG...Unusually outstanding beans! I used half the tomato soup, 1/4 of the brown sugar (we like them less sweet) and omitted the butter beans altogether. This is the last baked bean recipe I'll ever print out. My search is over, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      Made your fantastic baked beans for company over the 4th of July. I think you would have been pleased with all the great compliments and repeated helpings of your recipe. Thanx, Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      It sure don't get any better than this. I made half a batch for two of us. DH loved these. They will be a recipe that I will have close at hand. The hamburger really does add something to it. I did not add Butter beans (couldn't find them here. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe Merlot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      We really enjoyed these beans..I wanted to reduce the amount for 4 servings so I used 2 410 gm cans pork and beans, 1 410gm can butter beans, 1 410gm tomato soup, 250 gms ground beef, 250 gms bacon 1 onion and only 1/4 cup of brown sugar (plenty sweet enough for us) and have enough left over to have beans on toast for breakfast this morning. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      What can I say? This recipe has got to be the best I have ever had for baked beans. I am so glad I seen this recipe while viewing EE forum this morning. I used white beans and pork and beans and I only had one onion. DH loved this recipe too. We have lefted overs but I am sure we will gobble it up in a day or two. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      I've had my share of baked beans and this is certainly the best recipe out there! I used 2 cans of great northern beans instead of the pork and beans. Great recipe. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      These were the BEST! Made them exactly as written. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      These were SO GOOD and SO EASY! I divided the recipe in half & got 2 good dinner servings + a couple of lunches for the bean lover in the family. This northerner has never even heard of butter beans, so I used regular beans, Heinz BBQ beans & dark red kidney beans - a tin of each. I broiled extra bacon at breakfast time (reduced fat), sauteed the ground beef & onion in a non-stick skillet & totally eliminated the sugar. Thanx so much Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2004

      Merlot, these beans are outstanding. I used 2 cans of pork & beans and 1 can of navy beans and followed your recipe to the T. They were a big hit at our dinner table tonight. I made a doggie bag of all the leftovers from dinner for our friend to take home and he says.....You didn't forget the beans, did you??? We all enjoyed them so much. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      I used 2 cans of the butter beans. One seemed lost in it. I used ground turkey which gave it a great richness and texture. One pound of bacon which I removed a lot of fat before frying. I fried 1 large onion and 1 small red pepper with the bacon and ground turkey. I used 1/2 cup of the sugar and it was sweet. Thanks Merlot --

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      Yikes! I forgot to click the stars! These beans are fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      This tasted really good . The ground beef gave it wonderful texture. I also added a can of pinto beans as I had them in the pantry. I would suggest cutting down on the brown sugar. I only used 3/4 cup instead of the full 1 cup and still found they were a bit too sweet. Other than that, I really liked them!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2004

      These beans were very good, but a little too sweet for my taste. They were perfect, however, if you prefer your beans on the sweet side. I think next time, I will follow this recipe exactly, but add 1/2 of the brown sugar, and some diced jalapenos, with some of the juice, to spice it up several notches (for those of us that prefer more spiciness than sweetness in our beans). This is a great basic recipe for homemade-tasting baked beans, perfect for a main dish meal or for a side to BBQ meat, hamburgers, or hot dogs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      My husband was a bit apprehensive when I told him we were having another baked bean recipe other than my own. His worries vanished at first taste of these delightful beans. I prepared these using 2 cans of pork and beans and 1 can of butter beans. The recipe did not direct to drain the can, but I did strain the butter beans, as they contained a large amount of liquid. I only had one can of tomato soup on hand, but the recipe turned out great, so I imagine, one can was all it needed. I also used a full pound of bacon and one very large vidalia onion. Wonderful flavor! I will look forward to serving this recipe again, Merlot! Thanks so much for sharing : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      I had my bridge group to the lake for a weekend of fun and bridge. I made these up the night before then baked the next day to serve with burgers and potato salad. They tasted wonderful..I followed your recipe to the letter & I would not change one thing. Wonderful taste...I ate the leftovers the next day as a dip on potato chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      Merlot thank you for a great recipe. I took your advise along with a few others and made these for the barbecue. I browned the meat and onions first and then added everything along with the meat to my crockpot. I couldn't find butter beans in the store (to be honest I have never heard of them.) so I used red kidney beans. The aroma in the house was wonderful, and packed with lots of flavour. I was told by my husband not to change a thing with the recipe. My son who does not like beans had several helpings. We will be making these again, and again, and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      Wow, these are great beans! I absolutely adored these. I love the texture from the ground beef and I used the butter beans for even more texture. I didn't bake these in the oven, I cooked them in my crockpot so my house wouldn't heat up. I don't think it made any difference in flavor or texture. My husband LOVED these, he ate two huge BOWLS of them, LOL...Thanks for sharing, this is a great bean recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Beans Don't Get Any Better Than This

    Serving Size: 1 (388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 768.5
     
    Calories from Fat 284
    37%
    Total Fat 31.6 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 88.1 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1602.5 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.3 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 13.0 g
    52%
    Sugars 45.3 g
    181%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes