71 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are fantastic! I had my 1st bbq of the year & I have now been elected to always bring these to friends! Thanks so much, this is a keeper;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie1980 September 13, 2013

Yum ... very good. Just don't double the recipe. You'll be eating baked beans forever!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linnylouise September 18, 2012

Made these for a Burger Party and they were great! I really like the combination of beans. I only used 1/4 cup brown sugar because I don't like overly sweet anything, and added 1/2 tea of liquid smoke as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for a great recipe!! It's my "go to" for baked beans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol B. January 27, 2009

Merlot, it's another hit! They really are the very best. I never thought of mixing butter beans in before or adding ground beef either, but I'm learning! I made them for our big Fourth of July cookout and had so many compliments. They went fabulous with the BBQ ribs. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita July 08, 2008

Oh Yummy! I made this dish for dinner tonite, along with ribs, and it was absolutely fantastic. I skipped dessert and went back for more beans. I made this recipe exactly as written and as far as I'm concerned, no changes are necessary! I'll be making this one again and again. Thanks Merlot for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy in da South February 19, 2008

I kept the bacon and opted out of the ground beef. I don't feel like this was missing a thing! SO SO SO good - and as mentioned, the pork and beans aren't really distinguishable once the dish is complete! VERY yummy - and just as good the second day! Had with mashed potatoes and country peppered gravy with corn bread! Definently a keeper, thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somebodys_sweet_pea January 28, 2008

I love this recipe. It is so good, I could sit down and eat this alone for dinner. The addition of the butter beans is great. My whole family agrees this is more then a 5 star recipe. I have made this a few times already and will continue to make it....thank you for this great bean recipe....Stephanie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 31, 2007

The only thing that I did different from this recipe was that I didn't add any meat. I usually make this recipe when we barbecue, so we already have meat. It tasted great without it. It was just right. I like these better than Bushs!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alb2521 November 17, 2007

I made these over the weekend and there are none left! I made a few changes however. I used 2 cans of Bush's Homestyle Baked Beans, 1 can of tomato soup and no brown sugar. I also added a little bit of liquid smoke and drained the meat after cooking it. We all loved them - they were perfect! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer.blake-somers October 15, 2007

I made this with 2 cans of beans and I drained the mixture after cooking the beef. I also omitted the sugar (see step 9). DH actually commented on how good this dish was and had seconds. Thankyou for posting. This'll be a favourite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 14, 2007
Baked Beans Don't Get Any Better Than This