71 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Our new favorite baked beans! I used part ground beef, part ground turkey, reduced the sugar a bit and added some red pepper flakes and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. AWESOME!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez September 27, 2009

LOVE these beans!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khinny September 04, 2011

Yummm! This is a great and versatile recipe, can use different beans if needed. I also reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup, but that is just me. The 1/2 tsp. of liquid smoke that another reveiwer added sounds good too. Thanks for posting, Merlot

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie December 16, 2009

Very good. Got lots of rave reviews at the office potluck and the boss is still eating them for his lunch 2 days later. Personally I found them a bit sweet for my taste but based on what everyone else said, this is a 5 star recipe. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst September 18, 2009

Love this dish, as did everyone else at the party!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylr12 July 29, 2009

another great great recipe from merlot i followed the recipe as stated but i let it cool then put it in the fridge then the next day i put it in the crockpot all day on keep warm and i tell you what i think these were the best beans i ever had no kidding thanks for sharing very good recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmiene April 21, 2009

Made these in the crockpot for a hotdog cookout yesterday. I left out the hamburger since I was serving as a side dish. Very good, and I didn't find them too sweet at all. I look forward to making these again and using the hamburger and oven method. If I make them just for my family I will probably half the recipe, though; it makes a lot! Even yummier warmed up the next day. Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zewbiedoo July 20, 2008

Excellent.Never thought about putting tomato soup in baked beans,but I'm glad I tried it.I did use sausage instead of hamburger and these were still very good.Next time I'm gonna try them with hamburger.Thanks for a great recipe merlot!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pj in Illinois April 04, 2004

These were soooo good. I followed the recipe exactly and found them very easy to make. I won't be making baked beans any other way from now on. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeane November 15, 2003

Merlot, Grrrrreat beans!!! this is a great recipe for making over the campfire. Very easy,and great taste.Just hung them over the campfire and made burgers and had chips.WOW!!!! great meal. Thanks, Darlene Summers

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers November 04, 2003
Baked Beans Don't Get Any Better Than This