123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Since I don't like too sugary food, I noted the reviews and only used 1/4 cup BBQ sauce, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 molasses, 1 small onion and no mustard since I did not have any. I baked it for 1 hour. Very Very good. I don't like beans normally but I love these. Thank you for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB July 02, 2011

This was a good recipe. I used Van Camps pork and beans and cooked for 3 hours on low. Might try a different brand next time as these were a little mushier than I liked (think they started out too soft right out of the can). Flavor was really good though. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlyJax May 06, 2011

Really good beans. Just what I was craving. I left out the bacon, cuz I wanted to cut fat and calories.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 September 07, 2010

What a delicious, easy recipe! I did reduce the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, added 2T minced green pepper, and cooked these in the crock pot on low for about 4 hours. Lovely flavor. Thanks to you and your aunt for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3PrincessMom April 28, 2010

Easy and tasty. Perhaps a bit on the sweet side for myself.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay January 30, 2008

Thanks for sharing! Mine turned out delicious! Followed recipe except I just diced two strips raw bacon and cooked in the beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick May 28, 2015

Good when you're in a pinch and need something better than beans right out of the can. I didn't pack my brown sugar, so I used less than 1 cup (I liked is less sweet). I also used about 12 slices of bacon. I would have liked it with A LOT more mustard, and I would prefer real chopped onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( October 14, 2014

Made these for the 4th and got rave reviews! Super easy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maribeli July 18, 2014

Had a bar b q with friends and family and my DGS made this to bring. Quick, easy and delicious, not a bite was left over. He was so proud of himself and so was I. We'll be making these often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 June 09, 2014

I cannot believe that I didn't review this. I have made them several times for home and to take to church for a pot-luck supper. Everyone loved them. For years I made my own the old-fashioned way, but now that I am older, I am lazier. I made them as Richard wrote the recipe but then the last few times, I added a tad less sugar. I did used fresh onion, about one small, minced. They are easy and sooooo good. After having beans EVERY Saturday night (Maine tradition) all of my life, I can say that these are wonderful even though they are not soaked overnight and baked all day. Thanks Richard for making my life on Saturday easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi in Maine September 28, 2013
Baked Beans