124 Reviews

I cannot believe that I didn't review this. I have made them several times for home and to take to church for a pot-luck supper. Everyone loved them. For years I made my own the old-fashioned way, but now that I am older, I am lazier. I made them as Richard wrote the recipe but then the last few times, I added a tad less sugar. I did used fresh onion, about one small, minced. They are easy and sooooo good. After having beans EVERY Saturday night (Maine tradition) all of my life, I can say that these are wonderful even though they are not soaked overnight and baked all day. Thanks Richard for making my life on Saturday easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi in Maine September 28, 2013

This recipe really surprised me I actually liked it! I made it thinking "I don't like baked beans" and found the opposite. I didn't have pork n beans as our shops don't sell them so I made it with kidney beans and otherwise followed the recipe. Will make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieFaith September 11, 2011

Since I don't like too sugary food, I noted the reviews and only used 1/4 cup BBQ sauce, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 molasses, 1 small onion and no mustard since I did not have any. I baked it for 1 hour. Very Very good. I don't like beans normally but I love these. Thank you for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB July 02, 2011

This was a good recipe. I used Van Camps pork and beans and cooked for 3 hours on low. Might try a different brand next time as these were a little mushier than I liked (think they started out too soft right out of the can). Flavor was really good though. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlyJax May 06, 2011

Really good beans. Just what I was craving. I left out the bacon, cuz I wanted to cut fat and calories.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 September 07, 2010

What a delicious, easy recipe! I did reduce the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, added 2T minced green pepper, and cooked these in the crock pot on low for about 4 hours. Lovely flavor. Thanks to you and your aunt for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3PrincessMom April 28, 2010

I needed a quick baked bean substitute, and this filled the bill. It's easy and tastes good, but aye-yi-yi! Look at how much sugar and carbs are in this dish! It's not a vegetable side dish at all--more like candy. I hesitated to give this very sweet recipe four stars, but did so because everyone at the table seemed to enjoy them so much. I should quit reading the nutrition facts--takes the fun out of eating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers March 11, 2010

I've only tried these twice, but everyone loves them and they're easy! I was in a hurry the 2nd time, so I heated them thoroughly on the stove and then put them in the oven @ 475 for 20-25 mins, they still raved!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acts2verse38 February 03, 2010

Yum! I made this in my crock pot, cooked it for about 4 hours on low and it turned out just great. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 May 17, 2009

Fantastic recipe Richard! This is the highest rated recipe for Baked Beans on 'Zaar, and after making these for a cookout I went too, I can see why! I chose regular Van de Kamp beans because they seemed like a good choice, kind of bland without much seasoning. I threw everything in my crockpot and cooked on low for 4 hours and then just turned it on to warm. Everyone raved, and I gave out several copies of the recipe. Thanks again buddy for posting this winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper September 01, 2008
Baked Beans