122 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my Richard, but your Aunt is a wonderful cook! After spending years of playing around trying to get the flavor I was looking for, I finally found it in this recipe. I served these last night with some crockpot ribs and the combination was excellent together. I had made these the night before and just popped them in the oven to warm (about) 25 minutes. They were super! Thanks Richard, my search is finally over!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher September 12, 2002

So good! Finally a good baked beans recipe that doesn't require ground beef and all kinds of other stuff added to it to fatten it up. This was just perfect! I cut this recipe by a 3rd and cut the brown sugar down to only 1/4 cup since I'm not a fan of sweet baked beans. I left the onion and mustard measurements as if I were making a full recipe. Just fabulous. Will use this one again for sure!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl October 18, 2010

These make excellent beans! I can't believe I haven't reviewed these yet, I've made them so many times, now. I do play with your proportions a little, though. I use 1 small onion, minced, 1 Tbsp spicy brown mustard, 3/4 cup brown sugar (maybe a little less), 2/3 cup ketchup, 1 Tbsp smoky BBQ sauce, and 1/2 lb bacon cooked and crumbled. Made this just last night to go with some brisket - Mmmmm!!! Thank you for sharing your aunt's recipe here, Richard!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. December 30, 2010

This proved to be an easy, delicious way to dress up canned beans. I was cooking for two, so I only used one 28 oz. can of baked beans. I used Bush's or Van Camp's; I can't remember which. They were onion flavored, and I didn't have real or dried onion. I used a tsp. of minced garlic (from a jar), and I used the full amount of mustard (with horseradish) and bacon as stated in the recipe. I cut the brown sugar to 1/2 c., and I used 1/2 c. Heinz chili sauce in place of the ketchup. I baked the beans at 325 for about an hour. I will make these again and again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lanie-Wife June 24, 2003

These truly are a taste treat!! The first time I made them I used all of the brown sugar and, although they tasted great, I thought they were too "sugary" in my mouth. The second time, I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 molasses. That worked the magic for me!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z-chef July 19, 2010

Very good! Alittle on the sweet side for me but my dh thought they were wonderful. I used 1/2 regular brown sugar and 1/2 splenda brown sugar.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 June 24, 2010

Very nice for a quick throw together dish :) And yes the salt and sugar content is high but they usually are in these dishes, and just a thought to a previous mention of the sugar and carbs: We do need to remember the nutrition info on Zaar is usually shaky at best lol. For instance this recipe is calculated for one serving being 1 quart. I can't say i know many people who eat 1 Qt of baked beans at a time lol. (Ok maybe i know a few who would but I can promise they don't care about the sugar content if they do lol)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickleLover March 26, 2010

Easy and super tasty! Can't wait to make it again. I added a little jalepeno & it added just the spice it needed :). Thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frugal chef July 19, 2011

I made these not with canned beans but with left over great northern beans with ham already in it that I had made on Sunday. I wasn't sure this would turn out.. boy am I glad I was dead wrong! These came out great! I will never ever buy baked beans again! I did "bake" these in my crockpot on low for four hours instead of the oven.. had bread rising in the oven and a cake to follow it.. Just so if anyone else wants to do the crockpot over the oven.. Thanks Richard for the bestest * new word* EVER baked beans...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust March 30, 2011

This recipe really surprised me I actually liked it! I made it thinking "I don't like baked beans" and found the opposite. I didn't have pork n beans as our shops don't sell them so I made it with kidney beans and otherwise followed the recipe. Will make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieFaith September 11, 2011
Baked Beans