Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Beans

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      Oh my Richard, but your Aunt is a wonderful cook! After spending years of playing around trying to get the flavor I was looking for, I finally found it in this recipe. I served these last night with some crockpot ribs and the combination was excellent together. I had made these the night before and just popped them in the oven to warm (about) 25 minutes. They were super! Thanks Richard, my search is finally over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      So good! Finally a good baked beans recipe that doesn't require ground beef and all kinds of other stuff added to it to fatten it up. This was just perfect! I cut this recipe by a 3rd and cut the brown sugar down to only 1/4 cup since I'm not a fan of sweet baked beans. I left the onion and mustard measurements as if I were making a full recipe. Just fabulous. Will use this one again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      These make excellent beans! I can't believe I haven't reviewed these yet, I've made them so many times, now. I do play with your proportions a little, though. I use 1 small onion, minced, 1 Tbsp spicy brown mustard, 3/4 cup brown sugar (maybe a little less), 2/3 cup ketchup, 1 Tbsp smoky BBQ sauce, and 1/2 lb bacon cooked and crumbled. Made this just last night to go with some brisket - Mmmmm!!! Thank you for sharing your aunt's recipe here, Richard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      These truly are a taste treat!! The first time I made them I used all of the brown sugar and, although they tasted great, I thought they were too "sugary" in my mouth. The second time, I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 molasses. That worked the magic for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Very nice for a quick throw together dish :) And yes the salt and sugar content is high but they usually are in these dishes, and just a thought to a previous mention of the sugar and carbs: We do need to remember the nutrition info on Zaar is usually shaky at best lol. For instance this recipe is calculated for one serving being 1 quart. I can't say i know many people who eat 1 Qt of baked beans at a time lol. (Ok maybe i know a few who would but I can promise they don't care about the sugar content if they do lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      This proved to be an easy, delicious way to dress up canned beans. I was cooking for two, so I only used one 28 oz. can of baked beans. I used Bush's or Van Camp's; I can't remember which. They were onion flavored, and I didn't have real or dried onion. I used a tsp. of minced garlic (from a jar), and I used the full amount of mustard (with horseradish) and bacon as stated in the recipe. I cut the brown sugar to 1/2 c., and I used 1/2 c. Heinz chili sauce in place of the ketchup. I baked the beans at 325 for about an hour. I will make these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Easy and super tasty! Can't wait to make it again. I added a little jalepeno & it added just the spice it needed :). Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I made these not with canned beans but with left over great northern beans with ham already in it that I had made on Sunday. I wasn't sure this would turn out.. boy am I glad I was dead wrong! These came out great! I will never ever buy baked beans again! I did "bake" these in my crockpot on low for four hours instead of the oven.. had bread rising in the oven and a cake to follow it.. Just so if anyone else wants to do the crockpot over the oven.. Thanks Richard for the bestest * new word* EVER baked beans...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Very good! Alittle on the sweet side for me but my dh thought they were wonderful. I used 1/2 regular brown sugar and 1/2 splenda brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      This recipe really surprised me I actually liked it! I made it thinking "I don't like baked beans" and found the opposite. I didn't have pork n beans as our shops don't sell them so I made it with kidney beans and otherwise followed the recipe. Will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Since I don't like too sugary food, I noted the reviews and only used 1/4 cup BBQ sauce, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 molasses, 1 small onion and no mustard since I did not have any. I baked it for 1 hour. Very Very good. I don't like beans normally but I love these. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      This was a good recipe. I used Van Camps pork and beans and cooked for 3 hours on low. Might try a different brand next time as these were a little mushier than I liked (think they started out too soft right out of the can). Flavor was really good though. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      Really good beans. Just what I was craving. I left out the bacon, cuz I wanted to cut fat and calories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      What a delicious, easy recipe! I did reduce the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, added 2T minced green pepper, and cooked these in the crock pot on low for about 4 hours. Lovely flavor. Thanks to you and your aunt for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Easy and tasty. Perhaps a bit on the sweet side for myself.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2014

      Good when you're in a pinch and need something better than beans right out of the can. I didn't pack my brown sugar, so I used less than 1 cup (I liked is less sweet). I also used about 12 slices of bacon. I would have liked it with A LOT more mustard, and I would prefer real chopped onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      Made these for the 4th and got rave reviews! Super easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2014

      Had a bar b q with friends and family and my DGS made this to bring. Quick, easy and delicious, not a bite was left over. He was so proud of himself and so was I. We'll be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      I cannot believe that I didn't review this. I have made them several times for home and to take to church for a pot-luck supper. Everyone loved them. For years I made my own the old-fashioned way, but now that I am older, I am lazier. I made them as Richard wrote the recipe but then the last few times, I added a tad less sugar. I did used fresh onion, about one small, minced. They are easy and sooooo good. After having beans EVERY Saturday night (Maine tradition) all of my life, I can say that these are wonderful even though they are not soaked overnight and baked all day. Thanks Richard for making my life on Saturday easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Loved the combination of flavors. I have been on a quest to find a great baked bean recipe. I upped the mustard and onions a little. Made for Name that Ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (3119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1354.0
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    13%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 76.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 4737.5 mg
    197%
    Total Carbohydrate 265.6 g
    88%
    Dietary Fiber 48.9 g
    195%
    Sugars 86.0 g
    344%
    Protein 52.2 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes