37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved these quick and easy to make beans they were sweet, spicy and tangy, so flavorful and packed full of great textures. I made this recipe, exactly as written, and I wouldn`t change a thing, Thanks for sharing. Made for What`s on the Menu Tag Gane

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 09, 2014

Yay! A baked beans recipe where the first ingredient is NOT baked beans! Yay! <br/><br/>Perfect. DH wanted baked beans "from scratch", three hours before dinner. This did the trick. Used one can pinto and one can great northern and he raved about it. <br/><br/>Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judijo June 16, 2013

I'm sorry I haven't reviewed this sooner...I've been making these beans for at least 2 years now. These are FANTASTIC. I up the black pepper to give it more of a spicy kick on top of the zing from the ginger. Not overly sweet and the bacon makes it satisfying and even heartier.

I've made it with Northern which produces a softer texture of bean, and I've made it with Red Kidneys for a toothier chew. I prefer red kidney beans for this recipe, but you can also probably do half and half to have different textures.

Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG January 17, 2013

Call this cheating if you must. However, I always get raves about my baked beans. Chop one onion (whatever size depending on how much you like onion although there's not a heavy onion taste.) Chop about 1/2 pound of bacon in pretty good size chunks. Saute together. Add one can of B&M Baked Beans and mix all together in a casserole dish. Pop it into a 350 degree oven and heat until hot Believe it or not, they are wonderful! You don't even need to wait until you need a really quick and easy recipe for baked beans. This one works very well (and you don't need to tell anyone that they are not a longer, more complicated version.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamelamahan July 14, 2012

I used about 1 1/2 or 2 cups of beans (I cook mine in large batches from dried beans) and cut the recipe in half. I skipped the bacon to make them vegetarian, and used some smoked sweet paprika instead. I tasted it before I cooked them, and it was too sweet for me, so I added extra mustard and vinegar. I put them in a crock pot on low for several hours and they came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green.Chef March 12, 2012

My husband wanted baked beans tonight to go with supper and I was looking for a quick recipe. We thought this was very tasty, and I cannot wait to try it again when I have more time to do it properly. I didn't have time to bake them before dinner to thicken the sauce, nor did I have time to sautee garlic and onions and used the powdered stuff. I have no doubt in my mind this recipe will be even better when I can do it the correct way! Thanks for sharing. I look forward to changing my review once I make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin February 25, 2012

at first i wasnt that thrilled but this is the kind of dish that tastes better the longer it sits. made it, put it in the fridge for a few hours and then popped it in the microwave before the block party started. it was GONE so fast and folks actually wanted to know who made it. so i had to give it 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mullingal August 15, 2009

This recipe was not a success for me. I didn't like how it smelled or how it tasted. The mustard and BBQ sauce overwhelmed the other flavours and just didn't work for me. I'm not sure I can salvage this one, I may have to go with store bought now. I wasted all that lovely bacon too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmmbox May 24, 2009
Baked Beans