Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Banana Stuffed French Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Banana Stuffed French Toast

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      This has to be the best recipe that I've tried all week and I've tried a lot of good ones. It makes four servings and I got four raves on it. Thanks for posting this one. I'll not only be making this again, I'll be passing it on to others. Wonderful taste. I wonder though, I love PB & Banana sandwiches, how about some peanut butter on one slice?! May have to try that next time. Thanks again. REALLY glad I tagged you in Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2003

      Anyone who loves bananas, as well as French toast must try this. These were quick and easy to make. I was able to throw them together and pack DH's lunch while they were in the oven. The mushed banana results in a banana custard-like stuffing inside the French toast. DD#3 and DH both grabbed their's up from their plates expecting to eat them like sandwiches and I had to yell...'NO, NO, NO...' to stop them, 'you pour maple syrup over them and eat them like French toast!' more calmly... ;-) I served them with a strawberry on the side as directed and a dish of my homemade strawberry yogurt to go with them. Thank you for a delightful recipe Sharon!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Absolutely heaven! Sharon, you are a gem to post this recipe! I've had something like this on my mind for a few years since having it for breakfast while on vacation in Arizona. One thing I added was to smear fat-free cream cheese on both insides of the bread before mashing the bananas. I also left out the strawberries and tossed chopped pecans over the powdered sugar top. Next time, I'll try just slicing the bananas for a different texture. Soooo good and fairly healthy too! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      We thought this recipe was good, but I found the taste of the mashed banana a little strange. I used whole grain bread and since we can't get pure maple syrup here, I used my recipe for buttermilk syrup, which was tasty on it. I might prefer this with just banana slices in the middle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      This was very yummy! I made it with whole wheat bread and egg whites and it turned out great. Also, I didn't bake the french toast, just cooked it in a nonstick skillet (with no cooking spray). I love this recipe, it's amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Wonderful, easy recipe. It's very easy to adapt with other ingredients. I replaced the banana's with a cherry pie filling. For a topping I mixed 1/4 c melted butter, 1/4 c brown sugar, and 1/2 c slivered almonds and spread that on top before the final baking stage on some of the toast. Rave reviews all around!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      We made this for brunch. It was sooo simple. I made a view minor changes. Instead of mushing the banana's on the bread I threw just 2 banana's into my kitchen aid mixer and it made a real nice spread for the bread. I also when making the batter add about twice the vanilla extract. We didn't have an strawberries but can't wait to try some with this the next time. Also might try what another person said about adding P.B., I love P.B. on reg. french toast and w/ the bananas I think it would be a real hit w/ my family. My husband and I both really loved it, and so did our daughter. I cannot wait to make this for guests we have coming this winter. This is for sure a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      this was good, just a lot more work than making regular french toast and eating it with slices bananas/strawberries

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      These were delicious, even though they were a little too sweet for my taste. I only had enough milk/egg mixture to soak 3 french toasts but that's ok cause my husband and I each had one and we were stuffed! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      yum. very good and warm comfort food. i used cinnamon swirl bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Wow, this was the best French toast I've ever had!!! My friend and I made it after our sleepover and it was really easy. This recipe is perfection. The way the bananas turn so creamy is just... mmmmm! I used whole wheat potato bread and it worked great. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE I HAVE EVER FOUND! I am completely obsessed with bananas and often fry them and put them on bread - but by adding the french toast mixture it not only made it a complete meal (2 Carbs, 1 Fruit, 1 Protein) but a super-fabulous banana extravaganza. Thank you so much for your contribution!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      This was very good, however I did make some changes so maybe thats what is keeping that last star. I did not have strawberries or jam. So I just made plain and had some fruit salad on the side. I mashed half the bananas and left some chopped, personally I like a little more texture. I do wish I would have put a little bit of cream cheese in the spread with the bananas. However this was wonderfull, I had this dish as a kid at the Houstonian resort and have thought about it ever since. So great. Hubby LOVED it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      This was wonderful! My DH and I made this for just the two of us by halving the recipe. The only changes we made were using white bread instead of mixed grain bread and making a strawberry syrup by warming up the strawberries and mixing them with sugar to go on top. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe that we make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      I made this at the weekend, it was delicious and so filling. It was the first time I have made French Toast and my DD7 loved it too. I am going to put some chocolate spread on next time instead of the banana or a savoury one with cheese and worcestershire sauce as a filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Very fine breakfast, Hubby loved it! I loved it was easy to do and tasty too. I did not have any strawberrys on hand, but will try it with those next time. My hubby wants me to try it with apples too. Thanks for posting ZWT3

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I liked this a lot, but found it a little too sweet. I only used a little bit of syrup, but next time I won't use any.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      I had a ripe banana that I didn't care to eat so it went into this recipe. I found that it was enough for the six slices of bread (we like cinnamon raisin bread) I used. This is a simple addition to French toast, but makes for a yummy change.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      Easy to make recipe that tasted delicious! My DD and I are the only two in the family that eat French Toast and we really enjoyed this recipe. I loved the banana stuffing...yummy. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      This was a fun Sunday treat. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Banana Stuffed French Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.8
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    15%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 93.6 mg
    31%
    Sodium 50.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed grain bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites