14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty and different from regular french toast. I think that milk could be use instead of coconut milk. I couldn't detect it. I did half the recipe. Thanks Jen :) Made for Beverage Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 14, 2007

A little too sweet. I think next time I will use less sugar and maybe a bit of orange juice instead of Grand Marnier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori March 31, 2007

I was so excited to try this recipe because it looked like a fabulous use of the ingredients. I followed the recipe to the letter but I did use a braided white yeast bread (Hefezopf) because we don't have texas toast here. It smelled wonderful but I thought the end result left a lot to be desired aesthetically. We decided to have it on Sunday morning and the kids were looking forward to our big meal. And then we ate our first few bites.... Both my husband and I did not care for the taste at all. We thought there were too many strong flavors competing for attention and the cooked banana was slimy and unappealing. I really hated the banana and think this would have been far better sans banana and less Grand Marnier. Still, the kids ate it and I was planning to give this two stars but after breakfast I got a horrible stomach ache-all of my ingredients were fresh and I always wash my hands so I don't think it had to do with food poisoning but the composition of this dish. Sorry Jen! It seems like many people here loved this but it didn't work for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrystabel March 30, 2007

I loved that this was prepped the night before & no fuss in the morning. Great flavors, a bit shy on the coconut flavor. It was not too sweet which I was worried about with all that brown sugar. I may cut back on that next time anyway. I'm planning to serve this to the masses this summer. Thanks for a great entry & good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo March 19, 2007

Loved this! The bread puffed up nicely. Bananas and orange flavor were strong and yummy. BUT no coconut flavor at all. It got lost in the banana and orange. Seeing the fat content I suggest using low fat milk in place of the coconut. I know it is a RSC ingredient that needed to be used so that is why I would have like to see maybe coconut extract or coconut flakes topping this to bring it out! Made 1/2 the recipe. This was easy to make nice to wake and just pop in the oven! What a why to start the day! Dessert for Breakfast! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 18, 2007

LOVED THIS! Was really looking forward to trying it when I saw the recipe and I was not disappointed at all. My husband thought this was a wonderful treat. He usually does not want breakfast, but he did not pass this up. Slight changes, I reduced the amount of sugar slightly, I was afraid it would be too sweet, I was happy with just 3/4 cup. Also, I used 4 bananas because that is what I had and my husband loves them, I was glad I did that also. Added to my cookbook for special weekend breakfasts in the future. Thanks for posting this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio March 18, 2007

This is wonderful… I would make it ever so slightly differently next time to suit my own personal preferences but the basic recipe is great! I used baguette, cut the recipe down to serve 3 serves and found that I could have used more of the butter/brown sugar/ cinnamon mix to the ratio of eggs, and next time I would definitely leave out the bananas OR just add them fresh at the end when serving because my bananas came out as ,over-browned chewy lumps and I ended up pushing them aside while I totally enjoyed the rest. Yes, I would make this again… I soaked my bread overnight and next time would try for even longer because the very best bits were the bits that obviously had soaked longest, and I would increase the decadent mix of the butter and brown sugar etc. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for a wonderful recipe that would be excellent when hosting a special brunch etc. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 18, 2007

This was really delicious, and my husband and I really enjoyed it. Having said that, I do also have to say that the kids wouldn't try it as they were put off by the very dark topping. It didn't look good, but it tasted just fine. I really liked the way the orange flavour was complemented with the buttery banana - reminded me of Bananas Foster. Very easy to make. Good instructions although I will take issue with the 1/2 hour baking time - that's when mine finally started to puff up (and my oven was preheated). 45 minutes was what I left it in for, and it was just right, with tender french toast in the centre and crusty, sugary edges. I do think that for the 2 pans, a total of 5 bananas would have been more appropriate, ensuring that each serving gets several pieces. There was not much banana to go around between the 2 pans. Also, the only way this would serve 9 in my home is with my kids not eating it, DH and I had no problem polishing off a good deal of it on our own, so be warned, it may make 9 servings, but you'd need to have other offerings for breakfast to have people not leaving your table hungry. Good luck in the contest, chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens March 17, 2007

What a delicious breakfast for my family to wake up to! I loved the flavors of orange, coconut and bananas. A very unique combination and very tasty. It was nice to be able to make this the night before and just pop it in the oven the next morning. No syrup was necessary! Good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 17, 2007

We really enjoyed this lovely dish. Great use of contest ingredients. It was quick and easy to make. The french toast was thick, rich, puffy and very very flavourful. The fruit and seasonings blended very well together. Next time I will cut back a little on the sugar, as I found it very sweet. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 17, 2007
Baked Banana-Orange French Toast