Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Banana-Orange French Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Banana-Orange French Toast

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2007

      Very tasty and different from regular french toast. I think that milk could be use instead of coconut milk. I couldn't detect it. I did half the recipe. Thanks Jen :) Made for Beverage Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      A little too sweet. I think next time I will use less sugar and maybe a bit of orange juice instead of Grand Marnier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      I was so excited to try this recipe because it looked like a fabulous use of the ingredients. I followed the recipe to the letter but I did use a braided white yeast bread (Hefezopf) because we don't have texas toast here. It smelled wonderful but I thought the end result left a lot to be desired aesthetically. We decided to have it on Sunday morning and the kids were looking forward to our big meal. And then we ate our first few bites.... Both my husband and I did not care for the taste at all. We thought there were too many strong flavors competing for attention and the cooked banana was slimy and unappealing. I really hated the banana and think this would have been far better sans banana and less Grand Marnier. Still, the kids ate it and I was planning to give this two stars but after breakfast I got a horrible stomach ache-all of my ingredients were fresh and I always wash my hands so I don't think it had to do with food poisoning but the composition of this dish. Sorry Jen! It seems like many people here loved this but it didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      I loved that this was prepped the night before & no fuss in the morning. Great flavors, a bit shy on the coconut flavor. It was not too sweet which I was worried about with all that brown sugar. I may cut back on that next time anyway. I'm planning to serve this to the masses this summer. Thanks for a great entry & good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Loved this! The bread puffed up nicely. Bananas and orange flavor were strong and yummy. BUT no coconut flavor at all. It got lost in the banana and orange. Seeing the fat content I suggest using low fat milk in place of the coconut. I know it is a RSC ingredient that needed to be used so that is why I would have like to see maybe coconut extract or coconut flakes topping this to bring it out! Made 1/2 the recipe. This was easy to make nice to wake and just pop in the oven! What a why to start the day! Dessert for Breakfast! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      LOVED THIS! Was really looking forward to trying it when I saw the recipe and I was not disappointed at all. My husband thought this was a wonderful treat. He usually does not want breakfast, but he did not pass this up. Slight changes, I reduced the amount of sugar slightly, I was afraid it would be too sweet, I was happy with just 3/4 cup. Also, I used 4 bananas because that is what I had and my husband loves them, I was glad I did that also. Added to my cookbook for special weekend breakfasts in the future. Thanks for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This is wonderful… I would make it ever so slightly differently next time to suit my own personal preferences but the basic recipe is great! I used baguette, cut the recipe down to serve 3 serves and found that I could have used more of the butter/brown sugar/ cinnamon mix to the ratio of eggs, and next time I would definitely leave out the bananas OR just add them fresh at the end when serving because my bananas came out as ,over-browned chewy lumps and I ended up pushing them aside while I totally enjoyed the rest. Yes, I would make this again… I soaked my bread overnight and next time would try for even longer because the very best bits were the bits that obviously had soaked longest, and I would increase the decadent mix of the butter and brown sugar etc. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for a wonderful recipe that would be excellent when hosting a special brunch etc. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This was really delicious, and my husband and I really enjoyed it. Having said that, I do also have to say that the kids wouldn't try it as they were put off by the very dark topping. It didn't look good, but it tasted just fine. I really liked the way the orange flavour was complemented with the buttery banana - reminded me of Bananas Foster. Very easy to make. Good instructions although I will take issue with the 1/2 hour baking time - that's when mine finally started to puff up (and my oven was preheated). 45 minutes was what I left it in for, and it was just right, with tender french toast in the centre and crusty, sugary edges. I do think that for the 2 pans, a total of 5 bananas would have been more appropriate, ensuring that each serving gets several pieces. There was not much banana to go around between the 2 pans. Also, the only way this would serve 9 in my home is with my kids not eating it, DH and I had no problem polishing off a good deal of it on our own, so be warned, it may make 9 servings, but you'd need to have other offerings for breakfast to have people not leaving your table hungry. Good luck in the contest, chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      What a delicious breakfast for my family to wake up to! I loved the flavors of orange, coconut and bananas. A very unique combination and very tasty. It was nice to be able to make this the night before and just pop it in the oven the next morning. No syrup was necessary! Good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      We really enjoyed this lovely dish. Great use of contest ingredients. It was quick and easy to make. The french toast was thick, rich, puffy and very very flavourful. The fruit and seasonings blended very well together. Next time I will cut back a little on the sugar, as I found it very sweet. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This made a very tasty breakfast! The flavors were very complimentary. I liked that it could be made the evening before and was relatively easy to put together. The next morning it baked while I dressed. I only made a 1/2 portion since there are only 3 of us. I am looking forward to having the left overs in the morning. Thanks for a good breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Absolutely amazing stuff! I made a few changes for dietary restrictions; i.e., egg substitute, Splenda brown sugar blend and lite coconut milk. It is wonderful, rich and reduced well to 4 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This was an easy make ahead breakfast dish, but the finished product was a little on the soggy side. I'm not sure if my bread was too fresh but the casserole was really mushy, even after baking it for almost 45 minutes. If I were to make this again, I would leave out the zest, which made the dish quite bitter and I would be sure to use a crusty bread to see if the bread would hold up better. Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      5 star This is a delicious recipe perfect for that holiday brunch or when you have a gang in. I used powdered coconut milk mixed to a medium consistancy. Splenda brown sugar worked well. Easy to do because you make it the day before. Some bacon on the side would go well but certainly not necessary. This is a creative recipe where each ingredient was necessary to achieve the final wonderful flavor combination It is indeed a French/Polynesia combo that works - - This is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Banana-Orange French Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.3
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    47%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 168.1 mg
    56%
    Sodium 358.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 32.9 g
    131%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Grand Marnier

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites