9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Definitely not a doughnut but very tasty, these are a cross between banana bread and an old fashion doughnut. I ran out of all-purpose flour so I substituted the rest with whole grain, used splenda brown sugar mix & followed the rest of the recipe as stated. The dough seemed a bit thick which was hard to get into my piping bag other than that they baked up into perfect "bagel/doughnut" shapes. My 7 year old says "yummy!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamascookin February 27, 2009

Well, my craving for doughnuts certainly isn't satisfied after trying this recipe, but I thought it tasted really good anyway! I used 1/2 c egg substitute, 3 (really ripe) bananas, and Splenda/Sugar Baking mix (brown and white) for the sugars. Next time I'll try it with applesauce in place of the oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMC October 02, 2008

These are a delicious low-fat snack! The texture is great - and, I even left out the oil to save even more calories. I used my mini-doughnut baking pans so they looked really neat, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb September 25, 2004

Really good. I have a doughnut pan and these were perfect in it. For a doughnut pan consider adjusting the bake time to about 10-12 minutes and each doughnut's serving size will just about double.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julieannie August 07, 2011

So, so good. I absolutely love these and will definitely be making these again. Instead of brown sugar I used the Splenda brown sugar substitute. My mom is diabetic, but she will be able to eat these! So healthy too. Nobody would guess how low calorie these are. Great with tea...made me feel like an English lady. Recipes like these make me want to become a cook when I grow up. Chemistry....psh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Swimmer July 07, 2009

I added an extra banana, forgot use the egg whites (just used the whole thing), and didn't have any wheat flour so I just used all purpose. They didn't turn out doughnut-y or like the pictures but my boyfriend and his best friend ate half of them (I must have made at least 40) while they were hanging out. Even though I screwed up the recipe the boys loved them so I'm betting these would be great done correctly. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaeMay July 09, 2008

I tried these, but don't they need at least one yolk? It didn't rise at all...in fact, they were cookie shaped and chewy...didn't taste anything like what a doughnut should. Thanks for the recipe, though...I enjoyed trying, as I love to experiment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook May 20, 2007

These were ok, mum was the first to try them and she said they were heavy and only took 1 bite. I tried them and thought they were very heavy, i had to eat it with chocolate mouse, but there was something about them that made me like them, they aren't like a dougnut at all, but i was not expecting that after reading the first 2 reviews. On the other hand, it could have been my fault as i used gf flour. But a good recipe. Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfect Pixie February 04, 2007

this recipe is delicious! it tastes like a banana bread cookie! They are really easy to make too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danigirl August 17, 2005
Baked Banana Doughnuts