Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked " Banana Bread" Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked " Banana Bread" Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2012

      Based on the recipe as stated without using the optional ingredients, I found the oatmeal to be too mushy and more like traditional oatmeal than baked oatmeal (at least compared to the baked oatmeal recipe that I normally use). The flavor was good, though, so I made this a second time but reduced the milk by half and increased the oatmeal to 1 1/2 cups. It was no longer mushy, and I liked it a lot more. I will definitely make this again with the changes. This was a great way to use up frozen bananas and also tasted great with chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      It was VERY SWEET, considering that I used less than 1/4 cup of sugar and two small bananas. I did not add any additional fruits or sugar to it after baking. I might skip the sugar entirely next time, but it is a good recipe for future use, I think it just needs to be tweaked to suit the tastes of those eating it. But considering that I LIKE sweet things, and that I found this too sweet, I think there's no need for additional sugar at all. In fact, I think you could use Applesauce instead of banana and still leave out the sugar unless you have very tart applesauce (I recommend making your own applesauce as well, it's very simple and the joy of cooking recipe is excellent). But this is an excellent beginning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Yum! This got mixed reviews from my family (DS is currently anti-oatmeal and DH thought it a bit sweet) but we all agreed it should get all the stars for texture, health, and basic flavor. We don't like a lot of sugar in the morning so I cut it back to 1/4 c with no sugar garnish and honestly I wish I had reduced it more. The bananas add a lovely natural sweetness, so it might even work with just a tiny bit sprinkled on at the end. I forgot to reduce the milk in order to add pineapple so I skipped that, and since I don't care for cooked raisins I just sprinkled them on top of DH and DS's bowls along with the banana. I really enjoyed this; it is easy to prepare and quite tasty. Thanks for posting, swissms! I can't wait to try your other baked oatmeal recipes! Made for Best of 2010 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      This was really yummy..the texture is almost cake-like..very much enjoyed this lovely treat, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      so yummy...i love baked oatmeal - post more :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Very yummy way to eat oatmeal...this is the first time I have ever had baked oatmeal, what a pleasant surprise. Since DH is at a meeting tonight the kids and I had this for dinner. Even my picky "I don't like oatmeal" kids enjoyed this. We will definitely make this again. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2009 Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Made this as directed except I didn't add the optional ingredients. It was good but we liked it better warm then we did cold. I made mine in an 8x8 pan and in my oven it was done in 35 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Wonderful banana bread flavor in a bowl of oatmeal! It takes exactly like banana bread and doesn't have a mushy oatmeal texture. I actually like my oatmeal a little moister (I do like mushy oatmeal), but I think this will be a favorite for non-oatmeal fans. I skipped all of the optional ingredients except for the nutmeg and made a half batch. I added a little extra oatmeal since you can't split an egg in half :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      This is wonderful oatmeal! I didn't use the optional raisins and pineapple, otherwise made as stated. The texture was great and it was perfectly sweetened. I made this in individual ramekins and cooked for 35 minutes. Just loved this - thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked " Banana Bread" Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.0
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    30%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 39.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 68.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites