Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Baja Beef Chimichangas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Baja Beef Chimichangas

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2011

      This is soooooo good! I did cook the garlic in the meat towards the very end. I also added a little picante sauce, just to make it a little more saucy. I only added a little so I don't think it made much of a difference so I won't do that again. Added some cheese to the inside then also some on the top after they came out.
      These were very simple and quick to make, I had dinner done in about 30 mins.
      I have 6 kids and some very picky eaters and everyone of them ate all of their serving and came back asking for more.
      We will be making these again that is for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Man! I really liked these! Halfed the recipe. Garnished with chopped lettuce, tomatoes, grated cheese and guacamole. Next time, sour cream and black olives in addition to the above. The addition of the vinegar was the ticket. Very tasty. And, they are crispy without frying. Try 'em!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      Very good and easy. I did have to bake them for 12 min. to get light brown. Loved them with all the extras.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This recipe is SO good & very easy! It's an interesting tangy, slightly spicy sauce but very authentic. We had leftover BBQ'd tri tip and used that as the meat for the filling. This recipe would be great with any meat, not just beef. We added some cheese to the the inside and guacamole and olives to the garnishes. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I'm anxious to try the sauce for other Mexican recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Very good recipe and easy to make. I would have never thought to butter / bake the chimichangas and they turned out fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      We have never had chimichangas before and didn't know what to expect. We thought these were quite tasty and a nice change from the usual taco. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      My DH and I enjoyed these Chimi's - he has never liked chimi's so I had a bit of trepidation - no need with this recipe - very tasty - thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I made this recipe because it is my husband's favorite dish. I was a little concerned that the chimichanga wasn't going to be deep fried but in the end was very glad that the shell was very crunchy and tasty without having to use all that grease. My family and I don't eat very much red meat so I used chicken. I put the spices in a skillet and added chicken stock so that it could simmer for about 1/2 hour and be really tender. After the stock reduced I added the vinegar and started filling the tortillas. Awesome recipe, will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I used 2 chicken breasts instead of beef. Sauted 1 sliced onion and green pepper. Made 6 huge chimis. They were perfect. Will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I found that the 2# was too much meat, and I minced my garlic instead of crushing it. THere is defiante flavor from the cumin , so if you omit that it would taste bland. You would need 2 packs of 10-12 tortillas to use all the meat, reduced to 1# and cut seasonings in half. I also set my oven on broil for the last 1-2 min to give them that golden touch, my oven didnt seem to get them the color. I also added cheese into the chimis. But overall was a great recipe , and would use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Man, these were a bit of a disappointment because the filling was just more dry and bland than we were expecting. On the plus side, they crisped up brilliantly in the oven, though I'm not sure how many calories I saved by brushing all that butter onto the tortilla. No matter, because the outside sure tasted yummy. To get my family to eat the filling, I added some sazon seasoning, tomatillo salsa and then added a generous helping of colby jack cheese before rolling up the chimichanga. The cheese melted nicely and moistened up the filling. I served these with guacamole and sour cream,and my family ended up liking the end result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      These were quick and tasted good - although they could've used a little more flavor inside the chimichanga. Next time I might add more spices and maybe jalapenos. Overall a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      These were delicious! My husband loves chimichangas--he was in heaven. My son also commented about how good they were. I made them larger, using a heaping 1/2 cup of filling in each burrito-size tortilla, ending up with 8 chimis. (I froze 4 of them (unbaked) for later and will transfer them to the refrigerator the day before I plan to bake them.) I used 96% lean ground beef, and if I use the same next time, I may add a little salsa to the filling to moisten it up a bit. We really enjoyed these--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Baja Beef Chimichangas

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 639.7
     
    Calories from Fat 330
    51%
    Total Fat 36.7 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 17.2 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 154.5 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1124.9 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 41.7 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites