Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Bacon-Wrapped Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Bacon-Wrapped Brown Sugar Smokies

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2012

      Always the first appetizer to go and what's nice is that they can be made early before a party and be kept warm on low in crock pot but are also fine if they come to room temperature. Make more than you think you'll need. They cook down smaller. I made 2 1lb packs once cooked, it only about 1/2 filled crock pot. Next time I'll do 3. Some tips, def don't get thick bacon, thin will crisp up better. Use 1/3 strip reg, or 1/2 of center cut. Don't skimp or overdo this amt. Too much, you'll have difficulty cooking crisp, too little it won't stay good on weenie. If you let back warm up a little and stretch as you are wrapping you can get by without toothpick, as it cooks it grabs tight and stays on. I find, however, that it is simplest to use cookie sheet wrapped in big sheet tin foil (or grease will leak thru) or use disposable and put rack with cooking spray on top (allowing grease to drain away from weenies), then skewer the smokies on to bamboo skewers about six to a stick, coat with b.sugar and place on rack. This makes for easy turning 1/2 thru so that you are crisp on both sides. They do take a good hour to cook. Slide off easy into crock pot on lowest setting and can light drizzle with maple syrup. I do not put drippings from pan on top as some reviews suggest, seems way to greasy for me. You really can skip the crock pot though, it you want. They go so quick they don't really have time to get cold and don't need to be very hot to taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Thank you for a very easy recipe to follow. I have made these for years and wanted to put the recipe in a cookbook I am making for a new cook. I was looking for an easy to follow recipe and your direction were the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Yummy and super easy! I made these and they were gonein no time. I recommend cooking a little longer than 45 mins, at least for my over I needed about 50. I di not use the cinnamon. I ran out of bacon before little smokies so I would buy more bacon next time and likely double recipe altogether since these went so quickly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Excellent. I served with mustard for dipping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Yummy is an under statement for this recipe. I always prepeare this recipe the night before and refridgerate them. By doing this you will end up with little crunchies of brown sugar on the bacon after they are cooked.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      This is a fabulous appetizer that keeps you going back for more. I also like it made with cut chicken tenders wrapped with bacon and sprinkled with brown sugar. They are just as yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      My friend introduced us to this recipe years ago & now I make them for any gathering we go to. I also like to bake them in the oven, but then will transfer them to crock pot to keep them warm. Make sure to make plenty, as there are always disappointed people that didn't get their fill of these. Will be making up a batch to take to NYE party we are going to.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      To cut the fat content even further, I use the "fully cooked" bacon. It's easier to handle than the raw bacon. Since this lessens the amount of moisture in the pan, I'll add about 1/4 cup of water to keep them from sticking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      A friend of mine gave me this recipe years ago and it is very yummy! we never have left overs of these after a party!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      These are great we have enjoyed them for years. We mix the brown sugar with any kind of mustard put mixture in a baggie, cut the end off and pipe mixture on smokies. It gives them a sticky but tangy coating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Discovered these appetizers and love them! So easy! I also sprinkle a generous amount of cayenne pepper over the top of the brown sugar before cooking. Doesn't make them too hot and everyone at a party recently loved them! The one appetizer that was completely gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      A guest brought these to our tree-trimming party. She said she used maple syrup because she was out of brown sugar. They were yummy, yummy, yummy! I'm sure brown sugar would be just as good, but you may want to try a little maple flavoring in addition to the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Very easy to make and a crowd pleaser :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I have made this recipe several years before I even knew about recipezaar. I make mine in a 9x13 glass pan and just stand up the wrapped smokies tothpick side up then sprinkle the brown sugar on top. This way it's sitting in the brown sugar soaking up all that sweet goodness :) Mine come out wonderful and get great reviews everytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      We had these at Christmas eve and they were gobbled up by family of all ages. When some people were going to arrive later we had to warn those already there off the few remaining Smokies to make sure there would be some left over for the others, otherwise they would have been gone in a flash. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Have made for years and LOVE 'EM! I have always made them the same as using your instructions EXCEPT I make them and put the cookie sheets in the refrigerator overnight and then bake then the next day, It lets the brown sugar soak in some. Don't know if that would be necessary but it's the way we like them. We too don't like them cooked in a crock pot. After they are done/baked, we put the Smokies in a crock pot to keep warm but do NOT add the juice from the cookie sheets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      These are awesome, but I have never tried them with the optional cinnamon sugar. I just tripled this recipe for a party for 25 people. They were gone in less than an hour. They are a little time consuming with wrapping the smokies, but they are worth it. Great football game snacks! Just make plenty of them and save some for yourself before they are gone in a flash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Bacon-Wrapped Brown Sugar Smokies

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.5
     
    Calories from Fat 410
    83%
    Total Fat 45.5 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 92.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 953.1 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites