Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Arroz Con Pollo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Arroz Con Pollo

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2011

      Excellent! my chicken hadn't thawed properly in time so i just cubed it up raw into really small cubes. I sauteed up my veggies, then threw in the garlic till fragrant, added the broth, a small can of tomato sauce ( kids aren't particularly thrilled with chunks) and the cubed chicken. Brought it all to a boil and dumped it over the rice. I actually used my Pamperchef chef deep dish baker instead. Covered it up and baked for 1 hr! Perfection according to my husband and son. Really nice dinner to add to my rotation. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      I have made this several times now so I owe it a review. This is a great recipe. Don't skip the boiling the broth part or your rice will not be fully cooked after baking. I even throw the rice in the boiling broth for about 5 minutes before going into the oven. I mix it up by adding peas and sliced black olives and have even made it with some black beans. I like to use several color peppers for presentation. Enjoy this, it is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      this was so good my husband wants to make it two nights in a row! try it you will NOT be sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      arroz con pollo is one of my favorite dishes, but i have a hard time getting the rice perfect and had doubts as to whether or not baking would work. está delicioso! i used red bell peppers and added green peas. muchas gracias!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      I am Puerto Rican and this dish had all of the smells and flavors that I know and love in spanish food! (Had to sub a few things, like the chicken broth and yellow rice, since I didn't have them available...I boiled the chicken breasts and used that water as broth and I used a packet of sazon to add the yellow color.) This recipe would also be great with shrimp and/or sausage to make it similar to paella! My family and I LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      fantastic and easy to make. I used 1 1 /2 (8oz ) boxes of Zatarans yellow rice. I also boiled the rice with the broth and vegetables for 5 minutes as someone else suggested. I used 1/2 green and 1/2 red peppers and also threw in an few handfuls of mixed vegetables. My Colombian husband and children all approved. I think this is my favorite arroz con pollo recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Excellent and easy.....Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Thanks for a wonderful and easy recipe! I ended up using an entire large pouch (16 ounces) of Vigo yellow rice and shredded a rotisserie chicken that I bought from my grocery store. The rice was perfectly cooked in an hour. I would recommend spraying your 9 x 12 dish with cooking spray before putting all of the goodies in...I can see how it could be a nightmare to clean if you didn't. Thanks again for a yummy and easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      I also used a whole can of tomatoes, just to not have to throw the rest out, and the recipe was AMAZING. The rice is so perfect cooked this way, very good, and family friendly, not spicy at all! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Super easy and a total family pleaser! My 2 year old gobbled it up. Like some others, I used a whole can of tomatoes and only had to cook it for 45 minutes. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was really good and yummy! I used canned chicken because it pulls apart ultra easy, just rub it between your fingers and it shreds! I also didn't add any extra salt because those yellow rice mixes are so high in sodium, and I used a full can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes. Plus, I only had to cook it for 45 minutes. This is a keeper, thanks Barenaked Chef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I used the left overs from a roasted chicken and (accidentally) doubled the rice. It was quick and easy and yummy. I think if I make without leftovers, I'll try sprinkling my chicken with adobo before grilling just to see what happens! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I grew up in a Mexican kitchen and have been looking for a tasty Arroz Con Pollo recipe similar to what my mom used to make that doesn't require me to spend half the day in the kitchen! This recipe is not exactly like mom's but it is similar, much easier to make and very tasty. I also added a few more spices and celery and carrots just to sneak a few more veggies in there and squeezed a lime on top once it was done. Yummm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This is a great recipie i made it tonight for dinner. Only thing is that im a spice freak so i added cumin,curry,chilli powder and garnished with alittle chedder cheese.It came out amazing. Very easy to cook and my husband who hates mexican food even enjoyed this meal. =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      Made this a couple of weeks ago and we really enjoyed it. I think you could use spanish rice too and it would be really good with these ingredients. Definitely will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This was way good! I used one fresh tomato chopped instead of the canned ones and just one chicken breast. It was done in 40 minutes and was so yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! Have made this several times. I generally poach the chicken before adding it to the casserole to keep it moist. Also, I like to substitute salsa (mild or medium) for the canned tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I was looking for a recipe for arroz con pollo that was similar to one my Spanish teacher made for me in high school; this is probably the closest one I've found so far. I followed pretty closely except I used a yellow pepper instead of green and subbed a little thyme for the bay leaf (per the kitchen dictionary). My only complaint would be that it wasn't evenly cooked and the edges were starting to burn after about 40 minutes and I think next time I will put the chicken in raw. It was starting to dry out. But I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      My family loved this recipe. It was super easy. I added peas & carrots and substitued diced tomatoes with chilies for the canned tomatoes. I will certainly be making it again soon. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Great recipe. I'd cut back on the chicken stock a little so that the rice would come out drier (or maybe because I used white rice instead of yellow?). Substituted mushrooms for green peppers and mixed in cooked chicken and lean bacon for added flavor. It's such an easy recipe to play around with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Arroz Con Pollo

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.4
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    46%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 52.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 967.8 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 21.3 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    yellow rice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites