37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! my chicken hadn't thawed properly in time so i just cubed it up raw into really small cubes. I sauteed up my veggies, then threw in the garlic till fragrant, added the broth, a small can of tomato sauce ( kids aren't particularly thrilled with chunks) and the cubed chicken. Brought it all to a boil and dumped it over the rice. I actually used my Pamperchef chef deep dish baker instead. Covered it up and baked for 1 hr! Perfection according to my husband and son. Really nice dinner to add to my rotation. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junkintrunk January 06, 2011

I have made this several times now so I owe it a review. This is a great recipe. Don't skip the boiling the broth part or your rice will not be fully cooked after baking. I even throw the rice in the boiling broth for about 5 minutes before going into the oven. I mix it up by adding peas and sliced black olives and have even made it with some black beans. I like to use several color peppers for presentation. Enjoy this, it is a keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee-Dee B December 17, 2010

this was so good my husband wants to make it two nights in a row! try it you will NOT be sorry!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alimustokoff December 06, 2010

arroz con pollo is one of my favorite dishes, but i have a hard time getting the rice perfect and had doubts as to whether or not baking would work. está delicioso! i used red bell peppers and added green peas. muchas gracias!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nevermind April 29, 2010

I am Puerto Rican and this dish had all of the smells and flavors that I know and love in spanish food! (Had to sub a few things, like the chicken broth and yellow rice, since I didn't have them available...I boiled the chicken breasts and used that water as broth and I used a packet of sazon to add the yellow color.) This recipe would also be great with shrimp and/or sausage to make it similar to paella! My family and I LOVED it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef we're eatin' in October 07, 2009

fantastic and easy to make. I used 1 1 /2 (8oz ) boxes of Zatarans yellow rice. I also boiled the rice with the broth and vegetables for 5 minutes as someone else suggested. I used 1/2 green and 1/2 red peppers and also threw in an few handfuls of mixed vegetables. My Colombian husband and children all approved. I think this is my favorite arroz con pollo recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apee26 May 19, 2011

Excellent and easy.....Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedMinPinLover March 23, 2011

Thanks for a wonderful and easy recipe! I ended up using an entire large pouch (16 ounces) of Vigo yellow rice and shredded a rotisserie chicken that I bought from my grocery store. The rice was perfectly cooked in an hour. I would recommend spraying your 9 x 12 dish with cooking spray before putting all of the goodies in...I can see how it could be a nightmare to clean if you didn't. Thanks again for a yummy and easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SavorFlavor February 01, 2011

I also used a whole can of tomatoes, just to not have to throw the rest out, and the recipe was AMAZING. The rice is so perfect cooked this way, very good, and family friendly, not spicy at all! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meddusa@hotmail.com October 29, 2010

Super easy and a total family pleaser! My 2 year old gobbled it up. Like some others, I used a whole can of tomatoes and only had to cook it for 45 minutes. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ap_reed February 08, 2010
Baked Arroz Con Pollo