Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Apples Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Apples

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2003

      My family loved these delicious baked apples with just a hint of rum flavor to go with all those yummy spices. I covered them, and shouldn't have?, as they sorta foamed over the top of the apple when they got done; however, it didn't affect their great taste. Next time I will bake the apples UNCOVERED and toast the pecans and sprinkle them on top when serving apples, as cooking the pecans inside the apples made them a little "soggy". We had this as a side dish for Thanksgiving, they were a nice complement to the turkey and dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! We loved these. Mine were not soft enough but 15 more minutes in the oven will solve that problem. Besides that they were fantastic! The rum really makes these special. We decided they should be called Butter Rum Baked Apples. I did not use pecans since we didn't have any and aren't big fans of nuts in general. Paired with vanilla ice cream this was the perfect ending to a great fall meal! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      Very tasty - I used dried cranberries soaked in the rum & I don't think the rum was "dark" but it still tasted good. I put my apples in the middle of a pie plate and surrounded it with extra filling from an apple pie that I had just baked (so they had extra cinnamon, white sugar, & also nutmeg on them).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These are to die for!!! Seriously... they are super easy to make and are just the most amazing comfort food you could imagine! I really believe the rum added something special to the apples, and I followed this recipe exactly, besides the fact I scaled it down to 2 apples. It was so delicious with ice cream and the pecans and raisins were the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      Mmmmm...these are just delicious!! Much of the brown sugar did leak out of the apple, but I just spooned it back over top of the apple when serving. I scaled down the recipe to 2 servings, which my dad and I enjoyed for dessert with a scoop of low fat vanilla ice cream. I didn't have any real rum so soaked the raisins in about 1 tsp of rum extract mixed with water. I then drizzled about 1/2 of this mixture onto the apples, which resulted in a great flavor. I didn't bother with the butter which turned out just fine. Thanks for a delicious dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      WOW-delicious! Make sure to puncture the skin all around to reduce change of skins splitting. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins, and it was wonderful as well. Also, added the nuts on top as suggested. Serve warm with lots of whipped cream. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      Great recipe! Followed exactly but only made 3. Probably should have soaked raisins longer. Big hit with hubby and 3-year old. And yes, vanilla ice cream is absolutely necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I really loved this recipe for a couple reasons: 1. Booze, check. 2. Raisins, check. 3. Brown sugar, check! 45 minutes was the perfect baking time. My oven runs a little hot, so the apples came out deliciously fork tender and not saucy, with a great carmelized bunch of pecans, raisins, and brown sugar coating the bottom of the pan. Delish! I used Jonagolds for my apples, and I am definitely going to make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      We had after with dinner Even though everyone was full they all ate every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      The filling is delicious! Even one of my kids that doesnt like baked apples loved this recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      OMG, these were awesome. The only change I made was using Southern Comfort (I didn't have any rum) but they were so good. I usually think baked apples are just hohum, but these go way beyond that. I will definitely be making again, and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Yummy! I've made these twice now and they're quite a hit with company. I didn't have any ice cream the first time around, but this time I served w/ vanilla. I have used both granny smith and honeycrisp apples for this recipe. I do cook the apples a bit longer than called for, usually about an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Brought this to our office "Turkey Day" and received raves!I sliced the apples into approx 1/4 to 1/2 in thick pieces and cooked them in a crock pot on high for about 90 minutes. They were hot, crunchy and delicious. Thanks, ~Rita~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

    • on November 19, 2007

      I followed the reciped exactly except I didn't use nuts because I don't care for them. These turned out fabulous and cooked perfectly with the time stated. My 3 year old DS ate 1 and 1/3 by himself! The raisins plumped up nicely and the apple was so soft and delicious. Great flavor combination, especially adding the rum. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      *Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* These made a great dessert. I didn't have pecans so used walnuts. Easy to make and left them baking while we had dinner. Photo also being posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Oh my, I loved these with the rum, had baked apples before and was never that impressed with them...but wow. thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      These were great! I used apple cider because I didn't have any rum. Yummy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      Excellent! The filling alone would be an excellent topping for vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Apples

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.7
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    43%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 55.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 31.7 g
    127%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites