8 Reviews

What a unique way to eat apples! These were very good! I used the brown sugar for the recipe. I will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kikimony March 13, 2003

An easy recipe to prepare however I wasn't overly pleased with the finished product. When I poored the cream over the apples and syrup it immediately curdled. Would have been better if I had just left it off.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u October 04, 2010

Was great, I quartered my apples. I think next time I will chunk them so the flavor seeps into every bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davinci_wdcdt March 17, 2010

My apple also exploded. the flavor of the syrup was good. the next time I am going to quarter the apple because it didn't cook right and I would like more a a caramel flavoring in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bravesareone March 30, 2006

Sorry, I forgot to post the stars with my comments. It deserves all five stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbrannan10 November 17, 2004

Easy recipe,I added alittle allspice and nutmeg to the sugar. I had a few problems, I baked them for the 25 minutes, and one basically exploded. Also I couldn\'t the syrup to thicken, I boiled and boiled but It just wouldn\'t, so I ended up adding alittle cornstarch. All in all they were pretty good. Thaks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KIM WILSON May 21, 2004

Wonderful! And easy. I baked them along with a pork roast. The ones that were left went for breakfast the next morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife February 03, 2004

Just browsing thro your recipes Leta, this is a very old English dessert, but what we do is fill the hole with sultanas and a little sugar etc on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann teapot August 14, 2003
Baked Apples