8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these with some Winesap apples my daugher brought home from the Apple Orchard. Perfect! I didn't read the directions carefully and cooked them first at 200 degrees. After 30 minutes they were still hard. Hmmmm, somebody wasn't thinking. THEN I baked them at 400 degrees which was perfect - 30 minutes then 5 minutes uncovered. They were easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F October 25, 2011

I really enjoyed these apples. I gave this 5 stars because the addition of almonds made the dish a cut above the rest. I did use 1 tsp. of cinnamon instead of 1/4 since I really enjoy a cinnamon flavor. I've also made this with sliced apples & it came out just as great. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cajun Kitchen October 26, 2010

Delicious-apple crisp on the apple! I made this because of Chef#383346's recommendation and so glad that I did. Oops, I guess I did not do step 3 exactly right as my peel did sort of fall off. Thanks Redsie for sharing. Made for Theirs, Yours, & Mine game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal October 13, 2009

I made one apple and was mixing Harvest Baked Apples and this recipe. I used 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats and 1/2 cup brown sugar, a few squeezes fresh lemon juice and 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon. I used 1 1/4 tbs canola oil in replacement of the butter as we are dairy free. Since it was just one apple I packed as much in and on top as possible and then put the rest of the left over oat mixture around the bottom of the apple. I baked it in a 400F-425F oven but by 15 minutes the topping around the bottom of the apple was burnt but this may be my oven. At this point I took it out and ate it pretty aldante alone for breakfast after it had cooled down a bit. Im sure it would be very good with vanilla ice cream. I would make this again at a lower oven temperature with fresh lemon juice and maybe pecans next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 18, 2009

This was really good. I only had pecans so I used those instead of almonds. I made this for dessert and it worked out great because everyone had their own individual serving to top how they desired. DH had his with ice cream and I had mine with caramel sauce!! Yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family January 07, 2008

This is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. My DH, DD, and DS all loved these. Made for 1,2,3 Hit Wonders 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn December 03, 2007

Easy and lovely dessert! I added a few dried cranberries to the filling. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. October 23, 2007

It was my first time doing baked apples. I removed also the bottom lol It smell so good. And it's delicious. Very easy to do. Thanks Redsie :) Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 22, 2007
Baked Apples