10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed the recipe, but it turned out a little different than I expected. While it was very light tasting, it didn't puff up the way I thought it would. Also, sauteeing the apples for 5 mins, and then only cooking the combined dish for 10 mins, really wasn't enough time for the apples to get soft - so mine had a slight bite to them. I would use this recipe, in conjunction with others, for brunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltemple99 January 23, 2011

This is so light and delicious and bakes up quick to boot! I used brown sugar to saute my apples and cut the recipe down to 2 servings and baked in a mini loaf pan. It puffed up really high in such a small pan but it came out tasting exceptional! I topped mine with caramel sauce and whipped topping. It was like eating dessert for breakfast! MMM. Thanks for sharing Kat. Made for Sweet Traditions Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. June 01, 2010

This was divine! I used honey instead of sugar and whole grain flour to improve the nutrition. We topped ours with almond butter and fell in love! So simple, so quick, so good!! Thanks for posting we will be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama May 21, 2010

An absolutely great tasting breakfast with this pancake, & easy to put together, too! We topped it off with just a thin spread of some homemade applesauce! A great keeper of a recipe, for sure! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 15, 2010

This was awesome. I made this exactly as stated. Everyone loved it. My husband added sliced bananas, pecans, and brown sugar on top. He said it was heaven. Thanks for a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko January 25, 2010

Delicious breakfast!!! I made 1/2 of the recipe and cook the apples in the butter mixture in a small fry pan and then just topped it with the batter then popped it into the oven. I ate it as it was, no syrup needed for me!! This has a very nice light and airy batter since you whipped the egg white. Thanks Katzen for sharing a wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 06, 2009

This is so delicious! It was quite easy to make and looks like I slaved away. I admit that I tried this recipe to see if it could beat out Gamma's apple pancakes. It didn't win, but it sure can stand it's own. The texture of the pancake is so completely different. It's like with a nice crumb. I used green apples because I like them. I added a tiny hint of almond extract to the batter, and I really liked it with the apples. Very good, will have to make again. Made for PRMR. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ August 25, 2009

Mmmm! What a special breakfast treat. DH and ate the whole thing in one sitting. Did make two changes the first was no regular sugar in the house so used Splenda brown sugar blend and the second was to use regular eggbeaters because we were out of regular eggs. These changes did not effect the taste. There was less puff due to eggbeaters over egg whites. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl July 05, 2009

Woozer Katzen, this was absolutely wonderful. This is my favorite pancake recipe to date. It was so quick and easy to make. The resulting pancake was light, airy, fluffy, tender and oh so delicious. The apples were sweet &tart, with a delicious cinnamon splash. I will be making this again often. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 29, 2009

DH put this together for us for breakfast yesterday morning. It was absolutely delicious!!! The next time we make it, we'll probably have some eggs and bacon for breakfast as well, because the two of us had no trouble eating the entire recipe, and we're not big eaters. It tasted like something you'd be served in a lovely B&B. Thank you Katzen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself May 26, 2009
Baked Apple Pancake