Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Acorn Squash With Spicy Maple Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Acorn Squash With Spicy Maple Syrup

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2004

      I halved this recipe and it worded very well. I poked holes in the cavity so the maple/butter flavor could sink in. Very tasty and simple. I liked that I did not have to fuss over it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      This was great! It tasted like pumpkin pie, when it was finished. I didn't have any acorn squash, but tried it with a buttercup, and it was marvelous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2003

      My husband was none to pleased when I announced we were having acorn squash at dinner, but he couldn't shut up about it once he was eating it! Delicious! An added bonus was that not only my husband loved it, but also my 2 year old daughter and my 8 month old (he ate some sections withOUT the syrup)! It's a keeper! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2002

      Yummy! I did use salted butter, did not use the maple syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2014

      What a treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      This is very tasty. I cut my squash in half, and baked it for an hour at 400F and it came out perfectly. I also brushed some of the syrup/butter mix from the hollows over the sides of the squash near the end - gave it a nice browned appearance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      YUM! This recipe is phenomenal! Even my DH, who said he doesn't like squash, was gobbling it up and suggesting we make it for Thanksgiving. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I made it like the directions said, only I halved the squash, scraped it out of the shells when baked, and mashed them all together to mix the flavors evenly. Mmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      Awesomely easy and delicious! And there's nothing like pure maple syrup. I also used freshly grated nutmeg. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      this was amazing! I doubled the recipe and it was delish. i added a bit more butter to each half of squash and also used fresh maple syrup. I also cooked for about 1 hour at 350 degrees F. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Awesome and simple recipe. My husband loved it! I made exactly as directed. Will definitely be making this over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This was super good - I did use sugar free maple syrup. It was still really good, but know this would be much better with pure maple syrup. Thanks for a great recipe Candie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Excellent flavor and very easy to make. The only issue I had was that it took much, much longer than 45 mins for my squash to be cooked through -- double that, in fact, at the recommended temp. Still, I didn't mind! It smelled fantastic while cooking, and all of my guests enjoyed it at Thanksgiving this year. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      We are trying to eat more veggies at our house, so I thought I would give this a try for dinner a couple nights ago. It was delicious! My one year old ate half of one squash by himself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! Even my VERY picky husband scarfed it down. This recipe is going in my Family Favorites cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      So easy to spoon out of the shell baked this way! Great squash and one we will have again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I had company coming and wanted to impress them with a delicious squash recipe and knew I would love this one. I used butternut squash instead of the acorn, but then followed the recipe and the result was a tender, sweet, deliciously flavored squash that I got many compliments from everyone. We will have this one again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was gone before I could say "Happy Thanksgiving". Thanks so very much for posting...we all just loved this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      SO easy and SO delicious! We skipped the butter as another reviewer mentioned, and used plenty of cinnamon and nutmeg (a generous pinch of each in each piece of squash). We also just cut the squash in half (thirds was just too much thinking for me). This is the kind of thing I love to "cook"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      OH MY! This was excellent. We don't normally eat this kind of thing at my house. But this was AWESOME! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Acorn Squash With Spicy Maple Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.5
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    25%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 7.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites