Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Acorn Squash and Apples Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Acorn Squash and Apples

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2010

      Very good but a little sweet - alomost a dessert. I added dried bing cherries and celery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      So Yummy, Great way to fix Acorn Squash. We love acorn squash the apples,maple syurp and pumkin pie spices sure add a lot of flavor. The recipe is sure a keeper, DH loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

    • on January 13, 2009

      Delicious! I also used butter spray Splenda brown sugar and cinnamon, ground cloves and nutmeg. Its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Simply divine! For a reduced fat and sugar option, I mixed my apples with a bit of butter and maple extract, and then sugar substitute. DH loved his with butter and maple syrup. I only used one apple for our little squash. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      We often have acorn squash for Christmas dinner with ham. We tried this recipe yesterday and it was a hit with everyone in the family -- even the boys who don't usually eat squash. We made the recipe as directed except for omitting the canola oil. We'll try this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      Apples are the perfect "stuffing" for acorn squash. Mine took a lot longer to bake, but Bergy's suggestion of covering the baking dish with foil would fix that and keep the apples moist. I used butter spray rather than canola oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2004

      I used a Butternut squash and it was super. I did not prebake the squash with the water bath. I stuffed it with the apples & Maple syrup (lighthanded with the syrup too) covered the squash with foil baked for 1 hour, then uncovered 8" from the grill for 15 minutes. Beautiful well cooked squash with the lovely flavor of apples and the pumpkin pie spice. Thanks Kree for a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      This is a nice comforting food for supper. I cooked this with Herbed Turkey Breast and it was a wonderful meal. I did make some changes. I used butternut squash instead. I put the apples in the middle hole, and then layered them along the top. I used Mutzu apples. I was worried about just eating apples mushing up and turning it into sauce, so I used a cooking / eating apple. I used brown sugar instead of maple syrup. Since I couldn't find pumpkin pie spice, it dawned on me that you use nutmeg, ground cloves, and cinnamon in pumpkin pie so I used those spices instead. Wonderful versatile recipe that lends itself to any squash veggie!! Definite paws up from me and my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Acorn Squash and Apples

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.8
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    58%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    water

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites