20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, I am thrilled to make these myself rather than buying store-made butter tarts/bars. I used a smaller (8x8) pan, so I baked them for 28 minutes. We don't like raisins, so I omitted them, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out sublime. "Bake Exchange" is an appropriate name: They are impressive and worthy of any family event or pot-luck function. Will certainly be making again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heatherbee2 March 27, 2011

This is an old recipe from Company's Coming 150 Delicious Squares. It is great if you want the taste but not the work of butter tarts. I use 1 tbsp of flour in filling, double the vanilla, add a pinch of cinnamon and use 1 cup of raisins, no nuts. I bake the crust 12 minutes and the filling 25 minutes, works great in my oven. Thicker crust if 8 inch pan used, double the recipe for a 9x13 pan.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the4taals January 12, 2011

Yum!!! These are absolutely delicious bars. I only put in 1 c of raisens and did not add any nuts. I baked them for 20 mins and they are perfect. Thank you for sharing a great recipe Winnipeg*Mel*.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowangel October 12, 2007

I have made this twice and the second time, I added diced prunes and dried cranberries. The combination of sweet and sour was out of this world. I added a 1/4 cup of flour to the filling and also cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup and it turned out delish. My husband and I just can't get enough of these scrumptious little gems. Please don't let the prunes turn you off, they are really delicious and healthy. Everyone should give these a try at least once and you to will be surprised how wonderful they are. Thank You Winnipeg "Mel" for an awesome recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Boopster February 28, 2013

Sorry that I'm only giving this three stars, but it was way too sweet for my taste, and I even used less brown sugar for the top layer. I may try it again and only use about a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Also, it seemed like it should have been baked an additional 5-10 minutes as it was almost too gooey. It may be my oven though as it's new and I have to lower the temp by about 5-10 degrees so things don't burn! I may have lowered it too much, oops!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryQueen May 30, 2007

My MIL made these for her rehearsal dinner last month, and I made them for Canada Day. They are great! The brown sugar in the crust makes them really yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanieTeachGal July 24, 2013

Instead of 1 1/2 cups of raisins I used 1 1/2 cups dates instead. Delicious with the nuts~!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen July 11, 2010

This is very close to a recipe that I was going to post from "Company's Coming". I include this one on my Xmas cookie tray every year and it is always popular. I add a dash of allspice to my raisin mixture, and my recipe calls for 1/4C flour in the 2nd layer as opposed to 1 tsp flour. It is like a yummy butter tart, but less work. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 14, 2009

too much crust for the size of the pan the filling mixture baked out fine and tasted great, if I make again I will do some adjusments to the amounts, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz September 15, 2008
Bake Exchange Butter Tart Bars