Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bake Exchange Butter Tart Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bake Exchange Butter Tart Bars

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2011

      Wow, I am thrilled to make these myself rather than buying store-made butter tarts/bars. I used a smaller (8x8) pan, so I baked them for 28 minutes. We don't like raisins, so I omitted them, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out sublime. "Bake Exchange" is an appropriate name: They are impressive and worthy of any family event or pot-luck function. Will certainly be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      This is an old recipe from Company's Coming 150 Delicious Squares. It is great if you want the taste but not the work of butter tarts. I use 1 tbsp of flour in filling, double the vanilla, add a pinch of cinnamon and use 1 cup of raisins, no nuts. I bake the crust 12 minutes and the filling 25 minutes, works great in my oven. Thicker crust if 8 inch pan used, double the recipe for a 9x13 pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Yum!!! These are absolutely delicious bars. I only put in 1 c of raisens and did not add any nuts. I baked them for 20 mins and they are perfect. Thank you for sharing a great recipe Winnipeg*Mel*.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      I have made this twice and the second time, I added diced prunes and dried cranberries. The combination of sweet and sour was out of this world. I added a 1/4 cup of flour to the filling and also cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup and it turned out delish. My husband and I just can't get enough of these scrumptious little gems. Please don't let the prunes turn you off, they are really delicious and healthy. Everyone should give these a try at least once and you to will be surprised how wonderful they are. Thank You Winnipeg "Mel" for an awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Sorry that I'm only giving this three stars, but it was way too sweet for my taste, and I even used less brown sugar for the top layer. I may try it again and only use about a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Also, it seemed like it should have been baked an additional 5-10 minutes as it was almost too gooey. It may be my oven though as it's new and I have to lower the temp by about 5-10 degrees so things don't burn! I may have lowered it too much, oops!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      My MIL made these for her rehearsal dinner last month, and I made them for Canada Day. They are great! The brown sugar in the crust makes them really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

    • on July 11, 2010

      Instead of 1 1/2 cups of raisins I used 1 1/2 cups dates instead. Delicious with the nuts~!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This is very close to a recipe that I was going to post from "Company's Coming". I include this one on my Xmas cookie tray every year and it is always popular. I add a dash of allspice to my raisin mixture, and my recipe calls for 1/4C flour in the 2nd layer as opposed to 1 tsp flour. It is like a yummy butter tart, but less work. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      too much crust for the size of the pan the filling mixture baked out fine and tasted great, if I make again I will do some adjusments to the amounts, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Yummy, was my favorite treat out of all the Christmas goodies I made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      WOW-----talk about rich! These are unbelievable! I made these for book group last night---cut into 12 squares---8 members showed up---NO squares to bring home! Everyone loved them! I emailed the recipe to everyone this morning! Made them exactly as written! Thank You so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      These were a hit! So easy to make! Instead of walnuts I used pecans because that's what I had on hand and I only had 1 cup of raisins. It was still great. Reminds me of the Company's Coming recipe. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      I made this for the first time last night for guests and everyone loved it! Sweet and Gooey! My husband hates raisins, but he loved this! I will definitely be adding this to my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

    • on December 02, 2006

      Oh my, I think I love you! :) My mom and I first discovered butter tarts at Tim Hortons (had never heard of them before) and loved them so when I came across this recipe I HAD to try it. These were simple and easy to put together and the taste! Oh, that divine taste! I left out the walnuts as that is what I am used to but made no other changes. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! They will be made again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      Wow! I've had these before! At the coffee shop I had the most wonderful shortbread with a sort of pecan pie topping only it was walnut and rasin. I read this and it appealed, so I tried it. I'm so excited to find the recipie and that there's a name. Thank you, northern neighbor. Now I can have these any time and not wait for the coffee shop to have them in their rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      I made these yesterday and they were so easy but so good! I used a 9x13 glass pan and baked at 325 for the same amount of time, cooled them and then refridgerated them overnight and cut them into squares today, very easy. Thankyou for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      I made a mistake making these - they didn't look as nice as your picture BUT they still tasted great!!! A little richer then normal butter tarts but a very nice change!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      The recipe was so delicious! I was so happy that i asked everyone to bring a copy of the recipe to include with their baking. These freeze very well and make a perfect addition to any baking tray. Thanks for posting this recipe Melanie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bake Exchange Butter Tart Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (951 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.2
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    36%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 27.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 82.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 15.3 g
    61%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes