Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bajan Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bajan Beans

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2012

      The great thing about this recipe is you can tweak it to your liking. I used instant white rice to cut way down on cook time. Didn't have a jap pepper so added extra chili powder and crushed red to spice it up a bit, as well as a lot more curry powder. Used much less vegetable stock because of the instant rice and used garbanzo beans because it's all I had. Worked out great. The rice makes it filling enough for a meal in itself. Nice recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I used a jalapeno and madras curry powder so it was quite spicy. At the last minute I found out I was out of brown rice, so I used basmati rice. I used a whole green pepper and about 8 oz. of corn. I left out the cilantro and used a larger can of beans--maybe 20 oz. I also threw in some Boca "meatless ground beef"-soy crumbles. This made substantially more than four servings. My biggest pan was full. I left the veggies tender-crisp. Very tasty and satisfying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Yum! This was really enjoyable and quite easy to make! I agree with others that this makes a good amount, but in my family that is always a good thing. I made this with great northern beans, and I subbed in some veggies I needed to use up (okra and green beans) in lieu of some of the corn and peppers. I love that this is so flavorful as is but mild enough for the kiddos; for me a shake of crushed red pepper at the table made it spot on. Thanks so much for posting! Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Easy to prepare, but you definitely need a pan that can be covered! otherwise, the rice doesn't turn out as nicely. Next time, we'll probably add a little bit of tofu to the mix--and maybe some more heat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Easy, comforting and makes a Iot (serves 6? 8?). The flavor is mild and would be appropriate for a wide variety of dinner guests (I added hot sauce to my portion). This is satisfying as written and I suspect would be great with chicken or pork too. I used cannelli beans and orange bell pepper in place of the red and green.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Very nice combination of flavours, not too spicy. I added shredded chicken, very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      Ya mon, this is good! DS in particular raved about this. Seasonings are right on-bring on the curry-perfect amount. The three of us each had seconds and I have leftovers, so this easily feeds 6. I used yellow summer squash as I love them! I cannot buy either suggested bean here so subbed in pinto beans. I also put in an extra cup of chicken broth as the liquid was disappearing. I served this with Tia's Caribbean Fish Packets for a wonderful Caribbean meal. This would be very good with cooked bacon. Thanks Kumquat the Cat's Friend for sharing! Made "while cruising" the Caribbean during ZWT5 for the Chow Hounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I wish I could give this more than 5 stars because it allowed me to feed my hubby zucchini (unheard of!) AND he wanted seconds. Luckily this recipe made such a big helping there was plenty for him to have as much as he could! I added some heat to mine in the form of chilli sauce but hubby thought the heat and seasonings were perfect as is! Thanks for the fantastic recipe Kumquat, I will be using this one often! Made for the Caribbean leg of ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Very filling. Says it serves 4- but I easily got 6 servings. My kids LOVED it. While I was fixing it, some of their friends who came to the front door wondered what the wonderful smell was. Great one dish meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      A nice vegetarian dinner here. I left out the chili pepper because the kids won't eat spicy stuff. I used only 1 zuch., but a bit more corn and a bit more beans (cannelini). I loved how this was a one pot meal that used brown rice since most use white. The curry powder I used was obviously too mild because most of the flavor was gone. But we sprinkled this with Paul Prudhomme's Salt free seasoning and it was a very nice cheap and filling dinner. Thanks my friend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      An excellent recipe that its certainly 5 star!!! I used cannellini beans because its the only ones that we have here in Greece that I boiled them myself. I used only red bell pepper and I added some Cajun Hot Pepper Sauce instead of jalapeno, were my only changes. Its going to be a regular in my house, its healthy and so tasty!!! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I agree with the previous reviews :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Delicious dish!!! I used the cannellini beans because I am familiar with them had no access to the flageolet (this will now be a new bean for me to investigate!!!) The array of colors of the veggie combo is stunning and the aroma while its cooking is exotically enticing!! A wonderful array of ingredients...most of my favorite types of things!!! The curry accent was just perfect with the suggested amounts...and I loved the touch of sweet corn (something I do not often think to use) - Its taste and texture were a fabulous addition. This will be a new regular for our veggie very special main courses. Hearty, filling and fantastic tasting...Thanks Kumquat the Cat's Friend!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Fabulous vegetarian comfort food - I had to use kidney beans so mine took on a bit of a mexican flair !! It was easy to prepare and delicious - made for ZWT3 - many thanks to Kumquat the Cat's friend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      Delicious! Let me see.. we've made this every week since we first saw this recipe. We pretty much followed it to the letter but added some tofu at the same time as the onion etc. Mmmmm. Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Overall very good - didn't have any curry but added 3 cloves of garlic (1/2 recipe) which gave it a nice flavour. Very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Wonderful comfort food that came together without much effort. I loved the way the rice and tomotoes combined with the curry to create a lovely sauce for the dish. I replaced the canned corn with fresh cut from the cob which gave this dish a little crunch - a welcome addition for me. I a used one green and one yellow squash because it was what I had on hand, though it did add more colors to the final results. My only critcism - and it is very minor was the squash were a tad too soft, next time I might add them in a little bit after the pepper. Thanks Kumquat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Yum! This was not hard to make, and contained a good variety of flavours and textures. I didn't have any chillies, so I used a bit of Tabasco. I used 3 very ripe (home grown) tomatoes instead of canned ones and used cannelini beans as I can't get flageolets easily. I initially thought that 2 tsp of curry powder might be too much, but it was just right. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      Delicious! Very easy and simple, and yet filling, tasty and good for you. Thanks for sharing Kumquat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bajan Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (384 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.9
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    17%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 315.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 10.3 g
    41%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites