8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! I'm not handy with anything fried, but these came out rather well! I substituted sour cream in place of the mayo, and added a chopped up chipotle in adobo for added heat and some lime juice as well for a citrus tang. The whole family enjoyed! Thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Besony July 11, 2009

Super easy and excellent!! We only made the fish part of this recipe and served it with Missy Wrights Cabbage Salsa Cabbage Salsa , sour cream and flour tortillas. I think this recipe would work well for fish and chips as well. Thank you for sharing this keeper!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy May 25, 2014

Very good... I just started to teach my self how to cook, and this happened to be my 3rd recipe i tried. I messed some of it up, but it still came out pretty tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernGoods August 23, 2012

This was great! I followed the recommendation of one of the previous reviewers and used lime juice to thin the mayo. Additionally, I added a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce and blended it smooth. It was spicy and very tasty! I had left overs and wrapped it all up in a flour tortilla and sent it to work with my VSO.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TlLuna September 06, 2007

I Loved it is sooo simple and easy to do ! this was my 1st time making breaded fish. The taste was soo satisfying ! I recommend eating it with cabbage, lime, and sour cream. soooo delicious !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanette1 August 29, 2007

This recipe is great! I am always afraid to spend so much time frying fish only to have the batter fall off. This was perfect. I use Samuel Adams Black Lager, which is excellent to drink also. :-) We enjoyed the fried tilapi using this recipe and will do it again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wannateach July 16, 2006

Yum! Very good; I made a few adjustments because-let's be honest-that's how we all cook. I used about 2 tablespoons of mayo for the dressing, and instead of using water I used lime juice...and four garlic cloves. So, although nothing like the original, I loved it--ate the cabbage salad by itself the next day for lunch! Good recipe to be sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrennaBee January 29, 2006

i loved the batter for the fish. i am telling you this is absolutely the best beer batter i have ever had. and my whole family loved it!!! we decided that we will use this batter from now on! it stays crispy and it is very light too. i used new castle brown ale. i didn't like the salsa with the fish though. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu October 18, 2005
Baja Fried Fish Tacos, a San Diego Surfers Delight!