Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Chipotle Fish Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Chipotle Fish Tacos

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2012

      I don't even know where to begin with the reasons that I LOVED these tacos! I've never tried the fried stuff from the taco trucks and I don't think I would want to now after I had these. To prepare them, I took the advice of other reviewers and marinated the fish for about 3 hours and I think I could have just eaten the fish by itself because the Lawry's marinade was fantastic. I had no cod on hand so I used flounder since it seems to be a milder fish and I had no problems. I cut the filets in half lengthwise before I put them in the marinade, thinking that each taco would have a half on it. I opted to broil it on a foil lined cookie sheet for about 5 minutes per side and totally forgot about shrinkage. The filets were tiny so we used 1 whole filet per taco. I served it with shredded cabbage (the crunch it added was amazing and I think I will even be using it on regular tacos now), black beans, homemade Spanish rice, shredded Mexican blend cheese and the chipotle sauce. For the sauce, I used Hellman's canola oil mayo (to cut down on fat and cholesterol) and nonfat Greek yogurt instead of sour cream (to save some fat and add protein). The sauce tasted EXACTLY like the Taco Bell Chipotle Sauce that we have been buying from the grocery store for years and it cost a lot less and has to have a better nutritional value. After we used the sauce we made for dinner, I whipped up a double batch to keep in the fridge to use on sandwiches and other things. Sorry about the long winded review, but this is honestly one of my new favorite foods. I see myself making these tacos at least once every week because everyone loved them, even though they all swear that they hate fish. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Can I give this 100 Stars??? OMG this is sooo good! We love the sauce, the marinade - everything. I do change this up a bit though. We prefer broccoli slaw - hubby doesn't like cabbage. Also, I sometimes use the large flour tortillas and fry them into bowls, using a slotted metal spoon to keep them indented. I use veggie oil and it takes only seconds to create. Thanks for this recipe that I make over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      LOVED these! Also made a cilantro sauce to put on them. SOOOO good!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This is a really tasty dish that the kids, my wife and I loved. I deviated from it quite a bit but instead of creating a new recipe, thought I'd add my notes here. I marinated the cod overnight and it wasn't overpowering so no need to worry about that. I cooked the fish on my Foreman grill and it turned out great and it was quick quick quick (make certain to spray some Pam on the Foreman first!!!) I made some Zatarain's New Orleans Style Yellow rice and some corn and mixed them together with the fish. Then I put the fish/corn/rice mixture into big tortillas and made burritos. It was awesome. Bon Appetit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      Hear this! The recommended Lawry's marinade is the secret to success with this recipe. I used two frozen tilapia loins and put them in the fridge with the marinade a day ahead. Mixed up some sauce with light Miracle Whip/FF greek yogurt/chipotle salsa (a jar from the store) and a salsa mixture of diced tomato/avocado/green onion/jalapeno pepper/salt/lime juice. I pulled the fish out of the marinade and dredged in flour/corn meal mixture before frying in a bit of canola oil (5 min per side). After draining on paper towel, I used a fork to shred into chunks, and then placed on microwave warmed corn/flour blend tortillas, topped with shredded cabbage and the sauce and salsa. My DH said they were the best fist tacos ever, and he compares everything to Wahoo's from SoCal. Thanks for the recipe laralie41!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      This was fabulous. Just a perfect blend of flavors. The whole family went nuts over this.<br/><br/>I have heard people rave about fish tacos, but I had never had them. Most recipes have cilantro which we don't like. So I tried this recipe. We used Swai for the fish and we made cole slaw instead of just cabbage. I sliced up some avocado to put in it too. Some tartar sauce instead of the white sauce. So, it was a little different than the basic recipe. But this recipe goes into the recipe box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      Taco truck tacos are some of the best in the world! Also, I make fish tacos a lot and here is how. I cut the fish in bite size pieces, mix flour, fine cornmeal, cornstarch and salt and pepper, coat them, fry them, drain them and serve them. If your oil is hot enough your fish will not come out oily. I take the bite size pieces and put them in a tortilla that has been steamed 10 seconds per tortilla in the tortilla warmer or fry 5 or 6 at a time in olive oil flipping and rotating them until they are done. With the fish snug in the tortilla, I top it with mayo sauce, and fresh pico de gallo. For the sauce I use Hellmann's mayonnaise, and add chile powder, salt, cumin and oregano plus some sweet pickle relish (mix thoroughly), ( comes out like spicy tartar sauce) Add a little ketchup if you like a little tang. It comes out a little like a spicy Thousand Island dressing. Pico de gallo: Chop seeded tomatoes, green part of spring onions, one bunch of cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Hands down, the very best recipe for fish tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      This was so good and so easy! Made as directed, skipping the cabbage, but served with tossed salad. Dinner in a jiffy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

    • on May 01, 2009

      The three of us liked this a lot and will definitely serve again. I could not find the Lawry product so bought one envelope of a Durkee chipotle marinade and added 1 teaspoon of lime juice to the marinade. I broiled the fish about 4 minutes per side. DS thought we should have added tomato and cheese, and next time will do so. I see that the NF do not include the marinade nor tortillas so wonder what the fat and sodium levels are? Made for Everyday is a Holiday. Thanks Lauralie41 for posting a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      We absolutely loved these fish tacos. I appreciated the fact that they weren't deep-fried and full of fat! The Lawry's marinade is very tasty and flavors the fish well. I LOVED the sauce combination of flavors, using just 2 T. of the marinade. We used flour tortillas and pacakaged coleslaw mix. This is an easy, fast, healthy and delicious meal...on the table in minutes. I broiled my fish approx. 4 min. per side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This was a simple, good tasting variation of fish tacos. Like others, I could not get Lawry's marinade, and used another brand instead. I used both Talapia and cod and much preferred the cod in this dish. I also topped with lite cheddar shreds, and some finely chopped tomato. Served with "Simple Homemade Refried Beans"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This was very good! I used flour tortillas instead of corn and it was delcious! I will definitely keep this recipe in the circulation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      I have always wanted to order these out, but always been a little worried that I wouldn't like them once I did. Now I don't have to worry about that, I can just fix these at home. Prep is so simple and I need recipes like this with so much other stuff taking up time. LOL I need to look harder for the right marinade, but just did my own thing with some Penzey's stuff. Shhhh, don't tell Lawry's! Thanks for an asset to the recipe box, Lauralie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I could not find the Lawry marinade at my grocery store, so I skipped it. Instead, I tossed the fish with olive oil and taco seasoning. I also added radishes with my cabbage. The recipe didn't say anything about frying the tortillas in oil which I did because I don't like corn tortillas straight from the bag. I friend them in a tiny bit of oil for about 15 seconds per side. These little tacos were fantastic! Will definately make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      This was surprisingly easy and very good. I used a large grill pan to grill the fish. Don't miss this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Excellent meal! I made it as is, except that I marinated the cod about 2 hours and used whole wheat flour tortillas. The flavor of the sauce is to die for. I wavered on the mayo because I'm a not fan of it but when with "try the recipe as is - then tweak" and am very glad that I didn't mess with it. This was and easy and very tasty meal. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      This was a fun dish! I used the Lawry's for the marinade and dressing. I went for the minimum of 30 minutes to marinade the fish. The fish was not terribly flavorful to me so I think I'd marinate longer in the future. I used a pre-shredded bag of coleslaw to save effort, heated the tortillas in the toaster and skipped the sour cream in the dressing. Despite my shortcuts it was delicioso! My husband said these fish tacos were much better than those from our local Mexican eatery. I'll definitely do these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This was quick, easy and very delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Chipotle Fish Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.0
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    25%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 56.2 mg
    18%
    Sodium 164.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Lawry baja chipotle marinade

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes