Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Average Rating:

    240 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 240

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2007

      This was fantastic - especially the "topping", which I will definitely make again as a sort of salsa with chips. I didn't have enough tomtatoes so I added a bit of left-over arrabiata sauce. I also only had strong yellow onions so I fried them off a bit first. Other than that, stuck to the recipe. Can't wait to have it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      A really wonderful, fresh-tasting recipe! I absolutely love this one. I often make this on weekends and send the leftovers with my vegetarian daughter to school for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      We made it without the rice and it has now become a weekly must have. It's absolutely delicious, easy to make and the ingredients are inexpensive. PLUS: IT'S GOOD FOR YOU! My husband and I adore this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      Take aways are such a tempting option on a busy day and yesterday, it being just one of those days, I turned to your recipe instead. Using some microwaved rice for extra speed, the result was a wonderful, visually appealing and very tasty meal in a flash and with the benefit of it being much healthier than any take away that I know of. Who could ask for more Many thanks, Pippa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      This is a great fast and healthy dish. WARNING: wear gloves when cutting jalapeno. I made the mistake of cutting one without gloves and my hands burned all night! But the dinner was good :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      WOW! The kids didn't look thrilled to try this one but when they tasted it....They were hooked! Perfect combo of ingredients & healthy too! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      INCREDIBLE! I just mixed it all together. Used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles and was out of jalapenos so just used extra, extra hot sauce (Cholupa). The lime and cilantro and all the fresh flavors makes this just wonderful and heats up perfect for leftovers. Will put this into regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Very good. Light and healthy. I too mixed the leftovers together. I used the leftovers as burrito filling for easy lunches. I think I may have liked it even more in the burritos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      I really enjoyed this recipe I made as written except I used lemon in place of lime juice as that was all I had. Very simple and tasty. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      After we had this for dinner, I threw it all in a container (with rice) and I heated it up for leftovers...Delicious both ways! I am definately sending this to friends! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      This is wonderful! I usually make a dip out of these ingredients (except there's no rice), but this rice dish is so good! We had this with Coke-Brined Grilled Chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      very good and i will definitely make again. i didn't use tomatoes because i am not a fan, but still was wonderful. very light and summery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Really good. I ate it without rice- just slightly chilled. Also, I only used one tomato which was plenty for our tastes. Anyway, perfect light summer dinner, or even might be good to take for a bbq or lunch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I like all the flavors combined in this recipe. My boyfreind and I ended up using it as a dip for chips, as I used less rice than the recipe called for. Probably wouldn't be satisfying enough as a main dish though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      This is just like the salad at Ivarronne Brothers. I don't like the spice so I left out the jalapeño and hot sauce. But this still came out great with very little prep time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Okay, I make new recipes from 'zaar constantly. Rarely do I repeat one on a regular basis, even if I love it, because I like to try new things constantly. Each time I make a recipe, I ask Alan, my husband, how many stars he would give it. He has never given five stars (and we're often in agreement on this, although I often add points for ease of the recipe, etc. whereas he wouldn't do that), mainly because he considers that to be a "perfect" recipe, and one that he could and would eat over and over again. Finally...we've got a five star recipe with this one! I was a bit skeptical when I realized we'd be putting a cold "salad" on hot rice, but I had no cause for worry...this was fantastic! I prefer it with extra hot sauce, but Alan loved his as is. The leftovers heated up great also, which is a huge plus for me. I did use a can of diced tomatoes, but only because I didn't have any fresh on hand. I LOVE that this is healthy, easy to make, tasted delicious, can be a main course with grilled chicken or a side dish as is, has great presentation, and makes great leftovers for lunch or another dinner. We actually piled some of the leftovers in baked potatoes with salsa...yum! Barb, you're simply the best!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...it will become the first one ever to be made weekly at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      This is fantastic. I made this and served with low-carb tortillas, so they came out very much like vegetarian burritos at the expensive burrito places. I used fat-free shredded cheddar cheese, so I could eat more of it. I'm single, so I got to save the rice and the mix separately, and eat for a week off of this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      This is an awesome summer recipe -- I loved that I didn't have to turn the oven on, yet wound up with a flavorful, satisfying meal. I didn't have any black beans, so I used pintos instead; otherwise I followed this recipe closely. I'll be making this again soon, and I can't even think of any modifications I would make. Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Oh...so good. The local market used to have something like this at the deli w/o the rice and they discontinued it. I'm so glad that I found this! I can't wait to make it all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This is OUTSTANDING! I could not stop eating it!!! I will be making this a lot this summer! So good and so healthy!!! Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites