240 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Because of the heatwave this week, I was looking for something to eat that didn't involve cooking, and used up the leftovers from my taco bar last night. This was the perfect recipe; not only refreshing, but ridiculously simple, tasty and healthy. The only modifications I made were to use white rice instead of brown and white onion instead of red, since that was all I had on hand. Brown rice is definitely more compatible with this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia July 07, 2010

This was excellent, even though I didn't realize that I was out of cilantro until it was too late. Used a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles (instead of fresh tomatoes), so didn't need the jalapeno. Cooked the rice in chicken broth to give it a richer flavor, as I normally do. Served with chicken enchiladas. I'll be making this dish again soon - I'm sure the fresh cilantro will make it even more delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug June 30, 2010

Excellent! Made the rice and it added nice texture, but didn't really need it. It was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceashel June 19, 2010

This was DELICIOUS! I dedicated a blog post to this recipe...check it out of you'd like: http://homespunsprout.blogspot.com/2010/06/chili-rellenos.html Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L-Burden June 17, 2010

Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Zan June 15, 2010

Great for a barbecue or picnic. Definitely let things sit for a couple of hours or overnight for the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ABQ Kat June 11, 2010

by itself it is a tasty dish although a little more healthy tasting than I like- wanted some cheese with it. It still gets 5 stars though because it is still good and its healthy and it tastes sooooo yummy in an omelet with just a little bit of sausage and some cheese on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisandabby.com May 22, 2010

YUMMY! It sounds so simple (and it is!) but it's really good! The fresh lime juice really made it complete, so I don't suggest skipping it. I played with the measurements, as I didn't want so much salad, so I cut everything in about half, and only put 1c of brown rice, to make it a bit lighter. I"ll be making this for my next picnic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dobermanmom May 10, 2010

As if the first 159 reviews weren't some indication, this is a really great recipe. While it's good as-is, it's also a great starting point for lots of yummy additions - including shredded chicken breast. YUM! This will definitely be part of my menus this summer for deck parties! BTW, it's 7 WW pts/serving and works with the "Simply Filling Technique."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 May 05, 2010

This is GREAT! I mixed in cold cooked rice and we eat it like a cold grain salad. I also added Southwest Seasoning and a little bit of cooked, diced chicken. We love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z Little Mama April 21, 2010
Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice