Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Average Rating:

    237 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 237

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2008

      Great recipe Barb! At first, I thought it had a little too much lime, but after sitting overnight, the flavor mellowed. I did cut the rice down to 4c, but kept everything else the same. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe. I used defrosted frozen corn, Rotel tomatoes instead of the jalapenos, added the 1 teaspoon of cumin as some others had suggested, and left out the hot sauce (personal preference). I served this cold over hot brown rice, after having marinated it in the fridge for several hours before serving. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      WOW -- just awesome! I'm going to try it over pasta next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I love this recipe and make it all the time. I added a can of mild chilies instead of the jalapeno and sometimes use green onions. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      We had this for supper the other night along with some Chicken Tikka. It went together nicely and we really liked this! I thought the blend of flavors were great together, and wouldn't change anything! I would like to caution you though. If you don't like real hot, take out the seeds AND the white membrane in the jalapeno pepper. I didn't and it was a little hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

    • on March 20, 2008

      With all these fantastic reviews I was expecting a heard of unicorns and dancing leprechauns to pop out of the pot after I was done cooking. This was not the case. Yes this was a good dish, but not as fantastic as I would have hoped. I would say..a decent dish. If I ever do make this again I will have to think of something extra to make this a little bit more...magical.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Delicious! It had great flavor. I even forgot I was eating brown rice. It didn't have the extra nutty taste that you usually taste with brown rice. Served this with mexi-baked chickent (#103966) Thanks for another great recipe Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      This dish is great! I made it for a work potluck; doubled the recipe, and added 2 tsp of cumin as suggested by others. I also used two cans of diced tomatoes. I ended up just mixing all the rice and topping together and serving at room temp - tasted delicious. It is so yummy and easy. I can't wait to make this all summer long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This dish is fabulous. My sweetie said it's the best dish I've made yet. I reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and used a milder pepper. Diced tomatoes, frozen corn and chicken with cumin, all suggested by other reviewers, made it perfect. Delicious, healthy and so easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      This recipe was good. We love black beans so this was a good recipe for us to try. I will make this often this summer. Thank you for posting....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      For us this was a good base recipe that can be enhanced with addtl ingrediants to suit personal preference. Also noticed it was much better on second day so recommend that it be made day before so the flavors can settle. We also added about 1/4 cup sala; small can diced green chiles; and 2 tblsp Mt. Olive diced jalapeno peppers. In our opinion, it needed a little extra boost. Can be served warm or cold but we preferred a little warm. Will make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

    • on January 13, 2008

      Excellent dish Barb!! We were invited out last minute to a friends house who was serving enchilladas. My FIL was visiting and is Vegan so I knew I needed to bring a dish that would work well for him also. This one fit the bill perfectly and tasted so....good! The tomatoes at the store were terrible so I bought canned, diced tomatoes w/green chilis and drained it well. Everything else was as is, except I used 1/2 of a jalapeno pepper and I mixed everything together rather than just topping the rice. We ate it at room temperature but think it would be great hot or cold too. This recipe goes in the keeper file! Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Made this as part of a healthy, meatless choice and was quite tasty, fresh, and flavorful. Had it on day 2 and was just as good cold, didn't want to warm it up as it had the big chunks of tomato in it. It was quite filling and quick and will definetely make it again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This is fabulous! Thank you for the recipe. It was very easy and fast to make (once the rice is cooked), and is wonderful alone, as a main dish, and as burrito filling. It is also wonderful made with some diced red, green and yellow bell peppers instead of part of the tomatoes. I've also made it with cumin added, which is good, and with cooked millet instead of rice, which is a nice change. Thanks for posting it. We'll be having this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      I just made this and it was great! I also used canned tomatoes with chilies since I didn't have fresh. I actually made this to use in enchiladas. Just put some rice and bean mixture in a tortilla, add a sprinkle of cheddar cheese, roll up & place in pan, and then top with some enchilada sauce. Bake until hot (I baked at 350 for about 20 minutes). These were awesome! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This was fantastic - especially the "topping", which I will definitely make again as a sort of salsa with chips. I didn't have enough tomtatoes so I added a bit of left-over arrabiata sauce. I also only had strong yellow onions so I fried them off a bit first. Other than that, stuck to the recipe. Can't wait to have it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      A really wonderful, fresh-tasting recipe! I absolutely love this one. I often make this on weekends and send the leftovers with my vegetarian daughter to school for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      We made it without the rice and it has now become a weekly must have. It's absolutely delicious, easy to make and the ingredients are inexpensive. PLUS: IT'S GOOD FOR YOU! My husband and I adore this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites