Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Average Rating:

    231 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 231

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2009

    • on October 19, 2009

      This was pretty dam* good! I did add extra spices and next time I think I will add avacado and maybe some mango! It went really well on top of the enchiladas I made. My son who is a hater of veggies LOVED it! I will be making this again and again. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      This is a simple and amazing (simply amazing) dish. I used salsa instead of fresh tomatoes and onion since the salsa has both in it anyways. Added a small pinch of cumin. I think would be great hot or cold. My family ate it hot since no one could wait for it to cool before it was devoured. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Allow me to add another stellar review. This was simple healthy and tasty. I like heat so I added chilli flakes to the mixture. Mmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      The Baja black bean mixture was zesty & delicious!!! Reading some of the other reviews, I added a bit of cumin...and immediately regretted it:( I thought it overwhelmed the wonderful mesh of flavors from the fresh tomatoes, jalapeno, & cilantro. Oh, well...my mistake. Will certainly be making this again and again next summer:) How "cool" is it that you don't need to turn on the oven or stove...Thank you Bara!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This was a big hit! I had to change it up a bit because of what I had on hand. I used more cilantro (this really makes the dish, IMO, canned tomatoes with diced chiles, and powdered cumin and red pepper since I didn't have jalapeno or hot sauce. Even the teens ate it up! Thanks for a cheap and satisfying meal solution!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Very fresh tasting and versatile. I have eaten this alone, with diced chicken, and with salmon as well and loved each one. Very healthy, versatile and great tasting; can't beat that combination! I do suggest following the recipe and resisting the urge to use canned tomatoes, the flavor combination is amazing. Thanks for posting Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      One of our family favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Very fresh tasting. It was served room temperature at a potluck. Very easy dish to prepare ahead! Used fresh corn and instead of hot sauce and jalapeno, a chopped chipotle pepper (next time will add 2). Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Great flavors and freshness! We loved this dish but couldn't decide if it would be better served hot or cold. I didn't care for the raw onion, but hubby really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Sorry, folks. I was not impressed with this dish. It looked like it had all the right ingredients for a great vegan meal, but it just fell short on taste in my book. I plan to try it as a left-over side salad and I'll add some avocado to see if it improves with age. I really don't know what it would take to jazz this up, as it does already have the heat of peppers. Maybe a salsa and sour cream topping would help?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I'm in love with this salad! It's zesty and healthy and filling. The addition of brown rice is brilliant, although I admit that I only used 2 C. cooked brown rice (cooled) and mixed it all together. 6/12/09 My family is requesting that I make this salad again, which I consider the highest praise for a recipe. So I uploaded another photo. Still just using 2 cups cooked brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      This was outstanding! I loved how fresh and cool it was. I served it with Santa Fe (Fay) Chicken. I will definitely make this again in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      This is DELICIOUS!!!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Outstanding! A healthy, summer-long staple I'll keep on hand. I've finally mastered brown rice in the basic rice cooker: 2.25C broth:1C brown rice, plus a dash of soy sauce. I used canned green chiles, canned tomato & Vidalia onion, which is now in season. I'll use 1.5t cumin next time. I left out the corn cuz my frozen kernals were dead. Good thing I tasted them before adding. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Yum. Great fresh flavor. I made the "salsa" ahead of time and put it in the refrigerator for 2 hours, it really helped the flavors to meld together. I would also eat this just as a salsa for chips. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Yummm. I used 4 cups of cooked rice, and that worked out perfectly...omitted the red onion because I didn't have it, and used a can of diced tomatoes with chilis instead of the fresh tomatoes/jalapeno pepper. I'll definitely make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Yummy! Will definitely be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Wow! I will definitely make this again. The husband loved it and coworkers were eyeballing it the next day at lunch. Everyone wanted the recipe. It's a healthy and filling side dish you won't regret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      What a surprise! This turned out to be much better than I expected. It was super easy and sooo refreshing! Even my 11 yr. old son. I didn't mix the tomatoes and jalapeno in since I knew he wouldn't like those. I topped mine with them though. I also reduced the cilantro a lot because I'm not too keen on it. I will be making this one again! Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites