Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Average Rating:

    239 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 239

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      We have been trying to eat less meat and this recipe was perfect! I also added more hot sauce and less tomato based on personal preference. We also enjoyed the leftovers on tortilla chips. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Love it! I added a little bit of diced avocado and doubled the hot sauce. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      What can I add to the volumns of positive reviews, except to echo a thank you for sharing this wonderful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      So good! I could just eat the tomato bean and corn mix with chips and be happy! I added garlic and a little chili powder to give it a bit more flavor and omitted the olive oil, but kept everything else the same. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      We loved this! It was so tasty. I would make a bowl of this and mix it with Cabbage Salsa Cabbage Salsa ---so good! Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      When I first tasted this I thought it needed a little boost so I added a tsp of whole cumin seed and it was delicious. I used a pint of grape tomatoes for the tomatoes. They looked really pretty halved and they always are very flavorful. To make it extra quick I used minute rice brown rice which was already cooked in the little single serving packages. I dropped the rice in boiling water to make it taste unpackaged and then cooled it in cold water. It probably took a total of three minutes for the rice. Then, I added cooked shrimp, an avocado, and topped it with sour cream which turned this into a delicious cold main dish (for lunch) that we enjoyed immensely. It was so good I'm thinking about putting this on our restaurant menu. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This became one of my favorite recipes the first time I made it. I make it constantly. So healthy and flavorful - I'm never tempted to add cheese or sour cream. I stick to the recipe as written, adding only a clove of minced garlic (because I just love it), and am generous with the hot sauce and lime juice to balance out the onion flavor. I find the brown rice is quite tasty if I add a little butter and garlic powder (in addition to generously salting the water). Awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Everything turned out terrific except for the brown rice I made - it turned into a sticky brown rice. I'll try the brown rice again with maybe less water, or I'll try the recipe with white rice. You can even warm up the bean/corn mixture in the oven before adding it to the rice. That's what I did, and it was yummy! I used a yellow onion instead of a red, and I added salsa at the end instead of usuing fresh tomato. I didn't use cilantro because my boyfriend doesn't like it. Still turned out great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

    • on October 19, 2009

      This was pretty dam* good! I did add extra spices and next time I think I will add avacado and maybe some mango! It went really well on top of the enchiladas I made. My son who is a hater of veggies LOVED it! I will be making this again and again. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      This is a simple and amazing (simply amazing) dish. I used salsa instead of fresh tomatoes and onion since the salsa has both in it anyways. Added a small pinch of cumin. I think would be great hot or cold. My family ate it hot since no one could wait for it to cool before it was devoured. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Allow me to add another stellar review. This was simple healthy and tasty. I like heat so I added chilli flakes to the mixture. Mmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      The Baja black bean mixture was zesty & delicious!!! Reading some of the other reviews, I added a bit of cumin...and immediately regretted it:( I thought it overwhelmed the wonderful mesh of flavors from the fresh tomatoes, jalapeno, & cilantro. Oh, well...my mistake. Will certainly be making this again and again next summer:) How "cool" is it that you don't need to turn on the oven or stove...Thank you Bara!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This was a big hit! I had to change it up a bit because of what I had on hand. I used more cilantro (this really makes the dish, IMO, canned tomatoes with diced chiles, and powdered cumin and red pepper since I didn't have jalapeno or hot sauce. Even the teens ate it up! Thanks for a cheap and satisfying meal solution!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Very fresh tasting and versatile. I have eaten this alone, with diced chicken, and with salmon as well and loved each one. Very healthy, versatile and great tasting; can't beat that combination! I do suggest following the recipe and resisting the urge to use canned tomatoes, the flavor combination is amazing. Thanks for posting Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      One of our family favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Very fresh tasting. It was served room temperature at a potluck. Very easy dish to prepare ahead! Used fresh corn and instead of hot sauce and jalapeno, a chopped chipotle pepper (next time will add 2). Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Great flavors and freshness! We loved this dish but couldn't decide if it would be better served hot or cold. I didn't care for the raw onion, but hubby really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Sorry, folks. I was not impressed with this dish. It looked like it had all the right ingredients for a great vegan meal, but it just fell short on taste in my book. I plan to try it as a left-over side salad and I'll add some avocado to see if it improves with age. I really don't know what it would take to jazz this up, as it does already have the heat of peppers. Maybe a salsa and sour cream topping would help?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I'm in love with this salad! It's zesty and healthy and filling. The addition of brown rice is brilliant, although I admit that I only used 2 C. cooked brown rice (cooled) and mixed it all together. 6/12/09 My family is requesting that I make this salad again, which I consider the highest praise for a recipe. So I uploaded another photo. Still just using 2 cups cooked brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites