Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Average Rating:

    239 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 239

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2010

      This was excellent, even though I didn't realize that I was out of cilantro until it was too late. Used a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles (instead of fresh tomatoes), so didn't need the jalapeno. Cooked the rice in chicken broth to give it a richer flavor, as I normally do. Served with chicken enchiladas. I'll be making this dish again soon - I'm sure the fresh cilantro will make it even more delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Excellent! Made the rice and it added nice texture, but didn't really need it. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      This was DELICIOUS! I dedicated a blog post to this recipe...check it out of you'd like: http://homespunsprout.blogspot.com/2010/06/chili-rellenos.html Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Great for a barbecue or picnic. Definitely let things sit for a couple of hours or overnight for the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      by itself it is a tasty dish although a little more healthy tasting than I like- wanted some cheese with it. It still gets 5 stars though because it is still good and its healthy and it tastes sooooo yummy in an omelet with just a little bit of sausage and some cheese on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      YUMMY! It sounds so simple (and it is!) but it's really good! The fresh lime juice really made it complete, so I don't suggest skipping it. I played with the measurements, as I didn't want so much salad, so I cut everything in about half, and only put 1c of brown rice, to make it a bit lighter. I"ll be making this for my next picnic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      As if the first 159 reviews weren't some indication, this is a really great recipe. While it's good as-is, it's also a great starting point for lots of yummy additions - including shredded chicken breast. YUM! This will definitely be part of my menus this summer for deck parties! BTW, it's 7 WW pts/serving and works with the "Simply Filling Technique."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This is GREAT! I mixed in cold cooked rice and we eat it like a cold grain salad. I also added Southwest Seasoning and a little bit of cooked, diced chicken. We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I love this! It's right up my alley with the cilantro, fresh lime, red onion, black beans & corn. My hubby thought it was just "ok." But, I'm the only person in the house who doesn't hate onion, so I put onions only in mine, I'm not sure how it tasted without them! I served this warm, over white rice (what I had). I used a can of Rotel as others suggested in lieu of fresh tomatoes & jalepenos. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

    • on March 09, 2010

      We loved this - but then I knew I would love it just by reading the recipe. I doubled it and served it to dinner guests along with Lime Chicken Soft Tacos Lime Chicken Soft Tacos. This would be good, as suggested, with chicken breast for another meal. It's gorgeous to look at, as well. I did use white rice, since a Vietnamese friend of mine gave me 50 lbs. of rice for Tet. I couldn't bring myself to buy more rice, but I'll bet it would be delicious with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Delicious! I added some chopped chicken breasts sauteed in oil, lemon juice, chilies, garlic and cumin. The flavor of the dish was so wonderful that the rice kind of took away the delicious strong flavors. I would recommend using less rice than you usually would while eating it, so you get the full effect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Wow that's good!! I used 1 can diced tomatoes with chilies for tomatoes. I also sauted the onions and a little garlic in the oil then added the beans, corn, tomatoes, salt, pepper, cilantro and lime juice. YUMMY I ate this as a main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This is the most amazing dish! I've made it so many times, eating it day after day, and I'm still not tired of it! It's great as a stand alone meal, awesome with chips, and makes a fantastic topping for a chicken salad! I've altered just a few minor things- added an extra can of beans, substituted 2 cans rotelle for tomatoes, and added 1/2 tsp of curry. YUM! thank you, thank you, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Love this recipe! The only change I made was to use only half the tomatoes. DH and I ate this over the brown rice the first time, then used the leftovers and some grilled tilapia for fish tacos. Yum! The black bean mixture is very versatile too. It would make an excellent topping for grilled chicken, or a great side for all kinds of tex-mex dishes. It is also really easy to adjust this to suit your taste. With the tacos I added more lime juice and some habanero sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Absolutely fantastic recipe! I followed recipe almost as written; only adding extra lime juice to mine. The flavors blended so well together. Such a fresh-tasting salad that is packed with flavor, and it is so easy to make. My whole family loved this dish and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Absolutely fabulous and fresh tasting! I left out the rice and tomatoes, but followed the rest exactly. It tasted so great and went so well with the Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas I served it with. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Sooooo good! My husband LOVED it, as did I! We will be makng it again. I served it with sauteed white fish and it was delicious. My only change for next time is probably half the amount of cilantro. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Excellent recipe! We've made this twice and it was lovely both times. First time, we followed the recipe, second time we took some liberties. We substituted the fresh tomatoes, red onion, and jalapeno for about 1.5 cups of pico de gallo and doubled the beans. (We needed to use up the fresh salsa.) Worked out perfectly! Thanks for this Barb G!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites