Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Average Rating:

    239 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 239

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2014

    • on June 24, 2014

      This only gets three stars in my book, because it was incredibly dry. I used white rice (preference) and could only imagine how much worse it would've been had I used brown. I felt it needed done more tomato juice or something. Do use all four tomatoes, possibly more and maybe some canned tomatoes for their juice. Other than that the flavor was nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      This was super! I didn't have any jalepenos or lime juice, so I used lemon juice instead and increased the number of splashes of hot sauce. I also added some diced zucchini and 1.5 tsp of ketchup. Served this with <a href="http://greek.food.com/recipe/mediterranean-chicken-breasts-351722">Mediterranean Chicken</a> Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      I made this last night to serve two. I used 1 can of spicy black beans (drained and lightly rinsed), 1 cup frozen corn and added other ingredients to taste. I used only about 1.5 cups of cooked (white) rice, and it was perfect. Served with roasted chicken thighs, roasted baby carrots and steamed broccoli. Thanks for such a refreshing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      Been trying slowly to change to meatless at least a few days a week. This is easy, reasonably priced, and fabulous flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Yummy! Added a teaspoon of cumin, stirred it all together and served as a side dish with salsa lime chicken. Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      I made this last night for dinner, I didn't have any lime juice so I used lemon and it was delicious. We will definitely be eating this again and again. Instead of rice I used quinoa very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      I loved this! I feel like it tastes best if you allow it to rest for a day so they flavors can soak in, much like a salsa. I added extra lime juice, cumin and ancho chile pepper. I could eat it all but I'm trying to restrain myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      I am just learning to enjoy bean dishes; I am trying to become healthier and to learn how to cook foods that I have never worked with much before.<br/>My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I had some leftovers that I heated the next day and added in 1 cup of tomato juice and some stir <br/>fried chopped green and yellow peppers...AWESOME! the added liquid and peppers gave it a more Cajun taste and helped a bit with the dryness...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      This was just excellent. I just threw it all together and we ate it as a salad. My husband and I thought it would be great with chopped avocado, too...(but I didn't have any today!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      Amazing flavors and healthy! I did use garlic salt instead of regular, 2 ears of fresh white corn instead of canned, and more fresh ground black pepper than the recipe called for because I love fresh ground black pepper. No hot sauce because my jalapeno was already really spicy, but I would have used hot sauce otherwise. I forgot the olive oil at first and it was great. Added the olive oil and it was still great. Served it over brown rice and red quinoa. I will be eating this a lot this summer! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

    • on May 29, 2013

      This is nice for hot summer days. It's very tasty. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      This came out fantastic. I used a can of chopped tomatoes, which I mostly drained before adding, and sweet yellow onion because I already had that on hand. My other substitution was quinoa for the rice, which worked beautifully. This recipe might seem like a no-brainer to the seasoned cook, but what Barb has figured out is the perfect amount of everything. So flavorful with no single flavor dominating or disappearing. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Family loved it! I didn't expect for a simple recipe to taste so good--but it does. It is almost Chipotle-like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      This recipe was quick and easy to throw together, and I almost always have the ingredients on hand. In my family, we try to make one dinner per week a vegetarian meal, and this dish fits the bill perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      Amazing! I just finished making and eating this dish and it was great! I enjoyed everything. I did add some avocado cause I was really craving it. <br/><br/>Thanks for the recipe it was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Wonderful! I used a can of tomatoes since I was out of fresh. I also used a 4 oz can diced chiles in place of the jalapeno and a one pound bag of frozen corn that I cooked on the stove. I omitted the olive oil because I didn't think it was needed. I also cooked the brown rice with some coconut oil so I figured that was a good healthy fat. I added a chopped avocado as I was serving it. Delicious and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      Amazing!!! Didn't change a thing. <br/>I have tried this a few times now and in my opinion defintley must use FRESH tomatoes, Changes taste otherwise. Obviously not so fresh.<br/>I have used quinoa instead of brown rice.....tastes equally amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Everyone at work loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites