Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Average Rating:

    237 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 237

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2007

      This was delicious! I didn't use all the rice though, as I like loads of veggies, but it was perfect otherwise. Thanks for posting..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      I agree with everyone else, this is GREAT. I thought it did not taste as good the next day, but as long as you serve it same day, it's AWESOME. I like to use 1/2 the brown rice and refrigerate the whole thing as a cold 'salad'. You can use it to top nachos, serve with huevos rancheros, or as a side for tacos, etc. SO GOOD and SO HEALTHY!!!!! wheeee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Not that we needed another review here, but... I found this via the "low-fat" theme so I thought it could also be pointed out that, between the beans and the rice, this meal provides a complete protein, so it's a good vegetarian meal that goes beyond just omitting meat. I also went with some cheddar (between rice and other mixture). I made the cold part a day ahead and kept it in the fridge, but added the tomatoes when I took it out of the fridge a while before serving. I also used chipotles rather than jalapeno because that was what I had. It all turned out wonderfully, refreshing, with interesting flavors and textures, and healthy, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      This is a really nice, refreshing dish. I put together everything and let it sit for an hour or two to let the flavours blend together; then I cooked the rice in the rice cooker and added the bean mixture just as the rice was done cooking to let it all heat up. The only thing I did differently was leave out the onions and jalapenos, and used lemon juice instead of lime. It was spicy on its own, but not so spicy when mixed with rice, so I'll probably up the spice next time. I'd love to use this with just about everything! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      very tasty, very fast, omitted the olive oil and didn't seem to miss it at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      I expected this to be good but am surprised at HOW good it is! I used canned tomatoes and about 4 slices of jarred jalapeno and Louisiana hot sauce. I served it hot as a meal with some bread, but can't wait to try it cold, also. Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      I've meant to review this for some time now. I have made this several times and doubled and tripled the recipe with great success. I've served it warm with rice and cold like a salad. My family prefers it cold and it is out of this world good. Thanks for a winning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      I really liked this recipe, it's the first time I ever made rice and beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      AWESOME!!! Not only is this very easy to make, it is very healthy, fresh tasting, and leftovers are great. This will be a staple in my house. Very much resteraunt quality food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      This was excellent! It was so simple (everything from a can!) but surprisingly complex. We ate this over brown rice, but it could be excellent as the base for a salsa or as the inside for a burrito or tacos. My girlfriend kept remarking how fresh it all tasted together, despite being from a can!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      This is a great, easy vegetarian main course. It was even better with some chopped avocado mixed in!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      Hmmmm...I was so excited to try this based on all of the rave reviews. But we thought it was pretty bland. I even had company over and they all agreed...BUT, it does make an exc. EASY tortilla soup. I just dumped the mixture into some chicken broth, added a clove of garlin and some cumin - simmered it for a bit and then - YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Oooh, this was so good. This would make a great summer salad! We had this with some carne asada... it was great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      This was so good, and so easy and so....economical. I didn't know what to make for dinner, didn't want to run to the store, thought I had nothing in the house, but voila, I found this, it fit the bill and tasted great to boot. I of course like others had to make some adjustments, based on what I had on hand. I too used the canned diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Thanks so much for this great "perfect protein" dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Made this last night as part of my "eat better for 2007" resolution. Easy enough to make. I didn't have red onions so I omitted it. Great without them but think it would be wonderful with them! You could even use this as a sort of salsa for chips. I brought some to work today for lunch. It is good cold too! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Super yummy! The added bonus is that the rice and beans together make the perfect protein! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This one is a keeper for sure!!! It was simple and refreshing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Great flavors. Made it with a mix of brown rices only, no corn or black beans, because someone else was bringing a bean salad to the event. I cut the tomatoes down to two fresh and added a can of Rotel. Wow, everyone went wild!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Great taste! Nice change from Spanish rice. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This was excellent!! I followed exactly & it was perfect. It was the main part of dinner, but night 1, served w/ sauteed chicken- didn't go together so well. Night 2, served w/ blackened ribeye steak- delicious together!! Will make this over and over! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites