Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Average Rating:

    240 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 240

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2003

      I am going to be making this all summer! I had it with some grilled chicken, and the next morning with scrambled eggs and some aged cheddar. It would also be great over a salad. The only change I made was to use canned tomatoes, and only because the ones at the store didn't look so nice. Thanks - very refreshing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      Barb, This was Oh So Goooood. it Tasted Somewhat like the Southwestern Rice dish at Taco Belle That I love so much.I won't buy fresh tomatoes at the store during the winter,so I drained a can of Diced tomatoes with green chilies and used that,so then I eliminated the Jalapeno,because the tomatoes are already HOT.I also cooked a couple of diced up chicken breasts with some cumin.I put the chicken on top after all else was assembled.There was a little left over after my husband got finished,(he had 2 big helpings)and he said "Don't throw that out I'll have some more later" I really think he too liked it.Ha Thanks for a GREAT recipe. Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I made this with a few additions, but I'm sure it's just as delicious made as listed. I added 2 fully cooked chicken breasts and 1/2 teaspoon cumin (for some heat). Instead of fresh tomatoes, I used 2 cans of diced w/ green chiles and omitted the jalapenos listed. I ate this several days for lunch at work heated in the micro and enjoyed it so much topped w/ a small scoop of lite sour cream. I will make this often! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      This is fantastic! I didn't realize at first that this is a cold topping over hot rice - in my haste I just assumed it was all hot. I hesitated, but absolutely love it. I mixed the leftovers together and will have a Mexican rice salad for lunch tomorrow. The changes I made were to use a drained can of petite diced tomatoes, 1 cup of frozen corn instead of the canned, and threw some chopped avocado on top. A new staple in our house, especially for summer. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      This is a great recipe that can be easily altered to what you have on hand. The first time I made it I had no black beans, and used garbanzos instead....great. Yesterday I added some diced nectarines and omitted the rice, and served it to guests as a salsa. They all raved. Thanks for the nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      WAY yummy! I could eat a whole lot of this. I omitted the oil and didn't miss it a bit. I had to use the Rotel option for the tomatoes and jalapenos, and I'm sure the fresh tomatoes would be a knock-out, but we were happy. I used about 7 packets of True Lime instead of the fresh juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      This was a great rice dish. I use one of the other reviewer's suggestion and added 1 teaspoon of cumin. Yummy flavor and very colorful. I served as a side dish with chicken quesadillas. Very good. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      We loved this. I made it as a side dish with chicken breasts, but it could easily be a meal on its own. Didn't use cilantro because we don't like it and cut back on the jalapenos cause we're wimps! This will be a summer standard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      5 stars for sure! We loved this! I can't wait to make it again, no more boring rice for me. It was such a nice clean taste that everyone really enjoyed. So nice and fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This was really, really good. I served it as a side to go with fajitas. At first, I thought it needed a little more kick...I think it just needed a little more salt. As leftovers, I mixed the rice in, added a little shredded cheese and a dab of sour cream....yum. Reminds me a lot of the veggie burrito bowl at Chipotle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      This is a great recipe!! I did things a little different and roasted my corn on the cob, tomatoes, japalenos, and garlic in a dry cast iron pan. I also didn't make the rice yet. This makes a great salsa with corn chips. I added some extra spices for our liking such as chili powder, smoked paprika, ground chipotle powder, and some red wine vinegar. I also added a few more jalapenos. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      Really enjoyed this one, Barb. My husband and I thought it had lively ethnic flavors. I followed your directions exactly and didn't see the need to make any changes. I had to use store-bought tomatoes which was ok but I can't wait to try this again when fresh summer tomatoes are in season. This was our Zaar lunch of the week. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      barb, this was great! i added a tsp of cumin in the dressing and the flavor was super. served this with a mexican casserole dish, quite tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      Another 5 star review. Thank you so much for posting this Barb Gertz. I recently decided to try a vegan diet and tonight I just couldn't decide what to have for dinner. I almost gave up and ate wrong. Then I stumbled upon food.com and this was the first recipe I found. I made it exactly as posted except I used canned tomatoes (winter) and doubled it. I am looking forward to the leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Very light and healthy. Next time I think I'll add some more spices or jalepeno's. It needs some more flavor. Would serve as a side dish/salsa (without the rice) instead of a main dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      This rice is delish! I didn't add the onions because the kids don't like them. I will make this again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      Easy, packed full of flavor, and a colorful side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2014

      Made this tonight using a fresh jalapeno, tomatoes and cilantro from the garden. So good. It's like all the yummy stuffing from our favorite burrito shop, but in a bowl. The whole family enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2014

      I made this for a summer potluck. Because it had to travel a bit, I served it cold, and all mixed together. There was a lot of food, and amid all the chaos, I think I only heard one compliment (a favorable one). I made this exactly as written. Even using Roma (small-medium) tomatoes, this yields a lot more than "6 servings" in my estimation. Half the dish disappeared at the potluck, so I took the rest home and ate it over several days. It's pretty nice, and fresh, and a bit on the simple side. I noted that the seasonings (lime juice, hot sauce, salt and pepper) are pretty minimal, and this dish just relies on the basic rice and vegetable flavors. This isn't anything extra-special, but it's pretty nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      I followed this recipe to a T and it came out great! I brought some into work to share as well and everyone there also loved it. It did need a little extra salt at the end imo and I'd like to double the lime juice and maybe add a little more onion next time. But this recipe was super easy and really good. Even though I think it's supposed to be eaten warm I've been eating it cold in this Vegas heat, healthy refreshing and filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.4
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes