241 Reviews

I am going to be making this all summer! I had it with some grilled chicken, and the next morning with scrambled eggs and some aged cheddar. It would also be great over a salad. The only change I made was to use canned tomatoes, and only because the ones at the store didn't look so nice. Thanks - very refreshing!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pippy March 16, 2003

Barb, This was Oh So Goooood. it Tasted Somewhat like the Southwestern Rice dish at Taco Belle That I love so much.I won't buy fresh tomatoes at the store during the winter,so I drained a can of Diced tomatoes with green chilies and used that,so then I eliminated the Jalapeno,because the tomatoes are already HOT.I also cooked a couple of diced up chicken breasts with some cumin.I put the chicken on top after all else was assembled.There was a little left over after my husband got finished,(he had 2 big helpings)and he said "Don't throw that out I'll have some more later" I really think he too liked it.Ha Thanks for a GREAT recipe. Darlene Summers

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers March 18, 2003

I made this with a few additions, but I'm sure it's just as delicious made as listed. I added 2 fully cooked chicken breasts and 1/2 teaspoon cumin (for some heat). Instead of fresh tomatoes, I used 2 cans of diced w/ green chiles and omitted the jalapenos listed. I ate this several days for lunch at work heated in the micro and enjoyed it so much topped w/ a small scoop of lite sour cream. I will make this often! Yum!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick September 04, 2010

This is fantastic! I didn't realize at first that this is a cold topping over hot rice - in my haste I just assumed it was all hot. I hesitated, but absolutely love it. I mixed the leftovers together and will have a Mexican rice salad for lunch tomorrow. The changes I made were to use a drained can of petite diced tomatoes, 1 cup of frozen corn instead of the canned, and threw some chopped avocado on top. A new staple in our house, especially for summer. Thanks Barb!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama November 12, 2003

This is a great recipe that can be easily altered to what you have on hand. The first time I made it I had no black beans, and used garbanzos instead....great. Yesterday I added some diced nectarines and omitted the rice, and served it to guests as a salsa. They all raved. Thanks for the nice recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evil Eva July 29, 2010

WAY yummy! I could eat a whole lot of this. I omitted the oil and didn't miss it a bit. I had to use the Rotel option for the tomatoes and jalapenos, and I'm sure the fresh tomatoes would be a knock-out, but we were happy. I used about 7 packets of True Lime instead of the fresh juice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawna E. June 04, 2011

This was a great rice dish. I use one of the other reviewer's suggestion and added 1 teaspoon of cumin. Yummy flavor and very colorful. I served as a side dish with chicken quesadillas. Very good. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cydney October 11, 2003

We loved this. I made it as a side dish with chicken breasts, but it could easily be a meal on its own. Didn't use cilantro because we don't like it and cut back on the jalapenos cause we're wimps! This will be a summer standard.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue May 18, 2003

5 stars for sure! We loved this! I can't wait to make it again, no more boring rice for me. It was such a nice clean taste that everyone really enjoyed. So nice and fresh.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets May 02, 2013

This was really, really good. I served it as a side to go with fajitas. At first, I thought it needed a little more kick...I think it just needed a little more salt. As leftovers, I mixed the rice in, added a little shredded cheese and a dab of sour cream....yum. Reminds me a lot of the veggie burrito bowl at Chipotle.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely September 12, 2010
Baja Black Beans, Corn and Rice