29 Reviews

I made this for a Christmas party - not one person could tell the difference between it and the real thing. Canadian wiskey works great also

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiet Man December 17, 2001

I was looking for some sort of a liquor recipe to make for a gift when I stumbled across this recipe. I really liked the fact that this recipe didn't include eggs! I made this this morning for some friends as a last minute gift. I made one batch with Jameson Irish Whiskey. When I found that the batch didn't fill up the bottle I bought for this (it only filled 2/3 of the bottle), I made a second batch. The 750ml bottle of whiskey was just enough for the two batches. After reading the other reviews, I decided to use only a half teaspoon of almond extract. My friends LOVED it and said that it was BETTER than Bailey's!!! Drat! Now I'm "stuck" with 2/3 of a bottle that I'll have to consume myself (wink). Thank you very much for posting this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm December 25, 2008

Yum! A small bottle of Baileys costs over $30 here, so there's no way I would purchase it! I only made a half recipe by sneaking off with 7 oz of DH's precious scotch whiskey - and boy, was it worth the risk! LOL... This is very much like the real thing. So much so that I'm sipping a little shot of it right now as I write this review! Oh, and forgot to mention that it tastes much better after 24 hours of sitting time. Thanks for posting a great copy-cat recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori October 13, 2013

CORRECTION: This is from More Top Secret Recipes by Todd Wilbur: topsecretrecipes.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M.Baca September 30, 2013

Perfect! I made this for Irish coffees for my St. Patty's party. It was delicious! I didn't have any chocolate syrup, so I left it out and poured in a little brewed coffee for the instant. We're not big drinkers, so I only used 1 cup of Irish whiskey. That was plenty for us! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover March 14, 2011

I made this to use in Snowtini. I actually liked this better before adding the whiskey. I am an alcohol feather-weight so I only added 1 cup whiskey and still thought it was too strong. I think I will make this again with lo fat milk instead of cream, no whiskey or coffee and add some cinnamon for a yummy decadent coffee "creamer". Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta December 18, 2009

This was a fantastic recipe! Simple, better than the bottled as this tasted fresher. Used for Baileys Brownies Recipe. Recipe might have been a little heavy on the alcohol, but no ones complaining around here! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danikiser March 22, 2010

Can't believe that I haven't rated this yet. I sent this recipe to my daughter who loves but cannot afford Bailey's. That's probably why I didn't rate it, I didn't actually make it! She was on the phone the next day telling me how terrific and "cheap" it was to make. She actually has the recipe memorized, hmmmm! I did make it for the holidays this year and it is terrific. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka January 09, 2010

This is the best Irish Cream recipe I have tried. I used to make mine with eggs like some of the other recipes. I always was nervous about the raw eggs and I never felt that it kept that long. This recipe tastes better and I feel more secure about drinking it. I only used half of the almond extract and added a bit of coconut extract, It was great!! Thanks for posting this awesome recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vickiw December 25, 2009
Bailey's Original Irish Cream by Todd Wilbur