57 Reviews

I have made this recipe 3 times and getting ready to make the 4th time. First batch I went by the recipe. My hubby thought it was too thick for his taste (he just uses in coffee). So - instead of adding the eggs I left them out and only used 1/4 tsp almond extract. We love it!! Also - I used half/half the 2nd and 3rd time (all I had) and turned out great! Thanks

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janl88 December 02, 2010

Not Bailey's Irish Cream, but still a good recipe. I would have rated this recipe with 4 stars but since I altered the recipe slightly it could have been the change that I made that cause a slight difference. I am not a fan of eating totally raw eggs so I combine my cream and eggs in a double boiler and whisked them for about 10 minutes to get the eggs at least slightly cooked, plus I had to strain so that I would not have any cooked pieces of eggs. The color and consistency is true to Bailey's, thick and smooth. Overall this is better than most Irish Creams you can buy. I've been drinking Bailey's in my coffee for many years, and nothing I've had so far has the same exact taste. This is not cheap to make for 33 ounces, but well worth the $8-$10 I spent on purchasing most of the ingredients. I will make this again because it is good stuff.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B March 16, 2010

Just made for the 2nd time in as many weeks. So glad I found the recipe after 15 yrs! I used 1/2 & 1/2 left out the eggs and only 1/4tsp almond....makes coffee yummy on chilly winter weekends in MN. Thanks Tweeky :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kannEvore November 30, 2011

I have made this countless times...and its always been a hit.. I skip the eggs....and use half and half instead of cream. Eliminating the eggs allows for longer storage..I also substitute rum or bourbon for the whiskey. Scotch can work but NEVER gin...ewww..that batch was a disaster...This is an excellent gift idea for the holidays. Great for for fall coffee drinks.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dr Liam September 26, 2009

My roommate's and I are connoisseurs of Bailey's Irish Cream, so I decided to give this recipe a try for Wife Night. We all concluded that this was even better than the REAl Bailey's Irish Cream. We were a little sketched out by the raw eggs, but then we realized that the eggs give it that full, foamy texture. Thanks for the incredible recipe. This will be a weekly recipe made around our house!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GFCB March 20, 2009

This was good, but the almond extract was overpowering. Next time I'll use a lot less, perhaps 1/4tsp instead of 1tsp.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Mollmann May 08, 2010

Indeed, this recipe is sure to please. The recipe I use is a little different in that I use 1 3/4 whiskey, but 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the whipping cream, with no loss in flavor. (only the cost). Baileys @ about 1/5 the cost. Happy Holidays!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bogie1234 November 21, 2009

I wish that I could give this 6 or maybe even 7 stars. I make this just the way it says.... but instead of irish whiskey I use american whiskey (Segrams 7 to be precise) and it tastes just as good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephen Shafer April 14, 2008

I haven't had Bailey's in so long because of the expense, that I couldn't tell you if it tasted just like it or not, but I don't care. This was awesome. I took it in for my mother, aunt and sister-in-law and the only complaint they had was that I didn't make enough. Thanks so much for the great recipe. I don't have to crave Bailey's anymore.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea September 12, 2009

OMG! This is awesome! I'll never buy Bailey's again. I actually think I like this better!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 August 06, 2009
Bailey's Irish Cream Liqueur (Gift-Giving or for Yourself!)