14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are great cookies! I was quite surprised that they stayed together into nice round cookies. They do not spread at all and crinkle a bit around the edges. I received 2 dozen small cookies by rolling them into walnut sized balls. Very quick to put together. Because they don't spread you can place a good amount on the baking sheet. Made for your 2009 Week 8 Football Pool win!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom November 11, 2009

Dec 17, 2013: Well, I couldn't wait until morning (or for Christmas), I just had to make these... YUM!!! So at midnight I figured that I had the 4 simple ingredients right there in my kitchen, and I didn't feel like sleeping (hubby was already asleep), so I just went ahead and made them. These are so simple and quick. I didn't really think they would work, but after reading all the reviews I just had to try them. I did the same as another reviewer and gently pressed them with the tines of a fork in a cross-hatch pattern. Soooo pretty! I ate 4 (and hid 4). I'm assuming that the rest will be gone before I wake in the morning (hubby is leaving for work in a couple hours). I will definitely make these again for my Christmas cookie tray. *Note: Per my Drs. advice, I am trying to go gluten free, because they are still trying to figure out if I have Celiac Disease or Crohns (but I don't follow their advice... I'm horrible at it). This is a GREAT way to start kicking off my new, healthy lifestyle! Thank you for posting this recipe. I plan to give this recipe to my GF that has to eat gluten free, also. (she made some that were just awful). (Made for Football Pool week 15 win). Dec 18, 2013 UPDATE: I just made another batch of these cookies tonight (I knew last nights would not last long). However, I did switch it up a bit this time.... I used 3/4 cup JIF Creamy Peanut Butter, and 1/4 cup JIF Chocolate Hazelnut Spread (similar to Nutella, but better). I decreased the sugar just a bit because the Chocolate Hazelnut has a lot of sugar in it. YUM! They are as good as the ones last night. Now, for my Christmas platter, I can serve them both ways. Thanks again, dear. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 December 18, 2013

My daughter has been making these for years without the baking powder. Sometimes she uses brown sugar and sometimes white. She puts flaked salt on top of some and turbino sugar on others. They're great all ways. Might have to head to the kitchen to make some now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joan Osborne September 29, 2012

Great cookies! I made one batch of these per the directions other than I did do a criss-cross pattern with a fork. I've already had requests for more. Thanks SB6 for sharing. Congrats on your Football win!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 03, 2014

Excellent recipe for a quick afternoon tea or an emergency gluten free treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muminthekitchen April 06, 2013

Great peanut butter cookies, and a first for me, being gluten free. My DS's girlfriend is looking at GF recipes due to her DM's doctor's advice to eat that way and to be more healthy in her meals. I didn't think I would like the cookies, but wanted to try it and be gluten free, and it did change my mind for that type of recipe. Five stars for it being a gluten-free recipe that we all enjoyed. Made for your win in the football pool, congrats!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 September 14, 2012

Looking at the ingredients, I was pretty unsure that these would work. How could they with no flour? Well let me tell you - they work and they're great! I baked them for 15 minutes and, using a small cookie dough scoop, made 18 perfect cookies. Made for your Football Pool win! Thanks SB6. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif September 13, 2012

This recipe was recommended in the Best of 2010 tag game and I was anxious to try it out. I added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract and subbed brown sugar for half of the regular sugar. Sorry, I forgot to roll the cookies in the sugar before baking. After removing from the oven I lightly sprinkled each cookie with sugar. Would have used raw sugar but I was all out. As others did, I also made the familiar crisscross pattern with a fork. An oiled cookie scoop was helpful in handling and shaping the dough. My daughter and I enjoyed baking these and they are simple and quick which is a big plus when you're cooking with a toddler. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRL February 11, 2011

Amazing that these cookies can taste so good without the use of flour or milk in the recipe! We are experimenting with going gluten-free and dairy-free to try to resolve a few problems with my daughter's health. She had been feeling a bit deprived until she tasted these cookies yesterday. I love them, too! Great, easy peanut butter cookies. Thank you for posting! I did flatten my cookies with a fork before baking. Made for the Best of 2010 tag game, recommended by Starrynews. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 09, 2011

Really easy to make and delicious, they tasted more like candy than cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oceansdust July 02, 2010
Bailey's Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies