12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very rich. I could only eat a very small serving, but it was delicious. The instructions were easy to follow, except they don't say what to do with the first 1/2 cup cream (common sense said to put it in with the chocolate). The only change I made was to use chocolate mint flavored Bailey's which was yummy and I'm sure it'll be great with original Bailey's as well. Thanks for sharing such a treat.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle May 09, 2007

Wonderful! I made this for my husband and our best friend tonight. It is a fantastic recipe that is restaurant-quality once it's done right. But like anything worth doing well, this recipe takes some effort to put together. Also, if you're going to get a good product out of this recipe, you have to buy good ingredients (i.e. Ghirardelli baking chocolate, etc.), and that is not cheap. But if you're willing to invest the time, energy, and money into the dessert, the rewards are WELL worth that investment! Try it for yourself!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey Garrepy March 03, 2010

Get a grip JillyBean1026! It's a great recipe. There's only a few ingredients in a chocolate mousse, so I'm sure there's many similarities. Don't ever post a recipe for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.. you'll sure get someone like yourself saying you didn't give credit to the original person! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. My guests loved it! I agree it's rich, but worth the calories! It was a great ending to my Irish-based meal!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie R. March 26, 2008

Chef V this is awesome chocolate mousse. I like the combination of espresso, chocolate and of course the baileys. A lot of steps but I think worth the effort. Next time I make this I am going to double the baileys. I served this in coffee mugs and garnished with a chocolate heart.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee March 05, 2007

DELICIOUS!! Served this to my mom and sisters and they were in heaven!! Also I agree thatJillybean1026 was out of line, you actually did say you got this recipe from a friend, and that you also have had it for years and cant remember where your friend got it. That comment was very rude and uncalled for.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginaaaaaa March 31, 2007

I haven't made this but wanted to commen that Jillybean1026's rating is harsh. You clearly stated that you got the recipe from a friend. That doesn't mean you know where your friend got it. Lighten up, Jellybean1026 - this site is for fun.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA March 23, 2007

Wow , what a wonderful Mousse, it really is top restaurant quality when made well , it took me 2 attempts , but this is a really excellent dessert for valentine's or any other special occasion, thankyou for sharing this .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rtyrolia February 11, 2012

Vseward I am so glad that you like your friend posted this. I used this at my sons engagement party...it was worth the time and effort. It was just the best! The couple was so pleased and the bride to be and all her friends thought it was so romantic and it was. Like another reader I used only quality ingreds. and doubled the baileys (just because) I would rate this at a 10 if I could! Thanks again...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinda37363 February 06, 2012

I made this for our dessert last evening and we enjoyed it to the last drop! Decadent flavors and really easy to make. Will enjoy again sometime when I have company so they can enjoy it with me! Kimberely

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee June 24, 2008

This is a great mousse. Very nice texture. I just want to add more clear instructions. The 1/2 cup cream mentioned in the ingredients must be added when chocolate is melting with the liquor and the espresso.<br/><br/>Also the Quart of cream is equivalent to 32 ounces but this refers to 32 oz of whipped cream, which is the equivalent to 1 liter of cream.<br/><br/>It is definitely a delicious recipe. I tried also same recipe with Frangelico and results are also great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vilma M. September 11, 2014
Bailey's Chocolate Mousse