Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2010

      Excellent blend of spices. Love the amount of nutmeg! (I did cut recipe in half, though). I used it in Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi) (Gluten Free). I think this would be good on fish, also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I was making Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi) (Gluten Free) and needed this spice mix. It gave the chicken a wonderful flavour. I cut it short and used already ground spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This is a staple in my cupboard. I omit the nutmeg though because it is an intoxicant and therefore it is not halal. I add less allspice in it's place. I use whole spices and toast them in a dry pan before grinding them. This gives off a wonderful aroma. Definitely using whole spices as well as toasting them gives a better flavour than any store bought version of this mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Nice flavor and useful mix. I've prepared this for the Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi). I've reduced all the amounts, because I't easy to prepare fresh one when I need it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Loved the flavor! I used ground spices as that was what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      This was Wonderful!I am so glad I came across this.Thnax :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      I was trying to copy a favorite dish from a local mid-east deli & couldn't get the spices right until I found this recipe!! It's fantastic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      usedfor Easy Saudi Kabsa (Zainab's) (Gluten Free) very handy to have

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Made as directed in batches in my spice-dedicated coffee grinder. Referred to by UmmBinat's Saudi Tahini & Tomato Chicken for Saudi Tahini & Tomato Chicken. Thanks, alAmira for a great spice recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      How much nutmeg is too much---you've just instructed a few million people to put FOUR whole nutmegs in this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This is a very nice blend. I used cassia bark - I can buy it from the chinese grocers as it is 'chinese cinnamon'. Regular cinnamon bark or sticks works well also.... thanks Jan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I have never tried baharat before, so I used teaspoons instead of cups for my measurements (so 1/4 cup = 1/4 tsp) which yielded about 1 tbsp baharat, which was perfect for the recipe I was trying. It was great, and I will make a larger batch next time, now that I know we like it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Great mix! Made it for using it in Turkish Pasta With Ground Beef (Yogurtlu Kiymali Makarna) (Glute and will use it in everything calling for baharat now. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (1021 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.6
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    43%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 89.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 31.4 g
    125%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cassia

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes