Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bahamian Papaya Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bahamian Papaya Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2013

      As others have states, a bit too sweet. When the hour was up, the cake tested done, perfectly. However upon cutting into it, near the center some of it was not done. So I would bake longer in the future and reduce sugar.....however leave the rum as is. This would work well with mango. Extra-ordinarily moist cake. Since the "glaze" is to be put on to soak into the cake prior to coming out of the pan, it is really not a glaze, but a soak. Topping, cake and "glaze" reduce sugar by 25-40% and it will be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      NOW THIS IS A CAKE! If you do anything, make this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Well this is a really a good cake! I must admit that I've never mixed a cake batter like this one, adding eggs directly to the dry ingredients, but it works very well. The next time I make it I will decrease the sugar some as it is a little too sweet for me and reduce the amount of brown sugar in the topping. The cake looked beautiful when I turned it out. This recipe is so good and unique that I want to try it next time with mango , which I love, and a dark rum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Excellent!I searched for a rum cake recipe a month ago and came across this one. This is the best cake ever! I have made this cake 12 times.My friends and family love it! Don't change a thing.Very moist and delicious.I would rate this recipe 10 stars, if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Kanakacreek,Wow!! This was made for New Year's Day and was enjoyed by most.the rum really shines through.I may have spotted a typo,as in the Glaze granulated sugar is specified , but in the directions you indicate brown sugar,perhaps a correction needed. I had to make it in a large angel cake pan as I thought my 10 cup bundt pan would ,or could overflow.Am sure the bundt pan would do a nicer presentation.Will make again...Don...I did top it with a little whipped cream with rum extract,as if it wasn't rich enough,oh well the diet did not start until today...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This is delicious & very moist. I did modify the sugar as my Papaya was ripe & sweet & reading the recipe u began to wonder about the sugar. I like sweet cakes but did not want it so sweet I could not eat it. On Fruit filling no changes but I did change to 3/4 cup sugar in the cake mix. When the cake is done I let it sit for 10 to 12 min. then turned it onto a plate & then poured about 1/2 of the syrup & rum onto cake. It was almost too much but I put cake in fridge & it was wonderful. Will definitely make again & will only make 1/2 rum glaze as that is plenty for me. It is definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I would give this recepie 3.5 stars. Easy to make, but a little too sweet for my taste, my husband loved it though.Next time I would reduce sugar in half, or maybe my papaya was just very sweet. I skipped the last step and did not warm it up in the oven before inverting it on the serving dish, since it was coming out easily by itself. It had a perfect top,something you would see on the cover of cooking magazine, inside is very moist and delicate. Good cake to make if you want to impress your guests. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bahamian Papaya Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1013.9
     
    Calories from Fat 408
    40%
    Total Fat 45.3 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 25.3 g
    126%
    Cholesterol 176.7 mg
    58%
    Sodium 860.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 132.6 g
    44%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 101.2 g
    405%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites