7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As others have states, a bit too sweet. When the hour was up, the cake tested done, perfectly. However upon cutting into it, near the center some of it was not done. So I would bake longer in the future and reduce sugar.....however leave the rum as is. This would work well with mango. Extra-ordinarily moist cake. Since the "glaze" is to be put on to soak into the cake prior to coming out of the pan, it is really not a glaze, but a soak. Topping, cake and "glaze" reduce sugar by 25-40% and it will be better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim June 08, 2013

NOW THIS IS A CAKE! If you do anything, make this cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mialwebb June 07, 2013

Well this is a really a good cake! I must admit that I've never mixed a cake batter like this one, adding eggs directly to the dry ingredients, but it works very well. The next time I make it I will decrease the sugar some as it is a little too sweet for me and reduce the amount of brown sugar in the topping. The cake looked beautiful when I turned it out. This recipe is so good and unique that I want to try it next time with mango , which I love, and a dark rum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhiteSnake January 16, 2012

Excellent!I searched for a rum cake recipe a month ago and came across this one. This is the best cake ever! I have made this cake 12 times.My friends and family love it! Don't change a thing.Very moist and delicious.I would rate this recipe 10 stars, if I could.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shop4sherr_6222822 January 07, 2012

Kanakacreek,Wow!! This was made for New Year's Day and was enjoyed by most.the rum really shines through.I may have spotted a typo,as in the Glaze granulated sugar is specified , but in the directions you indicate brown sugar,perhaps a correction needed. I had to make it in a large angel cake pan as I thought my 10 cup bundt pan would ,or could overflow.Am sure the bundt pan would do a nicer presentation.Will make again...Don...I did top it with a little whipped cream with rum extract,as if it wasn't rich enough,oh well the diet did not start until today...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don Steele January 02, 2011

This is delicious & very moist. I did modify the sugar as my Papaya was ripe & sweet & reading the recipe u began to wonder about the sugar. I like sweet cakes but did not want it so sweet I could not eat it. On Fruit filling no changes but I did change to 3/4 cup sugar in the cake mix. When the cake is done I let it sit for 10 to 12 min. then turned it onto a plate & then poured about 1/2 of the syrup & rum onto cake. It was almost too much but I put cake in fridge & it was wonderful. Will definitely make again & will only make 1/2 rum glaze as that is plenty for me. It is definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirley W. April 25, 2007

I would give this recepie 3.5 stars. Easy to make, but a little too sweet for my taste, my husband loved it though.Next time I would reduce sugar in half, or maybe my papaya was just very sweet. I skipped the last step and did not warm it up in the oven before inverting it on the serving dish, since it was coming out easily by itself. It had a perfect top,something you would see on the cover of cooking magazine, inside is very moist and delicate. Good cake to make if you want to impress your guests. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka August 16, 2006
Bahamian Papaya Rum Cake