8 Reviews

I have made this recipe a few times. I make without nuts. Use two round pans and make a layer cake. Always make sure to use a strong Jamacian rum. Than Ice the cake with Cream Cheese frosting. 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thatgirlfunny July 13, 2013

Really good cake rich in flavor. I didn't have any sour cream or vanilla so I replaced them with orange juice and orange zest and it was a sucess!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ody M. July 23, 2012

As much as I would like to give this recipe a thumbs up,I can't. I pre-measured all of the ingredients and double-checked everything before mixing and placing into my 10-cup tube pan. It just seemed like too much batter for a 10-cup pan! However, following the recipe I spooned the batter on top of the nuts as instructed, which brought the batter up to almost the top of the pan, and put it into the oven. I should have known better :( as it didn't take long to have the batter start to overflow and burn the bottom of my oven, setting off the smoke detector. Not wanting to lose the cake, I quickly put a sided-cookie sheet with water under the pan to catch the drippings. 50 minutes into the baking, the batter was still overflowing. Because this was to be used for a catering assignment, I had to just toss the cake, and go to another cake that I still have ingredients for. My oven is working, the quantities and ingredients were right, the temperature was correct, and the pan was the correct size. I'm giving one star simple because I was able to take a swig of the dark rum after I pulled the cake out of the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troyryans June 24, 2012

Fantastic! This is the best cake ever! Very moist..Not too heavy...not too light...just right. Don't change a thing. Made this morning for hubby..says this is a keeper...bananas and rum together make a great cake...Wish I could give 10 stars..Glaze is very good too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shop4sherr_6222822 April 04, 2012

Fantastic cake, fantastic glaze. Didn't have pecans, threw in coconut (unsweetened, dried) instead. Down scaled the recipe and made 3 1/3 servings instead of 10... Only wanted to use 1 stick of butter to make a cake for just me and my husband. Also, didn't have sour cream. Added some OJ for extra flavor. Was out of vanilla! What a mess I've made of your recipe, and it still came out amazing. Just please don't tell anyone how bad it is for you. The banana makes it healthy, right? ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather V. February 18, 2010

Clearly an awesome cake...a bit more labor intensive than it appears initially but well worth the effort! I will make this one again and again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maybecaro July 13, 2009

Wonderful, wonderful. I have never cared for banana cakes (rather uninteresting) but the rum takes it to another planet - now it is a cake of distinction. This will definitely stay in my files. P.S. DH will eat anything with rum!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 June 01, 2009

What a wonderful cake!! Very rich - really makes more than 10 servings. yum-mo-- well worth the effot to make!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumama Chef 579262 May 22, 2009
Bahama Mama Banana Rum Cake