Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bagels 101 (Using a Stand Mixer) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bagels 101 (Using a Stand Mixer)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2014

      I made this recipe, BUT I followed someone elses instructions that 1 pkg of yeast = 4 1/2 teaspoons. THEY WERE WRONG! 2 pkgs = 4 1/2 teaspoons. My bagels turned out beautiful but tasted too yeasty (I used 9 teaspoons). I made a second batch and they were much better.<br/>Also, don't leave the bagels in boiling water too long. You want the inside to be light and fluffy. The poster has it right 15-20 sec per side. Some recipes say 3-4 minutes per side - bad advice.<br/>I learned a few things and next time I think they'll be even better. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Great Recipe- Bagels came out a bit lumpy, but tasted perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Most AMAZING bagels EVER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Originally rated on 2/16/09 - This recipe made it into my book#266453. Where is the 10 star option?!! This is a FABULOUS recipe. Thank you to loof, who recommended this recipe at Best of 2008 Cookbook Tag. I chose to make the plain version for my first attempt and they were simply outstanding. Now I can't wait to try other flavors/toppings. The possiblities are endless! I want to include some comments from my kids. My daughter came in to help me make these bagels because it looked like "fun". We both ended up having a blast. They are really not that difficult to make and you won't believe how good they taste. I gave my son a taste of a bagel, still warm, and amid his "mmmmmms" he said, "make this EVERY weekend...EVERY weekend!" To sum it up, my daughter said, "I just can't believe we made bagels!" Notes: 1. I used a candy thermometer to make sure the water was the right temp. for the yeast to react. 2. All the kneading was done with my stand mixer with dough hook attachment (you could probably use the regular attachment if you don't have the hook). 3. I used the finger in the middle method (this was esp. fun to do with kids). 4. I made 8 large bagels. 5. I used the cooking spray glaze method. 6. I used the steam method by placing a cast iron skillet on the bottom rack while the oven was preheating and when I put the bagels into the oven, I put about 6 ice cubes into the cast iron pan to get the steam (I did not spray the oven walls).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Super tasty bagels!!! This was the first time I have ever attempted to make bagels and they turned out great! Thanks for the recipe, it was very easy to follow. I can't see myself ever going back to store bought bagels. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Great bagels! We just made plain ones, and used mostly whole wheat flour. They are light-tasting, crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside- just the way bagels oughtta be :-) We made 12 smallish ones. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      This Recipe was very instrumental in my perfecting the bagels that i was attempting to make it is very detail and easy to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This was my first attempt at making homemade bagels..and it was so much easier than I imagined. I made 8 plain bagels, and used the cooking spray glaze method. They were a little bumpy on the exterior, but I am sure that was my inexperience and not the recipe. Overall, a great experience and a great result!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      My first time making bagels and I thought it would be difficult! Any questions I had were answered in these very concise instructions, and I ended up with a batch of 12 (6 raisin cinnamon and 6 sundried tomato and onion) chewy absolutely delicious bagels. At the end of the kneading time, I just divided the dough in 2 tossed in the add ins and kneaded til well mixed. I used a combination of poking a hole in the middle then wrapping the dough around 4 fingers to shape. Also used the steam method with the ice cubes but did not spray the walls of the oven. Brushed on a wash of egg white and a bit of water, and baked on silpat mats, 35 minutes for my oven. Boiled using 2 dutch ovens, 3 per pot fit well. I used 4 1/2 tsp of quick rise yeast and about 5 1/2 C flour. Thanks for the great recipe and instructions, I can't wait to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I don't know where to begin, so bear with me. I made these last weekend and they were a total disaster! Encouraged by the photos, I decided rather than review, I'd analyze what I did wrong, and try again this weekend; my DH also encouraged me to give these another try! Last weekend I multi-tasked and allowed the bagels to rise too much, so that when I went to boil them, they flattened to nothing! They did resemble focaccia, as another commented! They are still edible, but nothing I would take to work and call bagels! Knowing not to allow them to rise too much, they worked great! I still think these are practice makes perfect, but with 2Bleu's carefully crafted and well-detailed instructions, practice time is at a minimum! I encourage anyone who likes to bake to try these! Don't allow them to rise too much and they won't disappoint! NOTE: if you buy yeast in bulk like I do, 2 - 1/4 oz. packages equals 5 teaspoons. Thanks 2Bleau, for an OUTSTANDING recipe! Made for PRMR Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Fantastic! I made plain bagels and topped half with sesame seeds and half with poppy seeds. I made 8 huge bagels. They collapsed a bit and weren't as puffy as they should have been. I think that was lack of skill on my part and perhaps making the medium sized bagels would work out better. I boiled them one at a time in my largest pot since they were so large and baked them using the baking sheet and steam options. They tasted really good. I'm amazed at how easy they were to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      My first bagels and they're so good! I halved the recipe and was still able to make a pair of 3 flavors: cinnamon raisins, onions and mixed grains with the same flavors used as toppings. shape: the finger in the middle method; baking process: a tray of parchment paper with cornmeal with a tray of boiled water underneath. Outcome, they look baked on the outside but soft in the inside. Just like store bought bagels. I ate them as is while DH ate it with no chol butter. Very filling too! Thanks for teaching us the Bagels 101!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Yummy bagels! These were wonderful for breakfast this morning. Thanks for the clear instructions on making these beauties! I made the wheat bagels and used wheat bran as I didn't have the germ. After putting them in the boiling water, I used a doughnut holer to make the hole equal size as I had a hard time pulling them off my wax paper that I forgot to flour. My bad! My husband was amazed that is how bagels were made. I made only half the recipe but made 7 bagels out of it. I might try to make it all whole wheat next time and add some gluten, too. Ds ate his with peanut butter and honey. Dd had hers with some homemade strawberry cream cheese - low fat cream cheese mixed with low sugar strawberry jam. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Wow these bagels were just great! I have to admit, I don't have a stand mixer so I just kneaded the dough by hand. These are the steps I used: 1) I made half of the recipe plain, half cinnamon raisin by adding about a tablespoon of cinnamon to the flour as I added it in, then kneading 2 small boxes of raisins in before the first rise 2) I made 12 medium-sized bagels, six of each flavor 3) I used the "finger in the middle method" of shaping which worked really well - I will make my holes a little bigger next time but they still came out fine this time 4) I added the honey to the water in the boiling stage 5) I used the non-stick cooking spray method for the glaze, with no additional toppings added 6) I cooked my bagels on a baking sheet sprinkled with cornmeal, no steaming, and they were perfectly cooked after 25 minutes. The instructions for this recipe were so perfectly clear and it made these delicious treats easy to make. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      These tasted really good, though I think that it takes some practice to get them to look like the photos from 2Bleu's clan. Mine were much flatter, and more of the consistency of foccacia. The first four steps are quick and easy, the boiling is the trickiest part. Even though 3 bagels fit comfortably in my large wok, I think it would have been easier to flip them, have them keep their shape, and get them in and out of the boiling water with only one or two bagels. I chose the refrigerator option, which worked well, they rose a little bit more overnight. I used nonstick cooking spray for the glaze, which gave it a nice little crunch. I made it easy on myself and just used the same pan and silpat for the rises, shaping, storing in the frig, and baking (with no problems). Of the flavors I made, sun dried tomato was the unanimous first choice, other favorites were kalamata olive and everything, with dried onion and (fresh) garlic ranking behind those. As a first timer bagel maker, this took me about 2.5 hours from start to finish, including rise time. So it takes a bit of time, but they do taste yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bagels 101 (Using a Stand Mixer)

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.8
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    61%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 876.5 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites