9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So delicious!!!!! I used extra aged cheddar cheese because I am lactose intolerant and aged cheddar is low in lactose.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cboland July 04, 2010

Pretty good. My husband liked them as well. I didn't have sour dough bread so I have a feeling it may have made them better. I do not think I would do this recipe again though this way as it is a bit time consuming; I might try doing the ingredients all on the stove top instead to save time (and dishes for cleaning). Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alecia Pearl May 20, 2010

I didn't have the recommended cheeses or sourdough bread, but Mr. Wonderful picked up a block of truffle cheese and I had garlic wrap bread handy. Oh. My. Goodness! I cut down the grilling/frying time to not burn the wrap, but it still turned out DELICOUS! Thank you so much for this recipe. I'll definitely make it again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siava April 19, 2009

These sandwiches were awsome. Portobellos were on sale so I stocked up and searched for something to make with them later. The wine and balsamic really give that extra demention that. I cut my tomatoes in half so they wouldn't burst in your mouth. My husband commented that the cherry tomatoes were a good idea because they don't turn to mush like regular ones would. We used some of the leftover veggies and cheese in omlets the next day. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JillM August 31, 2008

I am always looking for something that my vegetarian and men will all enjoy and this fits the bill to a "t":) I lightened this recipe for the Make It Healthier game. The soup and sandwich were very good, so I am convinced that the full fat version would be a 10 star rating:) Thank you for posting a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal January 10, 2008

Don't you hate it when people change the recipe and then rate it? I took a few short cuts and the result was just so good that I think the original has to be even better, so I feel it's probably a safe bet to give the recipe 5 stars. I sauteed the onions in butter, than added tomatoes and briefly sauteed them in the balsamic and wine. I sauteed the mushrooms separately in butter. Then I followed the directions for steps 6-9. The sandwich was just so incredibly good! All that cheese and the vegetables were a perfect combination. Thanks for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 December 05, 2006

This made a great lunch today! I scaled back the recipe to make 2 sandwiches. I used roma tomatoes, cut up and monterey jack/colby mix along with baby swiss. Yum! Loved it! Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 15, 2006

I made these for my husband and I for lunch today... they were very yummy! Easy to put together, taste great, very satisfying! I would recommend cutting the tomatoes in 1/4th.. so they don't explode in your mouth when you're biting into them... they could be quite hot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn November 06, 2006

I made these for dinner tonight. My red onion was HUGE! So I only used three quarters of it. They were a little time consuming, and messy. It was hard to flip them without losing all the delicious ingredients inside. I'd love to try them on a sandwich grill, no flipping involved. I may also add another portabella. It was so good. The entire family enjoyed them. I served them with Tortellini Tomato Soup. (#35988) They complimented each other perfectly. Thanks for a fantastic meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom April 29, 2013
Bada Bing Betty's Tuscan Portobello Melt (Grilled Cheese)