Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2003

      What a great alternative to bacon wrapped oysters (en brochette). I love those but some people freak out on the oyster idea. So, I made some non-seafood appetizers like this and they sure went quick. I brought them out onto paper towels to make sure no hot grease was pocketed away! The crunchy sweetened water chestnuts are awesome. Thanks in helping me please everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      Easy and good! Thanks for posting this. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      I made these appetizers for our couple's Bible study get together at Christmas time. I only made one batch. They were gone instantly. When our Valentine's Day get together was approaching these were requested. I also found out that they had been made by several couples in the mean time. They are so easy and everyone loves them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      I needed a healthy snack recipe with a "W" for an event and I made this using turkey bacon and instead of baking in oven cooked in microwave as the package directed for the bacon. They were gone in a flash

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      These were great! Made them for a party and got great reviews from others. I made them ahead of time in the oven, then kept them warm in the crock pot at low temp. My one suggestion is to make sure you line your pan with foil to catch the drippings. Easier clean up and no ruined pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Merlot, you know I'm not a whippersnapper lol, but I had forgotten how great this simple recipe is. I found this just sifting through the appetizers and this jumped right off the screen at me. All the ingredients enhance the crunchy chestnuts, especially the brown sugar and bacon. We use to make these with chicken livers, but I much, much prefer these. Thanks for sharing and thanks for the memories of good parties in the past!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Been making these for years. I usually make half of them with water chestnuts and half with pineapple (YUM). They are also great with scallops and shrimp (use less brown sugar though, if any)... mmmmmm good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2004

      I made this the other day for a group of girls from the art class.They were so tasty and gone in no time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      I took these to the New Year's Party and they disappeared in no time. Definitely a hit and will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      These were fantastic! I have always loved water chestnuts, but I would never have thought of pairing it up with Bacon. But man! These little babies were wonderful!! The saltiness of the bacon and the sweetness of the waterchestnut made a wonderful combination together. I see myself making them often. Thanks Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      Just wanted to say - I have been making these for many years and they always disappear quickly! If you haven't tried them and like a sweet/salty appetizer, then these are for you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      I've made this before, but not with the soy sauce and brown sugar. These were wonderful! My way went out the window, yours stays forever!! Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      great flavor. easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2014

      Amazing! I used only half the sugar, dipping only one side of the water chestnut. I love the sweet-salty-crunchy combo. Definitely line the pan with some foil to catch the drippings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I have been making these for 30 years and they are always a HUGE hit! They're requested most every time I ask "Is there anything I can bring?". Personally, I only soak them in soy sauce for 30 minutes or I find them to be too salty. Be sure not to use colored toothpicks or the color will bleed into the chestnuts :-( Also, I look for the "center cut bacon" to go on sale--worth the extra $ because there's much less trimming (and waste). Enjoy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Whether it's water chestnuts, green beans, or brussel sprouts- bacon, soy, and brown sugar are always a hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I'm a 'young whipper-snapper' who had never made or tried these before. AMAZING. I had many people turn up their noses at the idea, only to come running and clean the plate once they smelled these tasty little treats coming out of the oven! Thank you for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I turned my back and the next thing I knew............there were only toothpicks left! An old favorite. We had this for thanksgiving. I used 2 cans of chestnuts and thought it was too much...not! Easy to make and tasty too, thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Fabulous....nothing else to say!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 47.8
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    34%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 287.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites