8 Reviews

This is an excellent and simple to make appetizer! A friend of mine from Cleveland introduced these to me several years ago and I have been making them ever since. I think if my husband were left unattended, he could eat the whole platter full! Delicious! Thank you for posting this, Shae!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev August 06, 2002

Previously we had made these in the microwave, unmarinated. This is a much better version.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenT December 30, 2002

I've made this twice and both times they were gone in a heartbeat. The first time I may have went a little overboard on the "drizzle" so they took a little longer to get crispy but everybody still loved them. I also quartered the bacon instead of just in half and it worked great. If you do it this way I suggest getting the longest bacon so you don't have to try to "stretch" it to fit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connaidysmom January 15, 2010

This recipe is incredibly easy and has been served at our annual Holiday party for two years running and always receives rave reviews. Any appetizer wrapped in bacon is certain to please your guests!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bow December 31, 2009

Just used these for a party and got rave reviews. I cut the brown sugar down to a few tablespoons, marinated for an hour, then wrapped a water chestnut and a whole date in the bacon. I prepared them the day before and wrapped and refrigerated them. My husband cooked them on an iron skillet on the grill. The combination of salty and sweet flavors, plus the crunch from the water chestnuts, are fabulous. We tried them with and without the dates and believe the addition of the dates is a plus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annabelle P August 26, 2009

I loved these! They are so weird! I made them thinking my dh would like them, since he loves waterchestnuts. But he said they were just OK. I however, only meant to have one or two, just to try. I didn't quite know what to think of them, but I kept going back for more. Before I knew it, I had eaten the entire batch! And every now & then, I think about them. I guess that means I must have really liked them. :) Thank you very much for a wonderful, unique recipe that I would never have thought of on my own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej July 05, 2007

We have always loved these whenever someone else makes them. This was the first time I made them and they were soooooo good. Thanks for an easy appetizer recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee December 11, 2006

I made these as a Thanksgiving appetizer and they were well received by all! I used the same marinade (I made a double batch) to make Bacon Wrapped Shrip as well. Both were easy and excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoctorMel November 25, 2005
Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts