Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2002

      This is an excellent and simple to make appetizer! A friend of mine from Cleveland introduced these to me several years ago and I have been making them ever since. I think if my husband were left unattended, he could eat the whole platter full! Delicious! Thank you for posting this, Shae!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      Previously we had made these in the microwave, unmarinated. This is a much better version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I've made this twice and both times they were gone in a heartbeat. The first time I may have went a little overboard on the "drizzle" so they took a little longer to get crispy but everybody still loved them. I also quartered the bacon instead of just in half and it worked great. If you do it this way I suggest getting the longest bacon so you don't have to try to "stretch" it to fit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This recipe is incredibly easy and has been served at our annual Holiday party for two years running and always receives rave reviews. Any appetizer wrapped in bacon is certain to please your guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Just used these for a party and got rave reviews. I cut the brown sugar down to a few tablespoons, marinated for an hour, then wrapped a water chestnut and a whole date in the bacon. I prepared them the day before and wrapped and refrigerated them. My husband cooked them on an iron skillet on the grill. The combination of salty and sweet flavors, plus the crunch from the water chestnuts, are fabulous. We tried them with and without the dates and believe the addition of the dates is a plus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I loved these! They are so weird! I made them thinking my dh would like them, since he loves waterchestnuts. But he said they were just OK. I however, only meant to have one or two, just to try. I didn't quite know what to think of them, but I kept going back for more. Before I knew it, I had eaten the entire batch! And every now & then, I think about them. I guess that means I must have really liked them. :) Thank you very much for a wonderful, unique recipe that I would never have thought of on my own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      We have always loved these whenever someone else makes them. This was the first time I made them and they were soooooo good. Thanks for an easy appetizer recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      I made these as a Thanksgiving appetizer and they were well received by all! I used the same marinade (I made a double batch) to make Bacon Wrapped Shrip as well. Both were easy and excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon-Wrapped Water Chestnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (1191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.3
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    47%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 10.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 668.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    57%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites