Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon Wrapped Smoked Gouda Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon Wrapped Smoked Gouda Stuffed Chicken Breasts

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2008

      I made several adaptions to this recipe and it was fantastic. I did beat the chicken breast flat and then folded them in half with a piece of foil in the middle. I seasons the inside with the ingredients listed. I baked the breast in a 350 oven for about 15 minutes. Instead of rolling the chicken breast with the bacon, I cut the bacon up and fried until crisp. I then took the bacon pieces out and drained. I threw away all the bacon fat except for one tablespoon which I used to saute 1 large sliced onion in and cooked or carmelized the onion for about 15 minutes with 1 Tbsp brown sugar. When the onions were done, I added back the bacon, and then added about 1 cup of shredded gouda cheese. I removed the breast from the oven and removed the foil. I place about 1/6 of the onion mixture in the middle of the chicken breast and then folded it back over. I then sprinked the remaining onions and cheese over the top and returned to the oven for another 10 minutes. This was a really good supper. Served with fresh brocolli and fresh fruit. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      I had regular Gouda cheese which I used for this recipe, and it is delicious. I can't wait to try it with the smoked gouda because that has got to be out of this world. Update - not sure why, but I made this again using the smoked Gouda and it needed salt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      easy and loved how tender and soft the chicken was - it was inhaled by everyone in minutes! can't believe it was so quick to cook as well. definitely will be one of those back-pocket standby dishes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      I thought this was a wonderful combo of flavors. I butterflied the breasts because I can't ever seem to pound the breast out flat enough. I t was also quite easy and quick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Delicious! DH said it belongs in a restaurant. Next time I will use a little more cheese though, but there will defnitely be a next time! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      I loved it! Very easy to put together and flavorful, the Gouda cheese does not melt as readily as other cheeses, so the chicken breast retains it's stuffing much better. Will be a staple around here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      The chicken breasts that I used were rather thick so instead of beating them thin, I halved them long ways and ended up with what I'm sure would be the same outcome. I did not brown them in a skillet prior to baking... My goal is to not dirty the whole kitchen over a weeknight meal. So I just adjusted the cook time and temp to 40 minutes at 375. I also added a bit of cumin to the seasoning... I couldn't help myself! lol. They turned out fantastic and were a total hit with the fam! I do feel that next time I prepare this, I will double the seasoning mix, this recipe used it so sparingly that it left me wanting just a bit more POW.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Awesome - we couldn't stop saying 'Yum!' Definitely a keeper and definitely something we would make for company. Didn't change a thing - great flavors - thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was very delicious! Being a bit new to stuffing chicken I found it a bit tricky though keeping the chicken rolled up around the cheese and then browning it with the bacon wrapped around. I did use toothpicks to keep it together for that step but I maybe should have tried harder to place them strategically. I also think it would have worked out easier if I had used better chicken pieces. Mine were quite oddly shaped after I got through cleaning them up and pounding them out. The flavors though were absolutely wonderful! Maybe a tad on the spicy side and I prefer crisper bacon so I may try to brown up the bacon a bit more first. And mine took a bit longer than 20 minutes to cook. Thanks for a wonderful dish! ~Alicia~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      Excellent, quick recipe for a weeknight thank you. We just split our breasts, rolled the outside in the spice mix, then put our cheese in, closed them over and wrapped each in 2 slices of bacon. We just put them on a tray and put them straight in the oven. They were big and took about 25 minutes to cook. We will make this one again really soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      This was very good. I pre-cooked the bacon in a frying ban a little instead of wrapping the chicken and doing it that way. I definitely recommend fitting in as much cheese as possible, as the more cheese the better! I added a few more spices and used 2 pieces of bacon to wrap each chicken roll. I had to cook it between 25-30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2014

      Tried this tonight and it was fantastic. I'm always looking for good recipes for 2 people and this fit the bill. Easy to make and the flavor combo can't be beat. Of course I fried extra bacon and sprinkled on top, because.....Bacon. Thanks for this keeper, it will be a regular at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      My family loves this so much, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      It tasted really good. My family and kids enjoyed it quite a lot. It was quite easy to prepare and make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      May be I'm just not that skilled at rolling/wrapping/stuffing chicken. I tried the suggestion of the other person of freezing the cheese, as I think I have heard that somewhere before. Well, the inside of my large chicken breast didn't cook or the cheese. I ended up finishing it in the microwave. The flavors were very good. May be I will try with smaller chicken & less bacon. I thought may be a sauce made of the cheese would be wonderful. Might try that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      Just a note. I have found that when you cook with cheese as a stuffing, cut the cheese to size and then freeze it. That way, as the meat cooks, the cheese stays inside rather than melting and flowing out of the meat. This works with the chicken breasts and also for stuffed meatballs, which I stuff with a square of mozzarella cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      I don't usually write reviews but, this recipe was so easy and wonderful I was compelled to give my opinion. It's a keeper! Need to double up on the spice mix and modify the instructions as we had to guess on the cooking instructions. Put the chicken wrapped Gouda and bacon under the broiler (not too close) and watch so it doesn't burn, about 5 minutes, then switch to bake on 350 for 20 minutes. I used chicken cutlets which did not require pounding to thin the breast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

    • on October 07, 2013

      Excellent! Made as posted with no changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Delicious & great presentation! I need to practise my rolling technique but the recipe was quite easy other than that. (I cheated with 2 or 3 toothpicks in every breast - lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon Wrapped Smoked Gouda Stuffed Chicken Breasts

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 365.0
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    56%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 122.5 mg
    40%
    Sodium 332.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 36.6 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes