47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i make this often without the sauce. i made it this time as a dipping sauce, well received, as part of a new years buffet

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia January 01, 2003

New Years Eve 2003 special treat! What a wonderful way to start the new year.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 02, 2003

Made this last nite and was very good. I did not put a couple of the scallops in the sauce so I could compare the difference in taste and texture. The ones in the sauce was very good but I think my own personal preference was the 2 without the sauce. Also I used sea scallops and they took almost 7 minutes per side. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niteflyer June 05, 2011

Fantastic! I used maple bacon, and the flavor was wonderful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich March 05, 2009

Easy and very tasty! We had this for supper tonight with rice and broccoli. If you are in doubt about the need to cut your scallops in half go ahead and do it. The smaller ones seemed to taste better than the larger ones.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryingTraditional January 03, 2009

A fellow co-worker brought these to a recent luncheon, and I asked her for the recipe. Wanted to check to see if it was here on 'Zaar yet before I posted, and lo and behold~ Here it is! These are FABULOUS appetizers (or in my case, a MEAL!LOL) Also, the folks at work whom are on the Atkins plan really appreciated these little guys! I am adding these to my list of appetizers for the holidays...SUPERB! ~Manda

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda November 11, 2003

This is so good and so easy to make. The sauce is tasty but the scallops are also good without it. You might want to make more because they go fast!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa S May 22, 2003

This was really great. My first time making scallops and my family was impressed. Followed the other reviewer's method and made the spinach rice as a side dish. A keeper. Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msjin February 04, 2012

Great recipe! Super easy to make. If you don't want to spend as much on the scallops (as it can get pricey to do 2 lbs.) you can halve the recipe and it still makes for a very generous portion. I used peppered bacon and they were a hit at a themed Christmas party potluck, especially with the dudes! I thought they were rich and delicious. Two was a sufficient portion for me because the scallops were huge even after cutting them in half.

Also, I halved all the ingredients except I forgot when I added the broth. So I would say this recipe is pretty full-proof. Even if you make an error you can't go wrong. Even though I added too much broth the sauce was very buttery considering. I'll be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Atkins December 19, 2011

I dipped the scallops in melted butter, salt and pepper before wrapping in bacon and didn't use the garlic or broth....delicious !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F-K December 25, 2009
Bacon Wrapped Scallops