11 Reviews

This actually turned out REALLY good! I made my adjustments according to my preferences (like 'stuffing' the turkey with veggies, herbs, lemons) and instead of sage I always use lots of Herbs de Provence mixed in with the butter) then put the bacon on the key places. Kind-of followed the timing for removing the bacon- turned out beautifully! The bacon really does a great job of basting and adds a great flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetEnd November 29, 2013

I made this turkey recipe for the first time last Christmas & again today for Thanksgiving. This recipe is fantastic! The breast turns out so moist, it is easily comparable to the dark meat. I highly recommend this for any occasion in need of a turkey. *I thought the 2 cups of butter was too much to use, so I started with just 1 cup and add more as needed. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7WitchWay November 25, 2010

This was so good! I made this for Thanksgiving, but just now got around to reviewing. I took off the bacon when it was nicely cooked so that the bird would get browned. I used the bacon in my green bean casserole. The gravy I made with the juices tasted really bacony, so if you don't want your gravy to taste like bacon, don't use the juices from the turkey. I loved the smokey taste it gave the gravy though! My dad said it was the best turkey I've ever made. And he's a turkey purist. Thanks so much for sharing this!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rollersgirl January 22, 2010

I never give 5 stars, but this is absolutely the best turkey I have ever roasted. It wasn't at all greasy or bacon flavored. It was only a cheap frozen turkey from the supermarket. I did throw a bunch of rosemary into a cavity and placed the bird on a bed of carrots, celery, onion and chopped giblets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dasisalles November 28, 2009

I have put bacon on my turkey's for years (can't remember who I heard it from), and the bird always comes out moist and delish. I also put whatever veggies/fruits I have on hand to stuff in the bird's cavity (apples, oranges, carrots, potatoes, whatever), they all get discarded so it doesn't matter. And the gravy from the bacon and turkey drippings is to die for. Thanks MrsM1021 for submitting this recipe so other people can enjoy what we already do.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lclausen October 11, 2009

This was SO. SO. good. I don't really like turkey very much and even I was struck by how nice the turkey was. Everyone commented on it round the table. Also, I had dry-brined the turkey the day before, and this seems to have only added to the juiciness. I was worried it would be too salty with all that, but it wasn't. I put a lemon and onion in the center, both cut into eighths. It did take less time than my weight calculation had suggested for cook time, and I let it get hotter than the 165 recommended - and all still perfectly delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
litzie132 November 29, 2015

Great!!! Made turkey exactly as recipe - was amazing!! Everyone loved it - soooo moist. Loved the sage and butter together- mmmmm!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy W. December 01, 2013

This turkey was unreal! Huge success on Thanksgiving! The skin came out golden and crispy. And the white meat came out so moist - not dry at all. The bacon kept the turkey moist and flavorful (but the turkey doesnt taste like bacon) I only basted the turkey a few times in the last hour. The bacon drippings made the gravy so tasty (not exactly a "healthy-choice" for gravy but it really added some amazing flavor!). My only changes: I stuffed the turkey with lemon, celery, onion and carrots. Per one of the reviews below, I started with just 1 cup of butter and added more as needed. Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammyJim33 December 01, 2013

I also have done this for years, I think I read about it in the food section of the paper in the late 70s or early 80s. The bacon basically does the basting for you. And I second the notion of the reviewer who said the gravy is to die for. That is an undertatement. The gravy is outstanding. BUT, you really need a gravy separator ... all that bacon grease makes for a LOT of fat. I can see using it in other recipes but that bacon is so good .. it used to be my little secret but then my daughter discovered it and now as soon as the turkey comes out there are fingers picking at the bacon. Thumbs up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thefensk November 11, 2013
Bacon Wrapped Roasted Turkey