268 Reviews

I'm not going to assign stars to this because I never got to actually eat these - they were gone too quickly! I guess they were a hit ...

Followed the advice of others below and mixed the shredded cheese with the cream cheese and also chopped up some green onions for the mixture. Be careful not to overstuff the peppers because the cheese does ooze out while baking. Prep time was longer than stated above but still quite easy. I did each step at a time - cut/seeded all the jalapenos, then stuffed all the jalapenos, then wrapped all the jalapenos in bacon. Definitely try to wear gloves because manhandling jalapenos for 30 minutes will burn your skin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain July 09, 2012

I have been making something like this for years using a chili grill on the BBQ but tried this recipe as a quick alternative when not starting the grill because of weather. I did experience the same problems other people mentioned about the cheese melting out but otherwise loved the result. Cooking the upright avoids the cheese running but I actually have a Texas Chili Grill for that. I also stuffed a couple with some leftover chorizo and cheese and may have found a new item for brunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fisheybiz June 17, 2012

I liked this, but I will be looking for tips to prevent the cheese from running out. I did add the cheddar to the cream cheese instead of sprinkling on the outside, and I also followed suggestions in some reviews to add chives and I think that was a great touch. This didn't have a big kick to it so I could convince more family members to try some!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LividViv April 22, 2012

My husband made these. As written he thought they were a bit bland but to the next batch he added some spices to the cheese mixture. He used season salt, garlic powder and pepper. They enjoyed them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 01, 2012

Yummy! Simple but so good. The only thing I didn't like was the bacon to sizzle in the oven. But the taste is amazing. Thanks AZRoxy :) Made for All you can cook buffet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 29, 2012

Ok, I've been making these for a long time. But with this recipe I can't think the cheese would stay in. Instead, use Queso fresco cheese. you can get it in a lot of grocery stores, but may have to go to a hispanic grocery. It is a crumbly cheese, easy to work with, and softens nicely when hot, but won't leak out. You might want to chop up some andouille and mix it with the cheese. Also, I leave the stems on. These things need a handle. Don't cut completely in half, just down one side. Take out the seeds or leave some, depending on how much heat you want. Put the toothpick in to hold it together and then wrap the bacon around it. Cook in the oven using a broiler pan or a rack to let the grease drain, or cook on the grill(my preference). No need to precook the bacon. Just give it enough time in the oven to cook. You will need to turn them once.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbatkins1 February 01, 2012

We have made these for cookouts for years. We usually use homegrown jalapenos and put them on the grill! So good!! The seeds are what really creates the heat, so remove them AND RINSE if you can't stand spice and they will only be a mild flavor. If you like heat, you can leave a few of the seeds. I like to mix my cheese and if you do cook them in the oven make sure that you use a rack so that they are not swimming in grease. Like some have said, these do take a few minutes to prepare, so allot for that. You have to scrape all of them out. Also, the seeds burn my hands afterwords, and it's definitely not good if you rub your eyes, so I tend to use a pair of gloves when I am removing the seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hheath05 January 03, 2012

Easy and delicious! I also made some with maple syrup mixed into the cream cheese. It sounds weird, but they were fantastic. 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melcward72 September 05, 2011

These are fantastic!! I cut them in half and leave them that way, I wrap each half in bacon. My husband and I love these. They are the perfect addition to a grilled steak meal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dispatchergurl August 06, 2011

This looks absolutely amazing. I haven't tried them yet, but I can tell that the heat leaches into the bacon and the fat leaches into the peppers making them an amazing marriage. The simplicity of the ingredients list also makes it a provocative dish because the bold flavors get to stand out! I'm trying this tonight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eating in bed July 07, 2011
Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers