267 Reviews

Great recipe. Following previous reviews, I made the following changes:
Add 3 chopped green onions and some black pepper to the cheese mixture. Put the cheddar cheese in with the cream cheese also. There was no heat in my jalapenos so if you want heat add the seeds, crushed red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper to the cheese mixture.

Bacon: Pre-cook in batches in paper towel lined pie plate in microwave for 2 minutes and cool.

Baking: place filled and wrapped poppers on rack over foil lined sheet pan. Bake @ 350 for 10 minutes. This gives the pepper some cooking time. Raise temp to 450 and cook till bacon is crisp and cheese is bubbly and browned.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb September 03, 2012

These are really really good, however a person should be advised about wearing rubber gloves when cutting the peppers and seeding them.

I didn't and my hands burned for 2 days!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lacroido August 09, 2012

Don't know if anyone else has suggested this or not but the best thing I have found for the hands after seeding your peppers is to wash your hands with the juice of a fresh lemon or some ReaLemon brand juice right out of the bottle and then some Fast Orange brand hand cleaner if you have it or just regular soap and water. The lemon takes away all the burn and the soap or hand cleaner removes the strong lemon smell

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bionic Rooster April 20, 2012

A great recipe but as everyone else has said this takes much longer than 20 min, took me more like 90 min star to finish. I modified the recipe to make them more bite size by cutting in half after gutted and fill with cheeses, then wrap with a half slice of bacon. This worked fantastically for a work potluck. Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nalfordmagers March 30, 2012

I followed the suggestions and they were a big hit at my cooking club. I also added some garlic to the cream cheese. Very easy to make too! Would be great for the superbowl party!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindyccm February 02, 2012

It was really annoying to go by this recipes directions only to find the bacon (very thin sliced) is still raw after 20 minutes at suggested temperature. Also to have both cheeses in a puddle around each jalapeno. I should have looked at all the alterations folks did to these before I attempted to cook these without a backup plan in time given for a potluck. What is with all the five star reviews? Someone please tell me what I am missing other than going by the recipe. Why not test your recipes before posting them, then most won't have to alter it! Make your adjustments before posting the thing! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Deer November 03, 2011

I've made these many times and they are fantastic! You can make them as hot as you want by leaving more or less of the seeds and/or pith. Wrapping the bacon around was annoying for me, so I now cut cooked bacon into thirds and place a piece on each popper. It's still bacony goodness! Love these - thank for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam in the Kitchen July 12, 2011

These are common in the grill forums, as ABTs. Which stands for Atomic Bomb Turds. We love these, but are significantly better on the grill. The grill imparts grill marks and some smoke flavors.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purcellj July 09, 2011

Made these tonight, for the first time. OMG they are freakin awesome.. Anoher addition to friday night appetizer menu. Attending happy hour @ a bar is a thing of the past these days. We have our very own happy hour 2x per month at home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khorton99_12309139 June 18, 2011

This was a big hit. (DON'T FORGET TO WEAR GLOVES) Thank you and def. will be making it at my next get together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios January 03, 2011
Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers