Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

    Average Rating:

    266 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 266

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2010

      Like you need another 5 star rating.... hahaha! Suffice it to say, everyone has been correct on this recipe. DEFINITELY set aside more time for prep on this one; 30 min. does not cut it. DO follow other reviewers directions; for instance: DO pre-cook the bacon halfway, as it will not crisp properly in the allotted cooking time otherwise. DO add chives or green onions to the cream cheese; it makes a difference! DO mix the cream cheese and cheddar, as the cheddar will melt out otherwise and be gone. DO leave ribs/seeds in if you want any heat at all, as these were so mild my "can't take the heat" daddy scarfed up several with no problems whatsoever. DO cook on a rack as they will be swimming in bacon/cheese grease otherwise. Grilling sounds like a great idea; will try that next time.... possibly freezing little torpedoes of cream/cheddar cheese to stuff jalapenos with as it would most likely melt out otherwise. THESE ARE SOOOO WORTH IT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I'm a wuss when it comes to anything even slightly spicey, but these were fantastic!!! They were very mild and almost sweet. The bacon is what made the dish. I brought these to a potluck and they were a huge hit with everyone.

      After reading other reviews this is what I did. I partially pre-cooked the bacon in the oven. I added about 3 chopped green onions. And, I softened the cream cheese and mixed in the cheddar. It worked out very well. I baked them on a cookie sheet with foil (no rack like others have said) and they turned out great. One big suggestion...make sure you wear gloves when seeding the peppers! I made the mistake of scooping then out by hand and it was a BIG MISTAKE!!! My hands were on fire for hours. Overall, fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I've made this lots of times here's the best and fastest way. Cut the jalapenos long ways in half, save the seeds if you like spicey. Put the Jalapenos in the oven and cook til slightly browned. Meanwhile take a package of cooked bacon, crumble and put in skillet with the jalapeno seeds.Cook til the bacon makes its own grease, remove from heat to cool slightly. Take out the jalapenos from oven to cool. Mix cream cheese with bacon and seeds. Put cream mixture in jalapenos, use the fine shredded cheddar cheese to put over mixture, press slightly. Back in oven til cheese melts. enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      My mom made these for me this weekend and we all loved them! A few changes, she used pineapple cream cheese (makes it so yummy) and used turkey bacon. This really cuts down on the grease and the bacon become more crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      They're called Armadillo Eggs in TX. They're good baked, as anything with bacon is good. But try grilling these over charcoal or wood with a nice thick sirloin, a baked tater, and a cold beer. Taste so good makes you want to slap yo momma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      It takes a little longer but well worth the effort.Do not cut the pepper in half and leave stem on peppers and slice one side so you can open it up and clean it out. Mix 16 oz cream cheese 3.5 oz of sun dried tomatoes and chopped onion to your liking. Stuff peppers thoroughly and wrap with a whole piece of bacon and pin them with tooth picks. I cook them indirect on charcoal ( no flare ups ) until bacon is almost done and then finish them off on top rack of gas grill on low heat. This allows the pepper to cook more and become soft it's also a little more pleasant on the taste buds. I think they are even better the next day at room temp. I leave the stem on so you have something to hold while you eat them. I buy one pound of bacon for 15-20 poppers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      It's ten times better if you add dry ranch mix to the cream cheese!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      I have been making these for years,except I dont add the shredded cheese.I also freeze these,then when it's winter I just pop them in the oven and cook.They are great to eat while watching college football!My family loves these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Just a quickie suggestion on these FABULOUS poppers...I personally like my bacon on the crispy side and have found that microwaving your bacon for one minute on high to start the cooking process and then letting the bacon cool while you prep will make for a crispier popper after baking them...another tip is too raise them on a wire rack (not coated!) and put the rack on a foil lined sheet...gets the poppers out of excess grease and makes clean up much easier with the tin foil! Can't say enough good about these...I leave seeds/veins in half my batches to make them spicy! Try them...you will be hooked as will friends and family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Insanely delicious, made these for a party and they were a huge hit! I microwaved the bacon, chopped it and added it to the filling along with the sharp cheddar, same taste and saved a lot of work, especially considering that preparing all those jalapenos was pretty time consuming and tedious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I have made these twice and they are awesome. Second time I mixed together the cream cheese and cheddar. Makes the process much easier. This last time, I used 40 peppers so I ended up with 80 appetizers. I had about 18 left on a tray that I did not cook. I decided to freeze them--it worked perfectly. When I cooked them a few days lated, they were just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Ok these were amazing. The prep time is a little deceptive though as it took way longer. I took them to a potluck barbecue and worried because they were still very spicy. I had cleaned most of the seeds but left most of the membranes in the peppers. My concern didn't last long as they were immediately attacked. After they cooled we started putting them on the charcoal grill and heating them back up. Excellent idea as they were even better with a little smoky taste. Next time I'll be cooking them on the grill! I like the additions some of the reviewers have suggested and I will try some hot raspberry jelly. MMmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers
      Has anyone tried substituting Pineapple cream cheese for the regular cream cheese? You don't have to put the Cheddar cheese on them. Although, it would be yummy. Just halve the Jalapenos lengthwise, fill with the Pineapple Cream cheese & wrap with bacon. Bake @ 350 until bubbly and bacon is crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      These poppers are wonderful. I did modify a little according to my family's preferences. I mixed the cheddar sheese in with the cream cheese and I added one tablespoon of cajun spices to the cheese mixture. Awesome ! Also, I lined my baking sheet with foil and then put the poppers on a greased/sprayed wire rack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      i have made these several times now and they seem to get more delicious every time! i use a grapefruit spoon to take out the seeds and membrane. the spoon also works well for putting the cream cheese in the jalapeno. i do cook them longer than suggested to crisp the bacon...i will have to try precooking the bacon next time. love these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I made these twice over the Thanksgiving weekend. OUTSTANDING! Even people who dont like hot or spicy food even tried them and thought they were great! I will be prepping these for a Football tailgate party this upcoming weekend also. Throw them on the grill and cook em that way! Suggestions: 1.) Cut the bacon in half the length way and use that half to wrap one of your poppers. 2.) Alcohol prep pads...The oil in the peppers comes off your hands in seconds if you use these. This makes it so you dont have to worry about putting your finger in your eye or whatever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      These were delicious. The only suggestion I would make is to go lighter on the cream cheese, and mix the cream cheese and the cheddar before putting them in the jalapeno. We served them on a platter with the bacon wrapped dates and it was a really nice sweet and spicy and salty appetizer platter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I am so grateful to have found this recipe. I changed a bit thanks to reading some of the other reviews and added a twist of my own.I cut enough of the peppers lengthwise to form a small boat, leaving the stem on. I removed the seeds and membrane.I precooked the bacon half way and put to the side. I cooked some extra bacon all the way and mix it in the cream cheese as well as chopped up a few green onions and added a small amount of red pepper jelly, mixing it all together with the cream cheese. Putting the cream cheese mixture to the jalapeño boat. I then wrapped the half cooked bacon around the jalapeño and baked it in the oven until done. The sweet heat from the pepper jelly was a big hit. I layed the jalapeño boats on a bed of lettuce on a party tray. Looked beautiful and the lettuce help soak up any grease if any from the jalapeños.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      I did modify a bit--I mixed all together: 8oz reduced fat cream cheese, 1 cup reduced fat grated sharp cheddar, 3 green onions thinly sliced and 1 pkg fully cooked bacon (micro cooked so can crumble). I bought 20 jalapenos and it filled all of them. Baked at 400 for 15 minutes. It was easy, fairly clean and a little bit better for you! Also, a grapefruit spoon works wonderfully to pull out the seeds/ribs. I calculated the calories using my ingredients as 31 calories per piece (I had 40 pieces).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      my son james loves these he cooks them on the grill

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 50

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.5
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    85%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 25.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 204.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites