268 Reviews

Like you need another 5 star rating.... hahaha! Suffice it to say, everyone has been correct on this recipe. DEFINITELY set aside more time for prep on this one; 30 min. does not cut it. DO follow other reviewers directions; for instance: DO pre-cook the bacon halfway, as it will not crisp properly in the allotted cooking time otherwise. DO add chives or green onions to the cream cheese; it makes a difference! DO mix the cream cheese and cheddar, as the cheddar will melt out otherwise and be gone. DO leave ribs/seeds in if you want any heat at all, as these were so mild my "can't take the heat" daddy scarfed up several with no problems whatsoever. DO cook on a rack as they will be swimming in bacon/cheese grease otherwise. Grilling sounds like a great idea; will try that next time.... possibly freezing little torpedoes of cream/cheddar cheese to stuff jalapenos with as it would most likely melt out otherwise. THESE ARE SOOOO WORTH IT!!!

46 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel Grinnell April 05, 2010

I've made this lots of times here's the best and fastest way. Cut the jalapenos long ways in half, save the seeds if you like spicey. Put the Jalapenos in the oven and cook til slightly browned. Meanwhile take a package of cooked bacon, crumble and put in skillet with the jalapeno seeds.Cook til the bacon makes its own grease, remove from heat to cool slightly. Take out the jalapenos from oven to cool. Mix cream cheese with bacon and seeds. Put cream mixture in jalapenos, use the fine shredded cheddar cheese to put over mixture, press slightly. Back in oven til cheese melts. enjoy!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
midnight_66mustang December 20, 2010

I'm a wuss when it comes to anything even slightly spicey, but these were fantastic!!! They were very mild and almost sweet. The bacon is what made the dish. I brought these to a potluck and they were a huge hit with everyone.

After reading other reviews this is what I did. I partially pre-cooked the bacon in the oven. I added about 3 chopped green onions. And, I softened the cream cheese and mixed in the cheddar. It worked out very well. I baked them on a cookie sheet with foil (no rack like others have said) and they turned out great. One big suggestion...make sure you wear gloves when seeding the peppers! I made the mistake of scooping then out by hand and it was a BIG MISTAKE!!! My hands were on fire for hours. Overall, fantastic recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nscc1751 August 29, 2010

My mom made these for me this weekend and we all loved them! A few changes, she used pineapple cream cheese (makes it so yummy) and used turkey bacon. This really cuts down on the grease and the bacon become more crispy.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LivesForHim November 27, 2010

They're called Armadillo Eggs in TX. They're good baked, as anything with bacon is good. But try grilling these over charcoal or wood with a nice thick sirloin, a baked tater, and a cold beer. Taste so good makes you want to slap yo momma.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lambo April 01, 2010

It's ten times better if you add dry ranch mix to the cream cheese!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jessica 87 August 22, 2011

It takes a little longer but well worth the effort.Do not cut the pepper in half and leave stem on peppers and slice one side so you can open it up and clean it out. Mix 16 oz cream cheese 3.5 oz of sun dried tomatoes and chopped onion to your liking. Stuff peppers thoroughly and wrap with a whole piece of bacon and pin them with tooth picks. I cook them indirect on charcoal ( no flare ups ) until bacon is almost done and then finish them off on top rack of gas grill on low heat. This allows the pepper to cook more and become soft it's also a little more pleasant on the taste buds. I think they are even better the next day at room temp. I leave the stem on so you have something to hold while you eat them. I buy one pound of bacon for 15-20 poppers

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ntqytryt July 22, 2011

Insanely delicious, made these for a party and they were a huge hit! I microwaved the bacon, chopped it and added it to the filling along with the sharp cheddar, same taste and saved a lot of work, especially considering that preparing all those jalapenos was pretty time consuming and tedious.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmet_girl December 17, 2008

I have made these twice and they are awesome. Second time I mixed together the cream cheese and cheddar. Makes the process much easier. This last time, I used 40 peppers so I ended up with 80 appetizers. I had about 18 left on a tray that I did not cook. I decided to freeze them--it worked perfectly. When I cooked them a few days lated, they were just as good.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
penny smiles September 03, 2008

Just a quickie suggestion on these FABULOUS poppers...I personally like my bacon on the crispy side and have found that microwaving your bacon for one minute on high to start the cooking process and then letting the bacon cool while you prep will make for a crispier popper after baking them...another tip is too raise them on a wire rack (not coated!) and put the rack on a foil lined sheet...gets the poppers out of excess grease and makes clean up much easier with the tin foil! Can't say enough good about these...I leave seeds/veins in half my batches to make them spicy! Try them...you will be hooked as will friends and family!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patinawhite December 23, 2008
Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers