16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

zomg. I made this last week and my family is STILL raving. The corn itself didn't taste like bacon, but it was the most moist and tender grilled corn I have ever had. I have always soaked corn too, so I was surprised by how juicy and tender the kernels were. Definitely cook the bacon first (not crispy), and use the string. A-MA-ZING!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAMLORDVOLDEMORT June 07, 2010

This is a tasty recipe that I inherited from the Zaar account, made and we have now found that it's a duplicate of this one so mine has been removed (fair enough, no problems there, it improves Zaar IMHO) Having made the recipe, I will review it here for Julesong: Sweetcorn on the cob, is, strangely enough, only just taking off in Dutch cooking. ( we can't find any frozen corn here yet..)I can now buy it in a pack of two cobs in the supermarket but they *insist* on "displaying" part of the corn by ripping a few leaves off the husk, so while mine had husk, it wasn't quite 100% complete. I adore corn and bacon so was despirate to try this out and liked it very much... Next time I am in New Zealand where the sweetcorn instustry and supermarkets understand that keeping ALL the husk on the cob, keeps the flavour better, I will make and enjoy this again (and again) becuase I'm sure it will turn out even better than my Dutch attempts. Thanks for an easy recipe where bacon and corn lovers can have both flavours mixed on the BBQ or grill for flavoursome fingerlicking eating :) Thanks !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch February 16, 2007

Boo! These were A LOT of work (compared to normal corn on the cob) and truly disappointing. Followed the instructions, but did not taste the bacon at all. Precooked the bacon slightly and it was still way to undercooked to eat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellabby June 21, 2010

Great concept. I definitely think you should cook your bacon about 1/2 through before you wrap around the corn if you plan on eating it. The corn was tender and didn't need any additional seasoning. I didn't have butcher string handy but they worked fine without in my grill baskets. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish May 04, 2009

WE fixed this corn at our BBQ with our best friends..very kids friendy..very easy! Just plaib ole good. Ahna is here and says"I liked the bacon cause I like bacon very much" never to young to start rating the food! lol

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinda37379 July 04, 2006

Made this at the last minute and the whole family loved it! We cooked the corn on the grill for about 15 minutes, turning frequently. The bacon was cooked, but not crisp. We didn't need to add salt or butter, the bacon added a great salty/smoky flavor. Delicious! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkysMama August 21, 2005

This is a super way to BBQ corn- I cooked mine for 15 minutes turning it frequectly and it was perfect, crisp & juicy. The bacon was fully cooked just not crisp and gave great flavor to the corn. You certainly do not need butter on corn done this way, As said do this up in the AM store them in the fridge with a damp towel over them and you are all ready for that BBQ Thanks Julesong for a winner

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 19, 2005

Prepared these for a boating outing with a group of friends. The flavor is awesome and the guys raved about them! Only gave 3 stars because they are a lot of work. Prepared ahead of time by precooking the bacon and before tying up the husks I brushed with garlic butter then zapped for about 10 min. in microwave before freezing. After defrosting on our boat trip to our destination all we needed to do was put on them on the grill to heat up! Also be sure to precook the bacon to almost crispy or you won't be able to eat it as it stays very moist with the corn -Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolboater August 27, 2013

What a waste of bacon! No different than ordinary grilled corn. Too much work, not enough benefit. I pre-cooked the bacon, but the bacon did NOTHING for the corn. If I could give less than 1 star, I would.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Borderline Kaos June 10, 2012
Bacon Wrapped Grilled Corn on the Cob