259 Reviews

When I do my bacon wrapped chicken, I put it over a sauce made from one small jar dried chipped beef, finely diced, 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, one 16 ounce container of sour cream, salt and pepper. Put the sauce into the bottom of a sprayed 9X13 dish and lay the bacon wrapped chicken on top. I cook it in a 300 degree oven for about 2 hours ( or until internal chicken temp. reaches 170) The sauce cooks into the meat making it succulent and sooo flavorful. Served over rice, this dish is a family FAVORITE.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenury August 14, 2010

I made this last night and by order of my husband, we now have a new "weekly" meal to add to our menu. :) These little bundles of chicken and bacon heaven are a perfect "wrap" for the cream cheese. Next time I'm going to try turkey bacon and plain cream cheese infused with minced garlic, onion and cilantro. Thanks Tish! :) ******3/15/10****** Update: I made these a couple of weeks ago and forgot to post. I used the turkey bacon, and plain cream cheese, (in the tub) that I softened and then added 2 cloves garlic, grated fine, onion powder, (only because my onion went bad. :( ) and about 1-2 TBS fresh cilantro, chopped. I mixed it about 6-8 hours in advance of making them and it was awesome! The turkey bacon did much better than I had expected. Of course it's not real bacon, but it came out nice and well done esp after a blast on broil for about 2 minutes plus/minus. The cream cheese had the garlic, onion cilantro flavors we love, but the amounts I gave is to our taste. You may like more or less, so adjust. I want to do it again with fresh onion, and a smidge of cumin w/a dash of cayenne just to see what happens. Hubby and I love the southwest/Mexican flavors so we lean to those spices in alot of recipes. Will let you know! :-)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ima Cookin' March 16, 2010

This is the BEST chicken recipe I've ever had!!!

For some reason I don't do well with chicken recipes, but I had to try this one. I'm so glad I did! Based on all the reviews that people have left on here, I did change a few things. I only made five pieces of chicken instead of twelve.

I salted the chicken before putting the cream cheese on it. I only bought 1 container of onion and chive cream cheese, which was plenty. I also bought a package of thick sliced bacon and wrapped each chicken in 3 strips of it. (YUM!)

I cooked these for half the time on 400 degrees and the other half at 300 degrees. I also turned the chicken over during the broil to get both sides crispy. It was amazing! Even my picky eaters loved this, and the cream cheese that's called for is so, so good! I can't understand why anyone would want to substitute it! It's SO GOOD! :D

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphy September 27, 2011

This dish is simple and yet outstanding! I followed another reviewer's suggestions and salted (with Truffle salt)the chicken before adding the cheese. I only had low fat plain cream cheese so I added finely minced green onion. I followed the advice to bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and lowered the oven to 300 degrees for 20 minutes. I turned the chicken during the broiling part. My husband is STILL talking about it so it is going to be one of my "go to" recipes.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky October 02, 2011

We all liked this recipe. Instead of wrapping the bacon around the chicken, I cut it into thirds and layered it on top. Broiling at the end helps crisp the bacon up. I have made this several times, but we have always eaten it for dinner and I haven't had a chance to freeze any yet, so I can't comment on how well they work as a make ahead meal. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auvan July 13, 2010

My mom gave me this recipe some 20 years ago, and it looks like it has had no real changes. The only thing that I have changed is now I use chicken tenderloins, that way I dont need to beat thim up. Glad to see that this is still going around and being made. ENJOY!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowyowl/PB September 28, 2011

Prepared for DH and myself last evening, followed the recipe as posted with the exception of seasoning the chicken breast with white pepper & poultry seasoning in addition to the salt. Very simple recipe which was quite tasty, I had prepared to cook both chicken breast halves, however, when I finished pounding the breasts out I found that one was plenty for our dinner so I froze the second one and look forward to having an even easier meal next time I prepare this. The only thing I will do differently next time is turn the chicken over half way thru the broiling time so the bacon on the bottom will crisp up as the top did. Thank you Tish for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo June 01, 2012

Not that this needs another review, but we enjoyed this as well. I do think that the bacon gives it much of its flavor and it could stand some seasoning of some kind. It was almost too bland. I will probably add another strip of bacon to the wrap, a little more cream cheese and maybe a sauce next time. All in all though, it is a very good recipe. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali August 29, 2011

I have made this several times now and it is always a hit. The only change I made was to mix onion, garlic, or whatever into plain cream cheese. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon March 26, 2011

Delicious! Definately quick and easy. The presentation is gorgeous! I would definately use this for entertaining simple because it looks so fancy! I love cream cheese, but I think it could benefit from a little something added into it...maybe Parmesan or something? The bacon gives a wonderful taste! Will definately make again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
musselman2007 November 01, 2009
Bacon Wrapped Chicken (Oamc)